The Freshman: Day One Ch. 4

0 25
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

Chapter 4

UBSU is starting to change me. Like, I've been here only a few hours and look how much I've learnt!

There's this thing about learning when challenges are hardest. Maybe, it's the hardships that mold us the most. I realised this quite a while, actually, a long time after my first day in the University sha. If I am to be very honest, it had first seemed crazy and absurd. Like I was in a Nigerian Jumanji. Only, this was real. I'm happy I bore through it, anyway. Because in the end, my black cloud had a white line. (I know, it's silver, whatever. Mine was in white.)

The queue was scary. Of course, what did I expect at this time? I know UBSU is a large school but I didn't expect this size of freshers! The line was so long, it made me almost faint!

My body craved for glucose and cold water but it was only Bigi that was already warm from the sun that hawkers were selling. I couldn't even buy any. Thirst and hunger nabbed me painfully and my legs were shaking on their own. But I must be a man! I remain gallant, although my body no gree. Which even reminds me; Why can't they just make a long tent for everybody? If you see the way we, the freshers, I mean, stood in the sun. There was no hall, nothing! It was later that they came to apologise and were now like

"...ehn... we apologise for the inconveniences but the registration hall is being used for meeting..."

Is the hall supposed to be for that? Why is it called "Registration hall"? We now stood under the sun like goats. The officials now sat down inside a tent. Sun beat me to the extent that I was so hot, considering the fact that I had even just had an unpleasant marathon 'exercise' around the school, that I started to sweat seriously. I, myself, know that I looked like a soaked bush fowl. Jeez, I even smelt like one too! And I couldn't shift from the line even a little bit for fear of having my space taken. I no get the strength to fight with anybody, so, staying put in the line seemed the best option. Eeya for the person behind and the person in front of me. Sweat plus deodorant smell. That deodorant is a scam. It is odour itself.

But at least, my case was better. There was one light-skinned girl that got sunburned pretty bad. When I mean skin turned from yellow to red to black. It was awful but spectacular. You don't get to see the processes of sunburn every day. I'm thankful for melanin. That makes me recall when I wished I was fair.

It was one girl like that o, that I was crushing on in our street. Tj. That's her name. But she liked one fair boy like that. And me, I was black. And I'm fine o. I'm actually happy now for being black. Assuming I had maybe, I don't know how gotten fair like that, she wouldn't be here for me.

I don't know precisely how long I stood in the queue. About two and a half hours, I guess. But when I say sun beat me se! There was only one tent in the registration area and it was even only the officials and about thirteen or so (just eye guessing sha) students who were there. But that was where my magic happened.

I'm blushing, I won't tell now. Hmn hmn! Awey, don't let me waste time. I'll go on.

Okay, so, the sun had reduced, although the temperature was still harsh. And the queue was still long! I was growing impatient and starting to fret. I badly needed a change of activity and just then, my phone rang. I've never been so happy to see Aunty Keji on my caller's id. I was thrilled. Quickly, I picked the call and her shrill voice was oh, such a relief. I even found the usually annoying shrill in it very relaxing. To show how much heat and stress can turn your head. Chai!

But that's not the magical part, no, no. I took Aunty Keji's call and after a series of talking and lamenting, I put the phone back in my pocket. What did she say again sef? Okay, that I should endure, it's school life... like that like that...but at the end, she said she would be preparing something relaxing at home.

And I love that woman sha! I finished my call and continued normally. I didn't even feel anything different.

Anything different as if something fell from my body. It was until I felt a tap on my shoulder.

"Sorry, your money fell."

I don't know why our people always say sorry. Like; "Sorry, can I pass?"

"Sorry, please, don't be annoyed." Hehe! Anyway, it was the voice that struck me. Mehn! Who owns that...that...it was as if the heavens opened and one angel descended with fere (whistle). I turned back.

Boooy, it was like slow-mo. If you see as this girl fine! I felt myself smiling sheepishly inside and I hoped it wasn't showing outside. Then, she held the money out to me. Note: Don't pick money off the floor even if someone "accidentally" dropped it. Let them take it by themselves. And don't take money from someone who tells you that your money fell, even if it's a lady. I'm telling you now so that it will not be as if I didn't tell you so that you won't turn to tortoise. Na me and the girl's ancestors that said none of us was a ritualist. That aside, I took the money, smiling. Actually, it was mine. And the rest is excess gist.

I thanked her, she smiled, I didn't want the conversation to end (although, it wasn't actually a conversation) so, I asked her a question and she answered and that was it! She wasn't in my department but we were in the same faculty. Believe me, if the story no sweet, when a woman enters, the taste will change.

I wouldn't talk more but my ancestors that wrote my story for today are great writers!


I used a couple of Nigerian slangs and vibes in the content. Use the comment section below to request for the meaning to any word or phrase you don't understand.

4
$ 5.60
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.02 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

Comments