Identity-Based Habits and Who We Are

5 28
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I am not in the mood to read anything, much more to write. But I'm grateful I happened to open my ebook reader on my mobile phone, then my laptop. I suppose it is more like a force of habit than sheer will. But what's more ironic is the fact that the book I'm currently reading talks highly about developing habits. Imagine my dilemma. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I'm on my second chapter on the book I'm currently reading - Atomic Habits by James Clear. Just in case you are interested to read my insights on the first chapter, just follow this link: Atomic Habits: More than just Goals but Systems.

I'd like to follow through on my book chapter overview.

Outcome-based habits vs Identity-based habits

Our habits are fueled by either of the two motivations: external (outcome) or internal (identity). External motivations are things that we want to achieve like winning a championship, publishing a book, learning how to drive, or gaining good grades. Often, we call these goals. Internal motivations are rooted within us. It is anchored in our identities like being a writer, being an athlete, being a responsible parent, or an excellent student. Our habits can either be based on these external motivations or internal drives. 

Focus not on what you want to achieve but on who you wish to become

If we want long-term results, rather than developing habits to achieve our goals, which are most of the time an end in itself, we should anchor our habits on who we wish to become. I love how this was presented: 

  • I write not to be a published author, but because I am a writer.

  • I save not because I want to accumulate money, but because I am a good steward of my finances.

  • I run not because I want to finish a marathon, but because I am a runner and an athlete.

  • I exercise regularly not because I want to be in good shape, but because I am a healthy person.

To some, there might not seem to have any difference the weight here is more on the person, not on the outcome. The habits center around the character of the person and not on the goals per se. 

Every action is a vote for the type of person you wish to become

If our habits are anchored on our identity, then everything we do reflects on our identity. Let's think about our habits for a moment. What are the things we usually do? Whether beneficial or harmful, it tells something about us. And in case we want to change something about our identity, we need to change the things that we do. 

Who do we wish to become? To help us become a better version of ourselves, we need to ask this question: "Who is the type of person that could get the outcome I want?"

  • Who is the type of person who could write a book? It's probably someone consistent and reliable.

  • Who is the type of person who could manage his finances well? It's probably someone who is disciplined and is not impulsive.

  • Who is the type of person who could be healthy and fit? Someone who is disciplined with his diet and exercise. 

Conclusion

If we want to do better, we may need to expand our horizons. Becoming the best version of ourselves requires us to continuously edit our beliefs, and to upgrade and expand our identity. Along the way, we may need to refine our habits. 

Our goals are good. Our plans are good. But what I learned is that it can be improved for the better. If we are willing to learn new things and unlearn old habits, we will be capable of doing greater things. 


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

4
$ 5.24
$ 5.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

should aim indeed for identity based habits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nabasa mo na? Tama ako, ikaw ba or si hubby mo yung may copy? Hehe :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si hubby..shinishare lang nya sakin nababasa nya..ehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Much to learn in this short piece, indeed we must focus on what we want to be, our identity rather than our aims of achieving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that this post resonated with you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago