When a typhoon hits..

3 29
Avatar for MaritessNgBuhayMo
1 year ago

September 27,2022

Monday, September 26, 2022, at 9:26 a.m.

Thank God it's Monday! I pray that the typhoon that is currently moving through our country did not do any damage and that we all stayed dry. We pray that the Lord would keep us safe from the storm. It's still pouring where I am, and while it's not really heavy, I still can't go outside and do anything.

I hope you and your friends are safe and sound after the recent storm.

The northern half of the island of Luzon is frequently struck by powerful typhoons. And flooding has led to landslides and the loss of life in numerous areas.

Sponsors of MaritessNgBuhayMo
empty
empty
empty

You probably didn't know this, but typhoons are one of my worst fears. I've always been afraid of typhoons, ever since I was a little boy. The first time I witnessed the typhoon's catastrophic might was the catalyst. About the time I turned six, a typhoon hit our area while we were living under typhoon warning signal no. 3. My father has already begun making preparations; he has checked our roofs, and my mother has gone grocery shopping in anticipation of the typhoon's closure of local stores.

Currently, we are safely ensconced at home, keeping up with the latest typhoon news updates on television. The onset of the storm, complete with howling winds and heavy rains, came late in the evening. The winds were the most frightening part; they nearly blew off our roof before so my father banded together to brace themselves and pull down the woods. To visualize this, picture monkey hanging from monkey bars, but instead of playing, their weight would keep the roof from blowing away in the high winds. That was one of those nights when none of us could get to sleep for fear that our roof would collapse.

To sum up, you can see that when typhoons approach our area, we take the necessary precautions. Constantly, we make sure our dogs are secure in their homes and on the roofs.

However, they have already made themselves at home in our house. Because of this, they may rest assured that they will be secure even in the event of a typhoon.

We've stocked up on supplies and are staying put for the time being. I still get nervous whenever a typhoon is on the horizon because of the extensive damage that was done the last time one hit our area; as a result, we have been without electricity for the better part of two days, and even then, it will only be on for an hour. Some of our trees were blown over.

I stay in bed during a typhoon and listen to the roaring winds and rattling rain on our roof. I'm not really scared, but I still played it safe. It is preferable to err on the side of caution rather than regret.

There is nothing that can be done to stop typhoons because they occur naturally. All any of us can do is stock up on supplies and keep our fingers crossed. Even though I'm an old man now, typhoons still make me nervous. There have been times when typhoons have passed close by that I have been unable to get any rest, staying awake through the night to watch the storm pass.

I pray that the storm never threatened the safety of my close pals. Staying in constant prayer for our protection.

Join me at:

Noise, Read Cash, Hive, noise.app

Disclaimer:All texts are mine and original, as stated. Any resemblance to other content is entirely coincidental, as is any similarity.

Copyright © 2022 JHT — All Rights Reserved

3
$ 0.44
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of MaritessNgBuhayMo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaritessNgBuhayMo
1 year ago

Comments

Since nagOndoy parang natrauma kami kahit hindi naman gaano nalubog ang bahay namin noon. Kaya tuwing September, hindi lang pasko ang inaaalala namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine what is happening in your story and I have the same dilemma actually. I am always scared during typhoon because of our roof. When i received the news that Metro Manila is on signal number 4, I really cringed and felt bad because I don't know how I can help my family if we lose our roof.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe talaga ang Typhoon friend nakakatakot. Nakakatrauma. 🥺 Family ko grabe experience nila sa super typhoon Odette. Sobrang lakas talaga daw. Nakakatakot yung tunog ng hangin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago