Atomic Habits: More than just Goals but Systems

0 22
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I've been wanting to read Atomic Habits by James Clear ever since I heard about it on NFG Book Club's Youtube Channel. The whole gist of the book is about making small changes to your everyday life to change your future, hence the word "atomic". A lot of motivational speakers. life coaches and financial advisors that I follow on social media have something to say about this book. I'm glad I already got an ebook. 

I haven't finished the whole book yet, I just finished the first chapter. But my early interaction with the book is filled with lots of AHA moments and OUCH realizations. I cannot contain myself not writing about my reflections, so allow me to share some of my initial learnings.

Habits are the compound interest of self-improvement

A small amount, when applied the power of compounding interest, will become massive in due time. Albert Einstein reportedly said, “Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world. He who understands it earns it. He who doesn't pay it." Likewise, habits compound in the long run. If we seek to be better even by just 1 percent every day, it will count for a lot in the long run. 

Habits are a double-edged sword

Our habits can work for us or against us. If our habits are meant for self-improvement, then it will surely benefit us. If, however, it is detrimental to our health and well-being, then it will surely cost us a lot in due time. So let's think through our habits. Are they beneficial or harmful? 

Small changes don't appear to make any difference until you reach a certain point 

Sometimes when we desire to improve on something, say we want to be in shape so we exercise and lift weights, we cannot easily see the results overnight. It's the same with trying to be more gracious with your words or saving a few bucks regularly. It may not seem to make any difference, but when we look at it from a wider perspective, we'll see that our seemingly little efforts are not in vain. Likewise, ending a harmful habit such as smoking, sleeping early, or procrastinating might not do a difference at first, but in the long run, it will reap a harvest. Remember that the most powerful outcomes of any compounding process are delayed. Patience is key. 

Focus on systems, not goals

This is one of my favorite points. It's not that goals are not helpful. In the first place, it sets our direction. It gives us motivation. But if we want to have lasting results, we must work on improving our systems more than our goals. Here are some reasons:

  • Winners and losers have the same goals. It's not who is more ambitious who wins the prize. It's the one who has systems in place. 

  • Achieving a goal is only a momentary change. Imagine your goal is to clean up your messy room. You may be able to finish off your goal in no time but until you have developed a system where you change the way you organize your room, you'll end up setting the same goal over and over. 

  • Goals restrict happiness. Sometimes we base our happiness on our goals but when we achieve it already, or until we achieve our goals, it seems our life is incomplete. Our goals have become an end in itself. 

  • Goals are at odds with long-term progress. This is the case when a person achieves his goal but then reality hits him: what's next? Some people revert to their old habits, especially when there are no systems in place.

Conclusion

My biggest takeaway from the book's initial chapter is this: Commit to forming a habit. Make a system out of it. It doesn't matter how small it may seem. It will catch up in due time. Our small habits now will give us remarkable results if we commit to them. 

Just like my desire to be an accomplished writer. I cannot make it if I do not commit to writing regularly. The way I spend my free time will translate whether I'm getting closer to my goals or not. 

Image Credits: Unsplash.com


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

3
$ 2.71
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments