Honesty and Faithfulness are Crucial

11 31
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Honesty, Religion, Peace

Late start today with writing as I had a lot to complete this morning: shopping, cooking and caring for my son, among other things. Yesterday a #Lazada order came for my neighbor who wasn't home so I accepted her package and paid for her.

The test

I tossed the change from a 500 peso bill on the counter and thought nothing more of it. Since I trusted the driver I did not count it. Later on, as I was picking up and arranging things, I found the change was 625 pesos. What? I gave 500 and got 625 back? Maybe I had made a mistake and had given him 1000!

I checked my cash from my little sari sari store and everything was as it should have been. That could only mean one thing: the delivery driver had made a mistake and given me an extra 500 pesos. Immediately a thought came to me: This was a small test of my Christian faith.

Taking action

Before rushing headlong into a hasty decision, I consulted by fiancee to determine whether he had put the 500 on the counter. He advised he had not. I looked at the package but the driver's name wasn't on it. Then I looked at my past :Lazada orders and grabbed a couple of familiar names and called.

The first call ended in no results. Hoping to appear wise, I asked him if he had come up short on money for the day. If he had said yes, I would then have asked by how much. In this way I would know if he was being truthful, because he would know the exact amount. To my surprise, he was honest enough to admit that he wasn't short of money from the day's deliveries.

I called the only other driver to no avail. He never answered his phone - maybe because he was still delivering items. As of this writing, I still have no idea if the second driver is going to respond to my call. I have every intention of returning the money.

Lying in bed last night I thought it all through. I could easily pocket the money and buy my son a new outfit or myself a blouse, or even buy some extra food. But I want to be honest. Then another thought came to my mind, namely: what if no driver claims the money? What then?

A simple resolution

I came to the conclusion that if no claims are made, I will spend the 500 on food and give it to a needy family nearby.

God's testing

God often tests our faith with little things to observe how we respond. He never, ever tempts us! But he does allow temptations from the enemy (Satan) for His glory. If we are faithful in whatever testing he allows, He credits it to our account and then trusts us with more things that bring Him glory.

He may allow a person to appear in our lives who is an old flame and allow us to be tempted with lustful desires. He may test us with money, our response to nasty people and our words, or nearly anything imaginable.

How will you respond to these tests and trials? I say honesty and faithfulness to God is crucial. How about you?

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 11.86
$ 7.49 from @Scotty17
$ 4.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Honesty, Religion, Peace

Comments

Yes honesty and faithfulness to God is very fundamental and important because when we are been tested our loyalty is been tested has job was tested in the Bible and he stands firm

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right. Job refused to curse God and die despite his wife telling him to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes he took is stand and at the end his honest pay for him by the blessings God gave to him so when we are honest God bless us more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our every step God take our taste. It's proved that how much pure heart you have!You always think positive. May almighty bless you!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I still struggle to do the right thing, that's for sure. But thanks for the encouragement!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good on you, Ma'am Mariel. Yes we are tested by God. And we are tempted by Satan daily. He wants us to disobey God, God wants out obedience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If everyone in the world can be honest, this would have been a better place for living

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're sure right! Sadly,...it won't happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I amazed on how you response the test that God has given in you. I am blessed to hear all your experience on how you respond in the situation. 😇❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. I give glory to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago