Welcome to DepEd!

8 41
Avatar for Marinov
1 year ago

It's my vacant time so I decided to spend it by writing. I am now a substitute public teacher since November 9 until December 28. The Department of Education in Southern Leyte Division contacted me if I am willing to accept the offer since I will be teaching for just less than 2 months. I was very hesitant since I really don't have extra budget for the processing of my requirements but then the previous substitute teachers told me that once I become a substitute teacher, I have the chance, an edge over the other applicants. After my substitution, I will be contacted again because I will have an item as Junior Teacher which I doubted too. Lol.

I also know that I am not yet prepared mentally and physically to embrace the world of teaching but I need cash so immerse myself into something I am not yet ready. And then here I am. I am here for almost one month and I am enjoying my stay here. The teachers are very welcoming and they don't make me feel I am inferior or less than capable. In fact, they always involve in everything even if it's outside the school affairs. During my stay here, I've attended two birthday parties already and there were a lot of food before me but I did not devour much since I am on a diet. I am trying to discipline myself with what I eat everyday because I am really gaining weight and I hate it.

The students here are obedient and courteous. There are days that I got so tired responding to they greetings. Every student who come across me would say, "Good morning or Good afternoon!". I guess they like me as well as their substitute teacher. Lol. My advisory class is grade 9 and I teach them English and ESP (Edukasyon sa Pagpapakatao). I also teach English to grade 7 students both two sections and the rest of the two sections of grade 9.

Taken during my class in grade 9

During Mondays, I have 6 classes. My first class starts at 7:45 AM and my last class ends at 5:00 PM. Waking up every morning at 5:00 AM is my daily struggle. I really wanted to stay in bed knowing that it always rain every morning. I also want to sleep beside my baby every morning and look at her while she's sleeping. Ugh, here are my mom thoughts again. Lol. I really wanted to stay in bed until 8 AM. It's one of my goals which I think I cannot achieve since I became a mom. Being a teacher also means that I have to come to school early so I don't have a choice but to awake my sleepy head.

The school that I am in is also a new established one. It was established last 2018 and I can say that it really needs a lot of improvement when it comes to the facilities. Currently, the school only has 5 rooms and the rooms can't cater all 300 plus students so the class schedules are on shifting. The grade 7 and grade 10 will come to school in the morning while in the afternoon, the grade 9 and grade 8. The school is also situated in a semi-slope area which I considered dangerous especially when it rains because it will be slippery for students and teachers to go up and down the school. I hope that the Department of Education will give more facilities here so that the students will be here for 8 hours rather than just half day which is 4 hours.

The way to grade 7 and grade 8's room.

To deliver the lesson, I also prepare daily lesson plan and I will be using daily lesson log which is less hassle when I reach my third year in teaching. After making the lesson plan, it's time again to prepare my instructional material. Most of the time, I use PowerPoint presentation without the projector since some of the rooms here don't have electricity and using projector would just consume much time knowing that we only have 45 minute-class time per subject. Most of the time, I found it tiring in here since we don't have proper facility to stay in but it's okay. It's fine for me.

I think this will be all for today. I need to save my experiences for the next blog. Lol. That's all for my DepEd experience. Again, welcome to DepEd, self!


Thank you so much, sir @Bjorn for sponsoring me up until this time.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Ciao! ❤️

5
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
1 year ago

Comments

Naks! Welcome back to teaching ka na pala sis. Enjoy mo yaaaaan cher!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pareho kayo ni zhyne no. Congratulations mommy

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

For sure this will really be the beggining of your teaching career, yie the experience and the vibe telling you were having fun and enjoying things in schools just like saying you were in the right place, yieee congrats po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats ate sis,,, puhon regular naka.... Grab the opportunity.. God bless you always ate sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy teaching momsh! Okay na rin yan for experience reference mo na yan..buti at grab mo sayang din..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay wow ,congrats maam 🎉 and happy teaching ayeeh 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trueeee, pag nagturo ka as a substitute sa deped, mas may chance ka na ma priority sa item if ever. Yan ang Sabi ng kaibigan ko na isang teacher, kaka item Lang nya this year at five years din sya ng sub.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maayu man Mamsh. Ako, wa na jud ko'y amor aning teaching. Gusto ko mangaplag ug laing career.. Nadaot naman tali ning ahung utok. Hahaha.. Congrats Mamsh!🎉

$ 0.00
1 year ago