The Freshman: Day one Ch. 2

2 27
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

That was the first thing I learnt from the University; Lower your expectations.

It was disappointing. I felt awkward, to say the least of my feelings. The sudden fall had been dramatic, unexpected. It was like being stacked up high, then toppling down and hitting the hard ground. This is what no one would tell you when you get to the university: Life there is so different from what you have been used to. Once you step through the gates of UBSU, the campus finds your place for you. You either move with your level or be a loner for life. The bitter realisation hit me. And frankly, I hated it!

I felt suddenly depressed but I knew standing in the middle of bustling students, looking morose would attract unnecessary attention to me. Ha! Wasn't it me who had been crazy about and dreamt of my "big entrance"? I expected the attention of everyone but now I dread it. Now, I know the meaning of anti-climax. Nice one, UBSU. Nice one. I see the irony there huh?

In short, that was how my day began. The real day. Not the fantasy I had borne this morning. How quickly things change! I dragged myself heavily past the throng of humans and directed my steps to the school entrance. I was distracted, somewhat, angry, and it seemed like my day couldn't get any worse than how it had turned out. Little did I know that my people still had a lot in store for me.

Most Universities have maps of the school pasted in front of the gate, and this was where I first went. Previously, I had seen, during my research online that the school premises description would be detailed on the map, so, I had been relaxed at that. Chill, self. No stress dey that side. There had been no fear of me, missing my way. Dola no know say im fathers dey use am soak gaari(Dola doesn't know that his fathers are using him to soak gaari).

Note: Never rely on the information you find online. Most of it na scam.

So, I moved to a spot where I guessed the map should be since some people stood around it, taking snaps with their phones. But I didn't like the way people were crowded there, so, foolish me decided to wait until the numbers reduced. Of course, the number of students there only increased since as some were leaving, more were coming. Nobody told me before I went to hustle for space there.

I moved in and managed to squeeze myself in a corner and took quick shots of the map. I didn't even see it but I knew I could zoom the picture on my phone so, I didn't worry. I left the spot quite satisfied and found a kerb to sit on. My people, immediately I opened the picture on my phone, I knew that it was over. I swear, I couldn't just cry. Note, never trust my dear university. I should have guessed! When they said a map, they didn't mean an easy description but an actual geography map! Or is this even architecture? It was like a building plan. I knew at that moment that some other things don put hand for my matter. In short, my adventures as a freshman at UBSU had just begun.

If I have to give credit to something, it's the fact that UBSU is a fine place. Government money was visible there. For a bit, that brightened my mood. At least, I can take cool pictures here. My first stop was the Academic affairs building, or so, I think. Since the map is not useful now, I thought I could well, kind of find my way around.

Now, there's a saying; He who asks is sure not to miss the way. What was omitted is that; That person must ask someone who knows the way. Today, I realized that it was the most important part that was omitted.

Our people say; If you don't know way, say you don't know way. Unfortunately, only a few listen to that.

The first mis-action I made was asking a fellow fresher for directions. In my defense, I didn't know he was a fresher until later. So, this guy looked cool. That was why I approached him in the first place because, at that time, I needed someone who has a cool head. I can't bear any more drama. But it has been written for me today that I would encounter problems and, it must be fulfilled. I asked this guy for directions to the Academic affairs building. Now, I'll say something. Listen well. If someone says;

"I think" I think!

Problem dey that road o. I'll quote what this guy said because I just can't forget. He said; "Umm...(He even put Umm) I think the building is that side." He gestured towards a turn by the roundabout.

I asked him; "You're sure?"

He said; "Yeah, yeah. I think so. I think it's that way." He now paused... "Yes. It should be that way." He nodded as he said this, waving his arms towards that direction.

I had been long lost before I remembered that there was a clear bag(file) in his hands and that he wore "shoes". I had asked a newbie like me for directions! My trials in the 'jungle', my experience as a lost man, and how I got free is a story for another day.

7
$ 15.67
$ 15.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: The Freshman

Comments

It is fun being lost with you in your story haha. Thanks that my University is not huge so I wasn't lost in my first day. Also I have very good skills in asking which way, good thing that I asked the right person, ting! Lol. Next time if you don't know which way ask the guard on duty. That's what I always do, if I don't know the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly find some parts of this story funny. Lol, the struggles of being into a big university. I have graduated college now, but I still get lost in the univ. It is so big, and not suited for a person who's bad at directions, like me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago