BOOK SERIES: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

0 23
Avatar for Marie0108
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Awareness, People, Growth, Health, ...

Hello Read Cash, it's been a long time since I have been active in this platform because of various reasons you are likely not interested with. Since I am back, I decided to do a special little series of which the articles would be all about book recommendation and the likes. So let's get into business!

In this article I am talking about the book "A little Life" by Hanya Yanagihara. This book has been in my recommendations because of its ability to make the readers cry and of course, for its accomplishments which it won the Kirkus prize, a National Book award finalist and a Man Booker Prize Finalist despite its lengthy story. The novel follows about four college boys thriving into the real world in New York City making a name and chase big careers, but its most specially focused on the protagonist named Jude who has a mysterious past full of trauma, abuse and unexplained health issues. This may seem to be a mystery thriller description of the character but it will surely move you and give you deep perception of yourself and life in general. The book will give you a roller coaster ride of emotions. It can drive you mad, sad, anxious, consume you and may even take over life if you don't have the right and stable mental capability. A lot of people in Tiktok (which where I got the recommendation) also gave some warnings because of how devastating the book to you when you read it. Since it was released in the 21st century, this gained a lot of audiences which resulted to high rate of sales.

A little Life is divided into seven parts of which are chronologically arranged with flashbacks of the four college boys frequently interspersed throughout the novel. The narrative also shifted throughout the progression of the story which in my opinion made it more interesting and made me to read more. It then gradually shifts into focus towards Jude to when it molded entirely around each character's with Jude and then into Jude himself. I personally liked the author's way of writing because I can relate to it. It has this modern feels and it really resonates with what is happening in the real world. It tackles about anxiety, depression and self-destruction because of Jude's unfortunate past which is the main problem of why and how he is not able to open up to the people around him. Reading the book took me almost a month since I struggled with my online classes and most importantly how it broke me with each part of the book. I felt emotions like I was really in the book sympathizing to the main character. I was angry at how he does not help himself which also questioned me that if ever I am in his situation will I make it through? And when that struck, it made me frustrated and sad because I cannot do anything. To quote from the book, "There are two people in world and those are who believe and those who doesn't" and in Jude's case he did not.

2
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @Jeaneth
Avatar for Marie0108
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Awareness, People, Growth, Health, ...

Comments