Post Commenting, the forgotten hero

21 48
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Whenever I read an article that provokes my thinking, I'm almost always stimulated to read at least some of the comments. But, since the integration of the rewarder bot, I have noticed that comments per post are steadily declining week after week. Perhaps many have not noticed but this is true for my posts.

There is something about an article with little or no comments that feels cold and sterile. It’s like the readers are saying that they are uninterested in your thoughts.

I believe that comments make a post interactive and it's a great way to communicate with other users as the platform doesn't have a chat feature. Also, comments often expand and amplify the content, driving deeper thoughts, or often exploring nuances that the post itself didn’t consider.

A post without comments is like a party without people.

In my first week here, one of the ways I was able to communicate and build relations with other users is through the Commenting section. To me, writing or blogging is not just about publishing content, but also the 2-way communication and community building aspects behind it. The readers can learn more as a result and the writer can form stronger opinions of his own.

There are times that I find the comments from the readers to actually be more interesting and more informative than the post itself.

Most users, I included, are here to earn. With the new updates to the platform and removal of the little benefits attached to comments, it didn't come as a surprise when the level of commenting declined.

The thoughts will likely be: Why waste time commenting and responding to comments when there is nothing to earn from it? This is true for the commenter, but what about the author of the post, can the comments boost his or her earning?

To me, commenting can boost an author's earning.

Recall the bot's statement on what determines the amount of the tip in the article "Have I tipped you?": the more interesting an article is to the audience, the more your tip.

The two main indicators of how interesting a post is to the readers are the number of likes and comment on the post achieves. We can be helping others earn and learn more about a topic by liking and leaving a relevant comment on the post.

Post Commenting and its importance?

Commenting can be taken as the relationship between the blog, the author/blogger, and the readers. In other words, it is an action taken by the viewers or readers. It is a great way to exchange ideas, thoughts, or opinions about what people feel for a particular post topic.

Through post commenting, knowledge is shared. It leads to conversation which, further leads to building a relationship between the user and the author.

Comments make a post-social. The post readers can leave comments in the form of questions if they want clarity to points in the post content, or some can simply leave a comment for appreciating the information shared or maybe share their thoughts, contributing to the content. Also, the author replying to these comments adds more to it.

Closing Thoughts

One of my beliefs is that all of us are smarter than some of us. Sometimes, post readers point out something we have missed in the post content and they can also provide an alternative viewpoint. Sometimes, they can also criticize, disagree, or directly challenge the author's thinking. Regardless, as long as it is done in good faith, everyone benefits. We collectively learn from one another and sharpen our thinking.

On the wrong side, comments can bring negative effects particularly when we are inundated by tons of spammy or low-quality comments. As noticed here on read.cash, some leave short, lackluster comments like "Sub me" "Nice article" “Great Post, I have learned today”. These types of comments definitely do not add value to a post.

All said, I respect readers and believe they’re smart people and have great thoughts to share in the comments, and without comments, I feel like I am missing the opportunity to socialize and learn from them.


I have been thinking of ways to improve commenting on posts.

Question: What can we do to encourage comments that add value to the post? Share your answer in the comment section.

4
$ 4.86
$ 4.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

To begin with, people don't understand that an interesting article is one that can induce discussion. It was kind of an implied thing with what the bot rewarder but of course people don't notice the finer prints of things. They just wished to follow the guidelines as is. Some people did get busy though, the ones that liked to go around commenting then there are articles that don't reach the readers at all or are not on the same understanding level of the readers since it was more or less a paper from school or something too technical

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good comment is one that is relevant to the content of the post or that adds value to it. Not the lackluster comments like "nice" "great" "good article". A good article can induce a thread of interaction between the commenter and the Author as well as other readers.

One shouldn't just comment for the sake of just leaving a comment, one has to understand the content, and have something to share or a question to ask.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but again, it would largely depend on what the reader understands. If the reader isn't on the same intellectual or comprehensive level as the writer or if they're just generally lazy then what would you expect besides that. And not everyone is willing to ask a question but hood comments really are appreciated every now and then. It's far more motivating than the upvotes and tips at times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bot has its favorites and rewards them only generously, with or without comments. The rest like us keep waiting for good rewards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have noticed that too. I have seen great articles with good engagement yet don't get as much tip as another of less quality and engagement. It makes me wonder the algorithm the not uses when tipping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting observation. I haven't been on this platform before the bot took over. Therefore, I don't have a comparison to how it was before.

I believe that the bot should also tip good comments. I have to admit that I wrote a couple long comments hoping that I would at least receive $0.01 from the bot. But that has never happened. I have, however, received small tips from other users for my comments and I am very happy about it.

I believe that an author could offer to tip the 3 best comments after the first 48 hours of an article or something similar. This would motivate people to visit the article early and to write high-quality comments.

I believe that would solve your issue. However, I still hope that the bot will do that in the future. 😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have been thinking of a strategy to motivate users to read and leave relevant comments on posts. Your suggestion will be valuable to the plan I have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am curious to see your plan in action. Thank you very much for the tip by the way. 😊👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't thing of a way to motivate commenting generally, but I can motivate users to comment on my articles. When ready, I will make a post to that regard

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe that other authors will follow your lead if your method is successful. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believed that so, an article makes it more worthy and interesting by sharing thoughts and opinions by other users, but as you mention most users here forgotten it, cause of the reward system implemented.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do enjoy the interaction. But for some times it has declined as it was stated that there is no earning for comments. Thinking of ways to stimulate commenting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah,still depends now on how user interacts to the authors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bot doesn't function the way it stated to be. I have some articles with lots of interactions but didn't receive the tip it deserves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like the not stated, its new and still learning, hopefully it will get better with time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

same here...I have seen some great articles with lots of comments...yet the article did not receive a single cent.

having said that, i do believe that user engagement plays a role in the tipping algorithm.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I believe same too, and users engagement has to do with view, comments and likes.

There are also other factors in the tipping algorithm

$ 0.00
3 years ago