When I can't sleep, I....

34 50
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Do you know what you're going to do just in case you can't fall asleep at night? Do you have that to-do list with you? Well, I do. Not being able to sleep at night especially when the occurrence is frequent can be disturbing.

It might be because of you, overthinking. Why do we overthink? Let me talk about it generally and it's up to you on how you will apply this generalization in every aspect of your life. Well, we want everything to fall into the right place thus, we think too much of how to get the work done perfectly. We think of the ways even though we know it's not possible just because we are afraid to fail. In other cases, we also worry of the things that are not yet happening. It's not bad to think of future happenings tho but when it keeps on hitting you consistently, you might be experiencing anxiety.

Way back 2017 when I was diagnosed with having an anxiety. The doctor asked me several questions like how's my study, do I go out and open myself to friends, do I exercise and the rest, I forgot. After answering those, the doctor said that I am afraid of the future that's why I am having panic attacks every time I am alone. I did not realized that I already have an anxiety because I just lived normally. I go to school, hang out with friends and do stuffs normal people do. Little did I knew that my education contributed to my anxiety. The doctor said to my grandma that she should not pressure me with my studies. She also said that being with friends is not enough when I am still reserved - meaning, I am with them but I don't open myself up completely to them. I should tell them whenever I got problems. In my case, I don't like telling my problems to others because for I don't want to be weak in their eyes. The doctor also added that I should go out and do some yoga.

After hearing these from the doctor, I realized that she was right and maybe the reason why I can't fall asleep at night was also because of my anxiety. The doctor gave me medicines but I didn't take even one pill because I don't want myself to be dependent on it. I prefer natural healing that's why I find ways to be well or else I will see a psychiatrist.

One effect of having an anxiety is not being able to sleep at night. So what did I do?

When I can't fall asleep, I...

  • I go to the nearest store and buy flavored beer. I know drinking alcohols ain't good for anxiety but what can I do? This one bottle of beer lets me fall asleep soundly. One bottle of beer won't hurt eh? So yeah, I buy beer and drink alone. Don't worry this can't get me drunk. This is just a mild drink with lemon flavor. This just tastes like drinking juice for me.

The first sip/gulp feels like nothing. You won't be satisfied with it so you take another sip until you won't notice that you emptied the bottle already. Then after a couple of minutes, drowsiness takes over you.

That's the effect on me. It might perhaps be different with you though.

  • I go out with friends and have a drink (sometimes). When the feeling is too strong and I just can't sleep even though I tried counting sheep lol I will text my friend for me to come or for them come over.

I don't know but having a bottle of drink with them makes me sleepy after. Unlike from the flavored beer, this drink has high alcohol content. I know some of you already tasted this one and have your own memories of 'The Bar Pink'. So how was it? Haha! We usually mix this alcohol with sprite, strawberry flavored juice and some ice. Once it is mixed well and already cold, it's ready to drink and the taste is just like a strawberry juice with no alcohol content.

The first sip is fine but when you'll reach half of the drink, you might say you'll go home to have your sweet dreams.

  • I will cook something that's available in the fridge. Yeah, I know it's weird but I feel sleepy after I eat. This only applies after the dinner because eating dinner won't make me sleep after. It's too early and I can't sleep at 7 PM. So yeah, I cook something, eat then rest and after a while, I will feel sleepy.

My favorite squid

What are your thoughts about these? What do you usually do when you can't fall asleep?

Whatever it might be, I hope that it will take you to good sleep. Anxiety is hard and some might say we can just control what to think for it is our brain. No, you can't say that. You don't know unless you are in the situation. If we can, then why would we choose to be sleepless? To overthink and to be afraid of something? No one wants that.

I am wishing you well tonight. Have a good sleep!


Thank you so much guys for reading! You've been so kind to me since day one.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

I invited my sister here and I will ask for your help to welcome her as she starts her journey here. Some of you might saw her already in your articles. Her username is @Lovelyfaith. She's in noise.cash too! ☺️

Thank you so much again for your time! To my generous sponsors, upvoters and to those who comment, I am sending you my warmest gratitude! Let's talk and get to know each other well.

Images are mine

Ciao! ❀️

13
$ 5.64
$ 5.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 10
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Better have the beer than the gin. But if you don't want to be dependent on the medicine you might become dependent on the beer huh? XD

It's not always easy to sleep. Maybe buying some melatonin is better, it can help you sleep more. And you know there are many advice online on how to be able to sleep early. I have read a lot of them but I still don't sleep early. Lol. I am already used to sleeping late.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha so smart. Why I didn't think of that? Hmm. Baka nga no? Hahaha joke lang. I can control naman when it comes to beer. 😁 yung panic attack ko lang minsan mahirap e control. Melanin? I will search for it Lucy baka naman tumalab sa akin. Yessss I will look for it on online. Salamat talaga. And Don't stay up late at night always kasi nakaka haGgard daw 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahaha nako try and try until you succeed n lng ang pagtulog ng maaga. XD

Melatonin pala yun, wrong spelling wrong hahaha. Inedit ko na. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww hehe! Sge sis, will check it. Salamat ah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer apple over lemon ehhe. But that's just me. Not for making me sleep though. That is also one dependence I do not want to develop for myself. Which is easy because I do not like the taste of beer too much.

When i can't sleep it is usually that time my insomnia really is there.. that will have me tossing and turning for hours until the sun is up next day no matter how tired I was.

On overthinking causing less sleep, i sometimes have to write down everything in my head - questions in life, to God, prayers, worries, everything! That one is therapeutic. Because once thoughts are out, then my brain relaxes.

Go easy on yourself sis. :) Yeah i know easier said than done.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing! ☺️ Your ways of making your self sleep are very much healthy compared to mine 😁 but i will try writing down everything next time. Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cheers sis!!! .. as in no holds barred na mga tanong ah.. para labas talaga.. kasi we don't tell others our thoughts kaya kimkim lang.. so pag ako lang, si papel, lapis at ang Diyos.. walang hold back hold back.. EVERYTHING.. hehehe nga lang shempre kung san ko sisiksik si papel is another problem hahahahaha

to some warm milk works.. pero pag ni insomnia ako.. talaga waley.. like kagabi..

hot coffee din is pampatulog for me.. ewan ko ba. lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe do meditation or keep telling your brain to sleep for solid 30 seconds and you will seriously go into sound sleep I promise, because it works for me wonderfully..Beer only would make you gain weight and get addicted or rely on that... alcohol is no good.. take care Sis :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks for the reminder, sis. ☺️ i would be glad to get away with alcohol too. I will try your suggestion next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Ayos yan, sis. Ako kape lang talaga eh :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sabi nila coffee makes you awake daw po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have not tried doing that, maybe I need to stock some beers too :D When I can't fall asleep and I really wanted to, I'd read a book, and I would doze of after reading just 1 or 2 pages, lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yes you can try that, pero yung light lang baka kasi malasing tapos magalit si FarmBoy nyan. Hehe! I tried reading books too kaya lang yung nasa phone na books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, ayoko lang sa amoy kasi. Yes, ebook din, madali akong patulugin haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arat tagay ta Mamsh!!πŸ˜…πŸ» Bitaw, lisod pud jud ning dili ta katug mamsh uie, samut na kung gustuon najud unta nato matug. Kanang nagpiyonh imong mata pero imong utok naglupad ba bisan asa..🀣

Ma.try nga ma.share ahung story about ani. Puhon ug wa na'y ikasuwat..😁 Okay ra mamsh??

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Arang bisag nagpijong naka unja imo huna2 mata pa hahaha lisod mura kag timang. O mamsh oy why not. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud mamsh.. Naa ju'y usahay mamsh na alas 5 na laman sa buntag, nagsiga pa jud ahung mata.. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same ta mamsh. Maong kasuk an jod kos ahong nanay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako pud mamsh.. Maingon gajud ug zombie inag bakud uie.. Kapoy kaajo.. HahahaπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arang. Mura tag wa katog ug usa ka buwan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer tea to sleep, alcohol makes me more anxious, but if it works for you, that's fine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes, why I did forgot tea. Tea and milk make me sleepy as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happens most of the time to me haha. But what I do is that even I can't force my eye to fall I just switched off every night. Phone and bulb must be off or I just plugged music but set some time limit. I do pray too. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow naman napakagoods ng ways nyo po. Bat parang feel ko lasinggera ako hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know about your sister. But dear, you need to stay away from alcohol. One bottle won't hurt, you said but I think it will. Humble request, please give up on that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the concern, Luci. Yes, I will try to get away from alcohol as they are bad for our health if too much intake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag umaatake anxiety ko sis nagbabasa ako ng stories o hindi kaya nagjojournal ako doon ko linalabas lahat ng worries ko..magandang tulong ito nakakatulog ako after..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Napaka very good naman pala sis. Hehe! Feel ko ako lang lasinggera dito eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When my anxiety attack at night that will be the time I can't sleep. I only do is to lay in bed till dawn and praying to God. You are true, we should control ourselves when we can't sleep because we are the can control and help.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! That's nice, indeed praying relieves everything. I should have included it in here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should enroll at the nearest yoga class available in Looc hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I don't like the yoga instructor. Instructor ba na? Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of a truth, One bottle of beer can't just be enough and for me, i consume It a lot that's for sure. My own anxieties in life come from too many things like the unresolved events of the past and many more like it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh well, so how many bottles of beer can you take then? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago