Wish I could do better

16 41
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Being a writer and publishing quality content consistently has been one of the more difficult tasks for me. Writing good content doesn't come easy. Some may think differently but this is true for me. I am not skilled enough to imagine and write, like coming up with a story, fiction, I only write about things I experienced and maybe reviews of platforms I have visited. That leaves me with so little to write about because my lifestyle doesn't offer many experiences as I am not so social, and I spend most times to myself and mostly indoors.

I envy creative writers a lot, and sometimes I ask myself, "why can't I be as good as they?" And I have tried but I seem not to have the needed skills. I have had thoughts of giving up as I am really not cut out for being a writer. But the need to keep earning, and support my little salary to at least take care of some of my family's needs has kept me going.

What does it really take to sit down and come up with an interesting story? Why is it that after 6 months of writing on this platform, I have not improved even a bit? Perhaps writing skill is a gift and not everyone is cut out for it? What can I do to get better? How do I improve? Don't let me bore you with the zillions of questions that have been running through my mind.

One of my greatest challenges is my inability to easily and appropriately put my thoughts into words, not like I have lots of them. I speak (not flaunt though) and understand English, but yet I find myself in this situation. Could it be because I don't read much? I have heard lots of experts say that reading helps one in developing his or her vocabulary and some other benefits which right now, I cant come up with the right words to present them.

I love creativity but I seem that lack that. Some days, I get a pen and paper in an attempt to come up with an imaginary story, but I end up eating chewing of the end of the pen, and the only thing on the paper may be just "Once upon a time". Lol, just kidding about this. But I hope you got my point.

This can't be writer's block. It's probably just me not being good enough.

In the last three days, I have not been able to publish anything If interested. Though I have published as many articles: the first one was on the nomination round of my little Patronage initiative, then a post on "Iwa Akwa" ceremony which I attended in my hometown and finally a post on mining coins on Bee Network. In all, none is creative or interesting.

For hours, I lay on my bed thinking of what to write next, but nothing is coming up. I have even visited some blogs for ideas but haven't seen anything that interests me and I can confidently write on. Why me?

One thing is sure, I am good at sport-related articles, football in particular. But, most users here don't appreciate soccer, the posts get a little traction and the earning has not been encouraging. All my sports related articles have never earned up to a dollar, mostly around $0.5, that's if it earns at all. It just seems that the bot has been programmed to frown at sports related articles, well, this Is not true but just the thought of a bored wannabe writer.

Talking about earning, my earning has been very slow, the bot seems to be angry with me and I wonder why. And it also seems the platform has gotten more strict as I have noticed a lot of comments that look genuine but are automatically moved to spam and I have read a lot of users complaint on our sister platform about the slow earning. Guess I am not alone on this. I hope for a turn around to good fortune. Not good to start the year on a negative note on my darling platform.

I will have to end here so I don't end up boring you with the tales of my challenges. A little update: I have been on leave, and I travelled home to spend a few days off with family. I was able to see some old friends and witnessed one of my community's best cultural event, the Iwa Akwa ceremony. I plan to return tomorrow to resume work on Monday. I will share some pictures and video clips of the ceremony in a later post.

If you read to the end, thank you for the patience and for sticking with a boring me. I'm still thinking of things to write about, I would appreciate some suggestions or ideas to help get me started.

And about the title of this post, I just couldn't come up with something better, you can suggest something better and I will look into it.

Don't forget to comment and like this article. And if you have not subscribed, what are you waiting for...

10
$ 1.19
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
+ 1
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

You write well though. I already told you that but you just don't vary your content much. That which can be achieved through practice and reading

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not as smart as you. Explain varying content to me like I am a kid.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not that smart, man- but just try going for some humor, suspense? Try fiction every now and then? because i still think your writing style could work with those since you're pretty descriptive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Humor, is not a quality I have. But I will try .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I could do more like you do. ;) Just stay positive and your writing is good and enticing the way you delivered your story about wanting to do something. Maybe you are not made to write creative writing, but instead of inspirational write ups. Thanks for this!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words. Well appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You don't bore me and if you ask me you you can write. I think I once read one of your articles about the sport, soccer. No, it's not my favorite subject but a good writer can make sport attractive too.

Write about sport differently as most do. For example add a part that is personal, what you notice, a funny thought.

Write a diary. Even if it's once a week it's still a diary.

It helps if you read but it helps too if you watch films, something on YouTube, talk to people. In real life or on a platform.

Actually everything can be used to write about. A sentence someone said and you add your own opinion, thoughts. A headline in the newspaper and if you like to write a story use "first line" generators, prompts and characters or storylines given. Simply make a story out of all those lines. You can use 20 or 40 at first. It helps to think you in a different way and it can be fun.

🍀👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you KittyWu for your kind words. And for the advice as well. Well appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have a look at my "Forty-three'. It's a good example how to. You can use a newspaper, sentence someone just said, a phrase, etc. Write from the perspective of a soccer player and let me know. 🍀👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey Macronald!

Don't put yourself down like that. You always write high-quality articles. I have not seen a single article of yours which was not well-written.

I think you write a lot of articles. Maybe too many?

I have an idea for you how you can earn more without having to write more articles. I have just written this article for you and for anybody who is interested in earning more with their articles:

https://read.cash/@MoreGainStrategies/how-to-republish-your-articles-on-publish0x-to-earn-additional-crypto-6f3afe94

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought Publish0x is a crypto-related site. I don't write much of crypto articles.. So might be difficult for me to earn there.

Also, my account has been blocked, I barely even used it. I tried creating another after that and it was also blocked.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's strange. I wonder why they keep blocking your accounts. Do you share an internet connection with someone else? If you do and someone else on that connection has a Publish0x account, too, they might think that this person tried to create a second account. Maybe that's the reason.

They allow all topics. And it's definitely possible to make a few extra bucks there. This is one of my articles, for example, which did better on Publish0x than it did here: https://www.publish0x.com/internet-gold/internet-gold-can-you-trust-your-ears-two-minute-papers-pt-2-xnqepez?a=y1aKrRGneQ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We always can do better, but be careful. It can transform to a trap, with a never ending expectation for the better. We have to define, what is good enough, and find time to enjoy. Then, later, we can move on to our next goal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you are great writer my dear friend.Also your articles are very interesting.Sometimes we all have not idea what to write about.So,it is good to take rest and new ideas will come.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

T hanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago