Gone But Always with Me

5 21
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago
November 1-2,2022

Its been a while since my last article here. Actually, I have drafted some and wasn't able to finish one as I was too busy both at work and home. Also my family were using my cellphone only since my daughter's phone is already unrepairable and hubby's phone was pawned. So having a my own time was a bit difficult.

Anyways, its All Saint's Day though we Filipinos offered prayers, candles and foods to the dead. Even if tomorrow will be the All Soul's Day, we do things today since its back to school and back to work already.

We believe that the dead will come to visit us at home. Thus we light up some candles outside our home to lights up their pathway.

Many years have passed and still we do remember those friends and loved ones that left us here in this world. Every year we remember them and so just like today that we offered candles, prayers and foods too. Yet I have a few that have some good reasons to be remember always.

  • My Great Grandfather

I was lucky to have met him even if I was too young at that time. He has a Spanish-Japanese blood that makes him handsome, tall and strict by the looks. Though I was his favorite when I visit him every summer in Bohol. He spoils me always and love to chitchat with me under the chico tree with his rocking chair. I was Lolo's little girl that is why he is always in my heart after so many years.

  • My Great Grandmother

My great grandmother passed away before my great grandfather though I also have spent more time with her during summer. She is very strict but she spoils me too and allow me to touch her things. She let me try her jewelries and some stuff. I even have a personal favorite that I cannot forget from her. I just love that green stone inside an oblong gold plated earring. Everytime I remember that, I want to buy the same that it looks. Though until now, I have not seen one.

  • My Grandfather

My grandfather in my mother side in Bohol too is one that loves me so dearly too. He spoils me so much with fresh seafoods in the morning if I am in there during vacations. He wakes up very early to take the carabao to the field and go to the sea and catches fishes too early. When he arrives home he got lots of fresh fishes and we will have a seafoods breakfast then. He always check on me and no guy can get near me then.hahaha.. He was super strict too just like my great grandpa. But he passed away because of complications and I was like heart broken twice that time. I was already working in Cebu when he passed away and I could travel thr soonest due to my probationary status. Yet I was able to attend the burial and offered him my last goodbye.

  • My Classmate in HighSchool

Way back in high school, one of our teacher have an etiquette class for us. That was the best lessons I have back then and one of it was a buddy buddy system. Its like having a boyfriend and girlfriend with you everyday. My buddy's name is Jeremiah, nice name right? He is a smart kid and his pastor is a pastor. He was jolly and friendly. However after College and some of us have work already, a sad news broke. My friend commits suicide. We were all shocked and cannot believe that he will do it. The reason then was unclear and so we always want to remember him especially this time of the year. We never knew how he came up to that yet we remind each other to pray for his soul always. He is a good guy way back then and we want him to rest in peace too.

Somehow, there are many more souls I offerred prayers and candles too. They are the few relatives and friends that I have known throughout my life. Lucky we are, we reach this numbers thus giving some prayers and offering candles for them is not much thing to do. Because no matter how long they are gone in this world, they will always stay in my heart and not forgotten.

📷 Lead image was mine and others are from Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading my article. Its been a while since the last time I publish here. Hope Rusty will still remember me and also I really miss him that is why I keep coming.

6
$ 0.50
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

It's great to remember our loved ones. I love how your culture honors them. I too had a friend who committed suicide, he was only 19 years old. I like how you did up this article and told us about them. A very good way to honor them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nagtirik din ako ng kandila the other night. nabanggit din kasi ng asawa ko na nanaginip sya kasama yung kapatid nyang namatay. sana nameet namin sya huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa amin sis ganun din pag hindi makapunta maglagay ng kandila. I'm sure na ginaguide ka parin nila sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gone but never forgotten talaga sis. Nakakalungkot isipin na wala na sila pero ganyan ang buhay eh kaya ipagdasal nalang natin sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best mag spoil yung mga grandparents sis.

Sa ngayon tamang alala nalang sa kanila nawala man sila pero mananatili sila sa puso natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago