A Day For Me

7 37
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
10 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Birthday

It is my special day, the 13th of June but I choose not to be absent from work. Every year, if my birthday falls on a working day, I always file a vacation leave because I wanted to be just at home by that day. Now I prefer to make it another ordinary day though things happen unexpectedly and for some reasons.

During lunchbreak at work, I had a chicken meal and pancit (for a longer life as they said). I said, that will be my birthday meal then since we never had any special dish at home. Yet my day started so busy at work when one machine started its breakdown from 7 in the morning until I went home. It was a busy day and I even extend an hour to cater other machine troubles. I already ask permission to went home early because I wanted to attend the 5:30pm mass. But since I still have some time to buy, I prefer to work a bit more. It was tiring but I do not want to leave my workmates with all those loads.

All day long, I tried not to sit in a group of my colleagues because I do not want them to remember my birthday and start making noise. Usually, when there is a birthday, they expect some ice cream treats or any foodies. Since I never had enough in my wallet, I do not want them to remember and teases me to buy some foodies. Yet before going home, someone really remember and greeted me. She knows my situation and she's a bit well-off. Then she secretly called me and gave me something to buy some lechon manok. I said nevermind giving but she insisted so I really have the lechon manok for dinner. The kids surely love it too.

About a few weeks ago, I decided to continue my poppo account. You can join too in poppo by clicking here. Day by day I learned more and found some few friends. It was a blessing in disguise as the group that I choose to join was GTY Family(GraceToYour Family). Everyday they have devotional live speakers and everyone is free to join. It is a big group with many teams. Though my team eagle and some few family teams made a party live and celebrate my birthday. They made all the greetings with banner from our gc to the partylive. It was unexpected and I keep on thanking them. I thought we will just have a singing bonding but they keep on playing different birthday songs. I was touched and teary-eyed of the simple things they did. I was really happy and feel loved that time. It was a mix emotions or maybe I was just having some sentiments.

Lastly, I am thankful for being here and celebrating that day reading and making some responses here. Just like @MicroReylatosI do not have cake to blow or any special foodies with celebrate. Yet knowing many people remember my birthday and give me warm greetings makes me feel more special. It cannot be exchange by any material things because I feel more loved.

Thank you so much for reading this far. This is a bit late already since I fell asleep early last night. I really need to catch up here as my time is quite too short to manage.

📷Images are mine and screenshot in poppo.

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @MicroReylatos
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
10 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Birthday

Comments

It's nice to receive good wishes on your birthday, and the important thing is that you have a job and people who care about you. Nice gesture from your friend to be able to give you so you could buy pork.

Keep going, life is hard, but we must laugh at it and enjoy it.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Yes. Life is hard but giving up is not an option rather enjoy it to keep going..

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Your are great person Mae sacrificing time at work so extra burdons don't fall onto others shows that you care about the others but also the income is important to support your family at home. I don't always take my birthday off either. It can be another day to me, it is nice receiving wishes from those close to us though. That's really the best thing about Birthdays to me is hearing the wishes.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Thank you so much Bob. As we grow old, we never want to celebrate our birthday but just enjoy how those people around us remember and made it a special day for us.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Exactly :) I'd rather not burdon someone thinking they have to get me a gift. Same goes for holidays to.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Happy Birthday to you, I hope you vould still celebrate your special day after your work.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Thanks sis sa greetings. Nacelebrate ko din virtually at mas masaya ako sa simpleng celebration na yun.

$ 0.00
10 months ago