This is not my season - a memoir

3 36

This is not my season.* 

This is how I try to describe what I have been feeling recently. Amidst all the victories and joyful testimonies of people around me, I find myself sulking over the seemingly “barrenness” of my life. I am on a plateau of emotions, activity, and spirituality. 

I am tempted to say that I am waiting for that next “emotional wind” to carry me to a place of joy but I am certain that life is not like that. Trends or any tangibles must not define us. Our happiness must not be dependent on the latest craze or any momentary reason. It must come from within us.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Are you in the same rut too?

If we share the same sentiments, join me in unraveling the painful reality of our situation. 

A short story

There was a time when I found myself wading in the mud of depressing emotions. I confided to a friend and I was advised to thoroughly assess my situation in writing, but I have to do it with full honesty. This is because there are times we are not being honest with ourselves. After all, we don’t want to face the ugliness of our situation. We’d rather feel sad and depressed than face our darkest realities. 

So I wrote down in a journal all the things that are bothering me at that time. At first, I felt uneasy. I don’t know how to begin. Yet, clinging to the “rule” that I must be honest, things started to unfold. As I write down all my angst and my pain, my fear and doubts, and all my questions, slowly my pain subsides. 

It was not magical, but spiritual. God has been with me as I unload my emotions. It was more like a prayer, sans the pretension and formalities. It was a heartbreaking moment with me and my Creator only that the heartbreaking part was also a healing session. 

At first, I was afraid to write down all my pain and questions, especially my angst, thinking that it is too unchristian to harbor such bitterness in the presence of the Almighty. But then I was reminded, God knows the depths of my heart whether or not I present my case before Him. He is not offended by our honesty. There is no amount of mess that can overwhelm Him. 

The ugly reality

Now that I am in the same situation again, I tried to search within me. Why am I sad? Why am I too anxious over things I can’t even understand? Why am I constantly telling myself again that it is not my season? Here are the things that I have discovered. And perhaps, in one way or another, these are true to your situation too. Brace yourself!

  • I have been putting an extra burden on myself with an unhealthy view of people around me. Instead of celebrating their victories, I tend to look at them with envy and bitterness. I hate to admit I often think of myself as a ‘can-do-all’ person, and whenever I realize that I cannot and others step up for my incapacity, I sulk. 

  • I try to catch up with other people’s pace. I want to prove myself. I still have episodes when I regret my past mistakes and rehearse what should have happened if I pursued the path other than what I am taking right now. I think of my “what ifs” and wonder how it would be different from now. 

  • I have also been harboring discouragement over what’s happening with my life and ministry lately. It seems that I no longer can deliver well compared to before. My mind wanders; I am often worried about how time runs too fast and I can’t cope up. The weight of all the tasks I have carelessly accepted before is all dawning on me now.

  • I feel too incapacitated to help others, as I am drained of words to encourage them. Though before I felt like I was called to be an encourager to people who are in pain, now it seems like I am kicked off the encouragement department. 

  • I know the importance of rest, but I often take rest days to catch up with things I cannot do when I am at work. This is no rest at all, but just a diversion from the usual routine, yet the same amount of activity. No wonder I still feel tired even after weekends.

  • I lie to myself. I convince myself that I am still alright when in fact I am not just bruised but broken. And when people care less about me because they look at me as strong, I become upset. Sometimes, I feel pretentious, but I can’t help myself being such.

You may add your self-assessment of your situation. Be brutally honest. It would be painful, but it would be a great experience, promise!

A testimony

You may believe me or not, but honestly, as I am writing this, I felt relieved. My problems did not magically disappear but at least, the heaviness somewhat wore off. This is different from how I write blogs before, but it pays to do something different once in a while. 

Perhaps the period where we are right now if you are emotionally wounded like me is a testament that in a Christian’s life, not all the time is bliss. This is life telling us that as Jesus faced difficult times while on earth, we should not expect less. However, the encouragement at the end of the day is to “take heart, I [Jesus] have overcome the world”. While we may face day-to-day realities of anxiety and unexplainable sadness, Jesus got us covered with love and grace. We are not forgotten, we are not forsaken. At least this truth is more than a consolation and a soothing balm for our wounded soul. This truth is our hope. 

If you happen to be reading this and we are in the same boat, join me in praying that joy may overtake us very soon. Keep the faith aflame!

*I was checking my old documents when I saw this manuscript. This post is a walk down memory lane. Glad I have the opportunity to share this story with you.


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people. 

2
$ 5.70
$ 5.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty

Comments

You know this are all part of life and whenever you are feeling these things again, always remember that life has its up and down..It might not be your time but be patience and your wish and time will come that everything will fall in the right place.

My words of wisdom and I hope you like it ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honesty is a very good thing, especially when we are having problems, it will help us be a little calmer in dealing with them,Sometimes if someone is having a problem but only buried, they will probably feel very frustrated.

That's where honesty is needed, it only takes a little emotion to start honesty.😇😇😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. It doesn't help to bury your emotions and pretend that everything is going well when it is not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago