Birthday Party, Biting Dog Incident Resolved, and a Bandit

39 52
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Party, Dog, Thief, Bible

Wow - I'm glad the birthday party is over for my 2-year-old son. The biting dog incident has been resolved, and a new dilemma in the form of a bandit arose sometime during the party. It seems nothing ever goes off without a hitch.

I was unable to write yesterday because I spent most of the day cleaning up after the party and doing laundry and other chores. My fiancee was busy writing a rush paper for one of our clients and he was unable to help me clean up until after lunch. Whew - what a mess they left!

Party

The birthday part began at 3 p.m. in the #Philippines and many arrived before 4 p.m. with gifts. There was a lot of food I catered or prepared and there was a concern I had not bought/made enough.

My fiancee and I spent almost 3 hours fixing the porch up. The tarp had been damaged in the previous typhoon so we were forced to do a little more rigging than necessary We are waiting for the next typhoon to pass before replacing the tarp.

It turns out that the food was far more than enough with one cake completely untouched. There was leftover pancit, spaghetti, puto, hot dogs, chicken cordon blue, and several other dishes. Eight liters of Coca-Cola were consumed and 4 were left for us to drink or sell in the sari sari store.

There were seven people who consumed alcohol, though not in drunken quantities. There was free beer and two bottles Emperor Double Light. Not all of either was fully consumed.

The gifts were fantastic. There were 14 sets of clothes given, numerous toys, and cash gifts. My son was totally thrilled and we were thankful to the Lord for the generosity of our foreign and Filipino guests.

Penitence

As previously mentioned, my son had been bitten by a neighbor's dog the day before his birthday. The heretofore arrogant nurse remained unapologetic, but it turns out the wife had the dog's rabies vaccination. Apologies were made and accepted. My son is doing fine.

Better yet, the other neighbors, having heard about the incident, took their pets to be vaccinated. So it all turned out well, thank God. His mercy endures forever.

Pilferer

There was an unfortunate incident that did occur. Some money from my sari sari store was left on a crowded countertop. Only two individuals entered the house to get beer or whatever.

My fiancee noticed that he had neglected to stash the money away just to keep honest people honest, but when we counted it after the party, we were 1,000 pesos or a little more short. There was only 6k pesos and 400 in change in the little box.

Since we were gracious enough to allow carry out, several people took advantage of it for their family members. One of the two people that entered the house took 4 containers. It was a bit over the top. I suspect she (my friend for 3 years) was the culprit, but since I had no definitive proof, we just took the loss and said nothing about the incident. We do know she is poor and has a penchant for greediness. We'll let the Lord be the final Judge.

Clean up process

We were finally able to clean up and were tired so we turned in to sleep around 9 p.m. My son was a little hesitant because he wanted to play with his battery operated fire engine we bought.

Now one of the ladies and I are planning a larger Christmas party. One thing I am sure of is this: more time has to be given to get everything right.

God bless each and all of you for reading.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 16.81
$ 11.59 from @Scotty17
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from @AceyDeucey
+ 8
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Party, Dog, Thief, Bible

Comments

Happy birthday ahhhh so cute 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your for your kindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday, dog bite for small one is dangerous, you are very generous to take the loss of money on your head.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Things happen and we have to be able to adjust and move on rather than dwell on them. Thanks for the birthday greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh so sorry about the birthday party dog butting incidence. I hope your baby is fine now huh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He was totally freaking out with happiness. This is the spirit of living. I got bitten when i was a kid. Doctor gave me 14 injections. Anyways Happy Birthday to him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

14? Wow. I bet that was expensive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember again how dog biten me. Good thanks that your son is now recover and its also his birthday. Happy birthday to ur sonπŸŽ‰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's painful but he is fine now. Thanks for your well wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy the issue didn't really escalate over that level, I've learnt some lessons from the issue now... I'd need to be more careful and vigilant

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are too. Thanks, James. Appreciate your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally it was settled. I can feel your tiredness. Messed things need to be settled. Have rest dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do want to rest. Just wrote an article for a client and then a 12-page request came in. I also have laundry to do. Whew. Rest tonight, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God! That was bad but all thanks to God the incidence was settled

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we are pleased that all things work together for good to those who love the Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to have the incident settled and apologized. The mistake is binding for those who made the mistake. It's extra nice that other neighbors can learn from this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Thankfully we can all avail of forgiveness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a heap of hay there! Look at the Texas tipping you! Oil man. haha. Don't tell me: batteries not included on the toys. Am I right?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is. He has way too many sets of clothing. We will do as we usually do and bag up the good clothing and give it away during the next disastrous typhoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Y'all do get your fair share of typhoons there fer sure. We get tornados and hurricanes here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To use your terminology, I "reckon" we do. We get anywhere from 10-20 typhoons or tropical depressions per year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goldang! We get a half dozen or so and some twisters but usually only one serious weather incident per year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you had fun and that everything was resolved. Please give my tip to your son on our behalf.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your great generosity! God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're most certainly welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll put him on Lazada and let him choose or since I'm going our layer let him choose something besides snacks. lolz.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds good. Enjoy your day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not a reasonable idea to steal. Not even stealing alone but from the ones who love you. Well, like you said, no genuine proof that your friend was responsible for stealing the box. I hope you will have a merry Christmas

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, we have already bought things in advance and are buying some more for our son but only a couple of items for ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice food. Good party. Too bad a "friend" had to help herself to your money.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If she would have asked me I would given her money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you would have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the confidence builder!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh anytime, Miss, anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago