Don't Breathe Movie Review

1 10
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

This is one of the films that really surprised me from the story itself up to the production. I didn’t have the chance to watch it in the movie theaters. I just had the opportunity when my friend had a copy. I decided to watch it while I was making one of my programming assignments before. The film is really an amazing movie compared to most horror or thriller movies. It was not what I expected and since I don’t really like watching trailers because it makes me more excited to watch it just by looking at posters, it was worth-watching of.

I like the fact that this film only has few characters in it surrounding like 90% of the story line in the movie. Most movies have different locations and set-ups that take part of the main struggle in the story, but a film like this fits the definition of “Simplicity is Beauty”. And by the looks of it, it doesn’t seem that much effort was put in the film but if you look closer, all scenes were really outstanding created in the simplest way but resulted in the most chilling manner.

First and foremost, I love how the man is an old man. What does that mean? Because if you are to cast a blind teenager and attacks three burglars without having too much harm on yourself, it sounds so impossible, unless that teenager is a trained spy or CIA agent. The fact that the man is old adds to the personality of the character that he knows his house in and out. It’s like a driver with license and knows the shortcut or fastest way to get home instead of being stuck in traffic. The personality of the three robbers was also a good catch. Even in the start of the movie, they already possess this wicked manner but are still innocent to everything in the world. Their foulness adds extra impact to the story which I think is fantastic. And it clearly shows that I think they haven’t done too much robbing. Because if they really are out-of-the-box robbers, they had to do more research in the man and his capability to attack them?

If we were to talk about the story line, it’s one of the stories that you can’t miss anything. For the first time in my life in watching horror flicks, I had my question when the robbers were talking about the man. Why in the world is he living alone? As I looked into it, since he’s living in the western side of the world, most old people are not supposed to be alone in their lives, in which I think also suits some countries in the world. Although I think he was not that old, there is still something mysterious in him. Though they said about his money and wealth which I think is the reason why he can’t live the house, the fact that he lives alone, or so I thought, is already terrifying.

But all in all, I totally like the film. And I will wait for its sequel since the old man is not dead.

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I loved the plot twist of this movie! Great film!

$ 0.00
3 years ago