We're reverse

28 20
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

He wants to grow old

I want to be young.

To go back in time, what would you do then?

To live in the future, what would you be?

Have you ever thought of going back to the past?

Have you ever decided that it's better to go back to being a kid?

Otherwise

Have you ever seen yourself in the future?

What was it like?

What will you do?

https://unsplash.com/photos/BXOXnQ26B7o

I'm 23 years old now and I feel I had enough of this life. I feel like I'm old. I need a break. I feel like I've aged enough that I don't want to live anymore. These thoughts came across my mind as I am talking to a 3-year-old kid. He's my boyfriend's little brother. Just imagine how cute he is and how he manages to maintain a conversation with me. He's talking like a he's a grown up man.

There was one time when I was in their house. My boyfriend's mom needs to go to the grocery store just quick. My boyfriend also needs to go to motor repair shop. So I was left with the 3-year-old kid. I admit I am not fond of kids. It's not that I don't like them. It's just I don't like being with a kid alone. This kid is very talkative. Anything he wants to say, he will say it. Though very young, he has know a little how life goes because his parents didn't baby talk to him. They show and educate the child about the real world. And I think that's why he has so many things to say at life. Going back, I was left to babysit the cute kid. He has a fever so I need to be extra careful. We were in the balcony and talking about things that little child must know.

Meanwhile he said

"I wish I will grow faster. Why it took so long for me to grow?" - the cute kid

"It's because we need to undergo development. We can't skip the way we grow." I said, I don't know if he understands it though 🀣.

"Why do you want to grow up?" I ask.

"Because I want to drive a motorcycle and go anywhere just like Manoy Ishan and Bebe (his two older brothers.) I want to go across the street without my mother's guidance. I want to go outside even if it's raining. I want to be just like cousins who can go out whenever the rain is pouring hard. I want to experience playing in the puddles."

Wow! This kid has a lot on his mind. Well, I supposed I should not be shocked because I was also like this before. When I was young, I used to wish that I would grow old so I can be beautiful. I want to grow up so I can work and buy beauty products because people used to tease me for having a dark skin complexion and a very curly hair. I remember one of my friends called me "oling" (charcoal in English). They also called me "kugita" (I'm not sure but I think it's octopus or squid in English 🀣 please correct me if I'm wrong.) All these build my insecurities and I've been living teenage life uncomfortably and lack of confidence. Have you also experienced being insecure as well? Like you feel you are not worthy to everyone so that's why they don't include you in their circle. I also envied girls who have fair skin complexion and a slim body. Why do rich people have the ideal skin and body of many? Well I guess it's because their walls are build beautifully and they got an air-conditioned room. They also have money to buy for any accessories they like to adorn their bodies. In short, they are luxurious.

I was also living a life where poverty is felt. My grandma and grandpa don't possess any possession just like wealthy family has. What they can give us is the support to education. With this, I want to grow up so I can provide them and give back all the things they give. I also want them to experience life of having everything. Who doesn't want that, right?

Going back to kid, I tried to explain everything to him in order for him to understand.

"You know what, Mat, being an adult is not that easy. It's tiring because you got many things to do and think of. Do you want to be tired all day? Do you want to wash dishes? Do you want to do the laundry? Do you want to gather firewood? Do you want to work 8 hours a day?" I asked.

"Yes, I do. I want to help mama. I want to cook as well. I also want to reach the light switch so I will be the one to turn it on and off." He said.

These are the simple things that the 3-year-old kid wants to do. I found these cute so I just smiled at him.

"You know what Mat, we are so different. I really do want to go back to being a kid just like you. I want to play just like you and not think of what will I do tomorrow. I want my mom and dad to prepare breakfast for me just like you. I just want to live life without thinking of the future."

I'm not sure if he understands it. I just want to let out the feeling of wanting to go back. With that, I felt that my chest went light. I just ended the conversation with a sigh not until he said.....

"Why you're growing so slow? When will you grow?" (He's referring to my height) And I was like omg how should I react? I want to be mad and laugh at the same time. I just laughed at him and he's laughing too. After that, she continued waiting for his mom to come home.

https://unsplash.com/photos/RcnBzBuAdUs

I realized that we cannot adjust life like how we wanted it to be. We must adapt to the changes and nature of life. If you're already a grown individual, you must act like one and be responsible. Though it's very tiring, that's the sign that you are working hard. Anyway, we can take a pause from everything. To rest doesn't mean you stop. Sometimes, we like to go back to the past either to change something or to be a kid again. It's really fun, isn't it? But life can't give it back to us. What we have are the precious memories that we can share to our children or to our grandchildren in the future.

How about you? How's your experience talking to a kid? Was it also fun? I really like to know. Do you also want to go back or to be in the future where you decide what you want to do? Which is which? Let me know in the comment box.

Hello everyone! How's it going? I hope you all doing well. To everyone reading this, thank you so much for reaching this far. To the people who upvoted my articles, a million thanks! I am also very happy because @TheRandomRewarder noticed my article. I cannot contain my happiness until now. I would also like to thank my friends who are really so positive that I would be successful in the platform. Thank you so much mamshies, @Zhyne06 @ThisisGrace21 and @renren16

Also to my sponsors who have been so generous to me.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl

Merci beaucoup!

Ciao! ❀️

8
$ 2.37
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Cineholic
$ 0.10 from @Zhyne06
+ 5
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

My mom used to tell me I was very talkative when I was little. I asked everything under the sun. Why is the moon round? Why does the wind move? Why am I not growing fast? etc. Same as my daughter, she was very talkative when she was a lil younger and asked the same questions. Kids want to learn and know how or why things work. Adults want something backward tho lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nice! Your daughter got the that cute attitude from you. ☺️ And yes, that's true po. They are curious all the time and it's our job as adults to educate them as early as they can. As for the adults, it's sad to think that we cannot go back but, atleast we have an amazing childhood memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kids are amusing and surprising at the same time, and spending time with them can be too tiring yet joyful just the same. I have 3 young nieces and they're most inquisitive of many things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True! πŸ˜… Everything in them is fun not until they will look for their mom and start to cry. I hate that. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's the scary part, especially for little toddlers :) I can't pacify them once they cry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was why whisky was invented, a finger dipped in whisky sends any toddler to sleep, just ask any Scottish grandparent :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow? That's new to me! If it really works, then I may need to stock a bottle then haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh it works for sure hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll definitely try that trick in the future hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. Though I had younger sisters and brothers, I can't manage it as well because I don't want to. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's quite different, you can't manage because you don't want to. For me, I want to but I seem to have little charms to pacify them haha. Although I am proud at times when I can :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's funny to think how we wanted to grow up when we were still a kid and go back for being a kid when we are already grown ups.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Pero wala na tayong magagawa. Kung meron man tayong gustong gawin noon, siguro gawin nalang natin ngayon pag may time. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tamaaa siiiss hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know it is funny, we often want what we can't have and of course the older we get, the younger we want to be haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! πŸ˜… Why is life like that lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe that is what makes life fun, can't have what we want, and can have what we don't want. Haha bedtime for me, have a fantastic Friday over there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My reply is kinda late tho! Haha have an amazing Saturday, in advance. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha better late than never, but we are eight hours apart so still Friday afternoon here, salamat and you have a super Saturday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sa mention memsh.. Well, you deserve man pud na memsh uie,.. πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks mem πŸ˜‡β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its good that the kid was trained not to babytalk anymore.. kids have a lot of questions indeed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes that's why the kid knows much about what's happening in real life. And yes again, they do have lots of questions that we don't know how to respond sometimes. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahaha try to answer him nalng hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh kaso minsan di nala gets. Yaan ko nalang dahil bata nga naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yun lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kids want to be adult and we adults want to be a kid again πŸ˜€ Those were the days.... No responsibility and no financial tension..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really missed those days 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago