Proof of Life: Musings on Early Married Life

7 28
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Just so you know, I crossed the bridge of no return, and I'm very much happy about it. I got married three weeks ago and am adjusting to the life of a married person. I noticed a lot of things - that life is no longer the same when you get married. Your priorities and schedule will change and so is your mindset. I now understand why seasoned married people say that marriage is not for the weak-willed.

In my less than a-month journey as a married person, I was swept by demands from my schedule. When I was single, I already am living a life of busyness and a fast-paced schedule. I work full-time, I teach at night, and I write in-between. I write for ministry, I write for my dream, I write as a side gig, and I write as a hobby. I also accept speaking assignments from time to time. On top of these, I am a son and a brother. Life is full! And then I became a husband.

But what I love about being a husband is that I get to understand myself better. Perhaps this is why a spouse is called a better half. Marriage will bring you to a realization that you can do more than you think you can do! I never thought that I still have the energy to do more chores than the things I used to do before! Hahaha!

I learned that I can still expand my vision. I am challenged to look beyond what my eyes can see so I can properly lead my wife to where God wants us to be. Of course, it's too early to say because we haven't been "there" - we are still in the honeymoon stage, to begin with! But I am learning to dream big dreams! I think this is the time when young couples are excited and hopeful though they are unsure of what their tomorrow will bring and how their future will unfold before them. This euphoria energizes them to be better than they used to be.

If only this phase doesn't wane. If only the feeling, the excitement, the dreams, the vision - if only these things stay in all couples no matter the length of togetherness, perhaps there would be fewer kids with no or incomplete parental figures. If only all couples could sustain their "we'll get through life together, no matter what" phase, and not "you do your way, I'll do mine," then life would paint a different picture.

Little by little I get to understand that marriage is a heavy responsibility. It is not just for companionship and procreation, nor pleasure and consummation. It goes beyond that. Every married person has a role to fill, a responsibility to attend to. And that is to make sure that you make sure you are giving your commitment to your spouse and usher your spouse to become better. And then we extend this to the children, the family we're building. In doing so, we contribute to society at large. We make a statement to the future generations that "we're responsible, we do not add to the problem, we make solutions."

My mind is already wandering at this point. Blogging after a long hiatus makes my fingertips type in as if they have an idea of their own. I wish I could go back to my regular routine of blogging. But I guess I have to create a new rhythm. Some things have changed now that I entered a new phase. I must think of new ways how to cope and improve my flow.

But I am grateful I finished this one up.

Pat on the back if you finished this as well.

Thanks! Haha!

3
$ 2.75
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

First of all wanna say many many congrats to newley wed couple hope you guys are having fun and enjoying your life together

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being married is really different from being single before, we add- on everything from schedule to chores, time, and lot more. We enter into a many more responsibilities, although marriage is not that easy, but its enjoyable and a privilege to take care someone that you love, God bless to the both of you, and congratulations, may you be blessed with more love through the years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks! With regards to chores, I never thought that tending the garbage would be fun and challenging lol. I feel so responsible haha!

Thanks, Winx!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats for becoming a pair, hehe! Have a happy married life ahead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Life's good!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really have wisdom when it comes to marriage. I never married and I know why and that is because of the responsibility. I even cannot take care of myself so how can I take care of my other half. Thanks for this article ans it is an eye opener for us single people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. When I got married, it left me no choice - I have to grow up lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago