The Freshman: Day one Ch. 1

4 35
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

Day one

It all began with my mood that morning. That, exactly was the cause. It was because I had put my hopes too high. Seriously! It was the hype. You know, I'm the kind of person that gets excited a lot. And the thing is when I get too excited, something goes wrong. Just like today.

My day had started fine. Yes, yes. Very fine. I woke up early, there was nobody to disturb me(I am in my Aunty's house), there was light, breakfast was awesome and I didn't get to wash the plates. I was also happy. Very happy! I am going to school. University! And I had so many hopes for my day. But that was the problem! Okay, let me rewind a little.

Admission still fresh, hopes still high, naive, unsuspecting... And what they have in mind: Plans for school life. While some plan to have peaceful, quiet years, some prepare for a popular, loud, high-on-life stay and others just hope to fit in between the lines. But no doubt, there's always excitement and anticipation of a new environment. Friends, change, freedom, maybe.

I can only try to faintly measure for how long I had been preparing for this. University days. I had heard a lot about life in higher institutions. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a stay-at-home person. But the idea of going to University in a different state can be very appealing to anyone. Just as it raised my hopes. Lord knows how much I daydreamed immediately after I got my admission letter, as I mentally painted how I wanted my school years to be. I have always been quite popular and I was determined to take this on to UBSU. My friends think I'm cool. Maybe because I'm the most talented and good-looking among them.

Plus, Daddy gives my brother and me huge pocket money, so I had a lot to spend on clothes and shoes. And not to mention that he deals in designer wares.

I went to Aunty Keji's house. She is Daddy's sister. She stays in the same state as the school I am to go to, so, Daddy suggested that I stay with her until I find a hostel to stay which, I know, she hopes I find soon. Not that she doesn't like me, no, no. I think she just thinks I'm too demanding. That's her problem, anyway. I arrived yesterday and she thought it would be nice if I started my registration immediately. I was thrilled. I was more than prepared to visit "my" school. Excitement rushed through me as my brain did a backflip. Finally! I can't tell how many times I have dreamt about going there. And it was really coming true. I already knew what I wanted, already planned how it was all going to happen. I even knew the clothes I would wear. I had planned a loud entrance. UBSU will shake when I arrive. Or, so I thought. Or so, I thought! Hmn!

My morning started with Ted 3g. Note! Don't ever start your day with 3g's songs. He's a hype mood rapper. He's one of the reasons I was so excited this morning. Aunty Keji made Jollof rice. Can you imagine! Jollof rice on Thursday. And it was complete with assorted fish and ponmo! (beef hide) So, my day started, Belly singing, mind joyful. I slept late yesterday night mainly because I was chatting until three o'clock.

Note to freshers: Don't sleep late when you have an important affair in school.

I had picked out my outfit since I was in Lagos. A cool shirt and maaad jeans, Fendi slides, and not to mention my haircut! Opooor! UBSU ma hot( UBSU will be hot) I was so confident that I'll crash it. My entrance will be loud and I'll possibly achieve the first part of my agenda. Find me a fresh babe. Little did I know that my ancestors were looking down at me from above and shaking their heads. JJC.

I left the house with a big head. I took Okada to the junction, then, boarded a shuttle going to the school area. Immediately I got in, I could feel the two ladies at the back, staring at me. I swear, I was motivated. I plugged my new earpiece in my ears, feeling all smug. Throughout the short journey, my mind was on cloud ten. Soon, I sighted the university walls. White and grey. My toes curled in giddiness. For about seven minutes, we were still driving by the school walls.

I was fascinated. In my mind, I thought; "Mad! This school is big!"

In about two minutes, I could see the school gate. Normally, it's said that UBSU has the best gate in Nigeria, and to be honest, it looks even better in real life than in pictures. The shuttle stopped a few metres away from the gate and everyone alighted. I slowly took in the scene before me. Immediately my feet touched UBSU soil, everything changed. It was as if my day went bleak. I dropped down to cloud zero.

Students reeled around the school entrance. Some on concrete benches, some standing about, many moving inside the school compound, and what dropped my heart... Students in cars. Sleek, latest models. Boots, Timberlands... Dior sweaters, Louis Vuitton belts. I stood there amid hot girls and I seemed invisible.

It was just then that my fathers decided to whisper: Welcome to Uni, son.

To be continued...


I used a couple of Nigerian slang and Pidgin English in the content. Use the comment section below to request for the meaning to any word or phrase you don't understand.

8
$ 5.06
$ 5.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

Comments

This is so funny🤣 I love the way you spice it up with Nigeria slangs and vibes , life as a fresher can be so funny, looking back now I can help but laugh at so many assumptions I made and also decisions I took,can't wait to read the continuation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just remembered the time when I was still a freshman in college. Those days were fun because seniors tend to play pranks on you. XD

$ 0.05
2 years ago

In all fairness, you overhyped your style believing you're in the category of the big shots. Ahaah! That's what uni life teaches you. At the time you think you have nailed it, something would just sweep you off your feet. For the flange, keep them coming. We are Nigerian, we move.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Placed self at the top and got humbled. We meuve brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago