Looking back with a smile

18 81
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago
Topics: Family, Baby girl

Looking back, we have always felt a gaping hole in the family, but now it has been filled with the perfect gift.

My parent only had two children, sons, my junior brother and I. After my brother's birth, they tried for year's to add another child to the family but without success. We grew in love and happiness, but deep down there was something missing. Mum doesn't have a daughter and we don't have a sister.

I for one, always envied families that had lots of children, especially those with a mix of male and female. We had a family friend, they have 4 children - 2 boys and 2 girls. My brother and I often visit them in guise of playing with the sons, but actually we want o spend time with the sisters. And I can bet mum wishes to have a daughter, with whom she can share a lot of stuffs with which we guys may not appreciate.

When my brother was 9 years old and I 11, our dad told us that mum was going to have a baby. We were very excited that in very few months we are going to have a baby in the family, and I guess we all wished for a girl. But none came, mum had miscarriage. It was a sad moment for the family, especially for mum.

We carried on with our lives, then about a year later, mum conceived again, and this time she took the necessary precautions to avoid a repeat of the previous incident. Finally, a baby was born, and it was a boy. Of course, we were all excited, but I could bet the excitement would have been much high had it been a girl. We all loved and cared for him. The family grew and we had another person to care for and play with.

Two years later, mum got pregnant again. And I think this was the last attempt for a girl child. And it was obvious, everyone wishes for a female.

On Saturday afternoon, September 6, 2008, my mom was taken to the hospital. We all went with her. My mom was taken inside the labour room, we wanted to go in too but we were told to stay outside the room. So my dad, grandmother, my brothers and I wasted outside the room. Soon my aunt and daughter came to join us. After what seemed like an eternity, a doctor came out of the room, looking at dad with a broad smile, he said:

"Congratulations sir, you have had a baby girl!"

Dad couldn't hold the joy, he shouted, jumped and hugged the doctor in excitement. We all went berserk with happiness. We were allowed to go inside, and for the first time, I saw our little angel sleeping in a crib. She looked so sweet. I looked at mum, I could see the joy on her face. I have never seen her that beautiful and happy.

I have always been ecstatic about that day.

After some moments with mom and our angel, dad drove us and granny home, and he returned the the hospital. The next day, mom and our sweet little angel came home.

She was such a beautiful baby with a smile on her face at all time; always fun to play with and laugh. Being brought up with boys I had finally found a doll playmate and someone to share sisterhood with all that comes with it.

She is the only girl and the last born, I love her more each day and bless the Lord for bringing her into my life with so much of her personality. She is currently in Secondary School, and stays in the school dormitory. I only get to see her during the holidays and as each day goes by I miss her more and wish we could go back to the good old days where the only worry was probably finishing our homework. I pray that I would be the best brother that I can be to her and cherish her as the little princess that she will always be. She is so brilliant and beautiful. Without her, the family would have missed the touch of a girl (beside my mother of course), and would not have known what is like to be a big brother to a girl. A tough job though enjoyable at the same time.

No matter what I get in the future, having a baby sister still will be the unforgettable gift that I ever got. Even though I would likely have my kids someday, my sister's birth would hold one of the most memorable and cherishing moments of my life. It was not just the best gift ever, her birth was the happiest moment of my life, thus far.

I love my sister, she means the world to me and let me conclude by saying that her birth was and still is the greatest gift ever!



Has anyone ever asked you "what is the best gift you have ever received?" Yes, @Eirolfeam2 in her one dollar question give away asked:

What is the best gift you have ever recieved and why?

According to her, we can talk about that specific gift we received on our birthday, last Christmas and Valentine's day, or any of the gifts we have ever received since birth. The last time I celebrated my birthday was when I was geo and I can't remember if I was given any gifts. In subsequent years, close friends and family have given me gifts but none is as precious as the one life gave me, the gift of a baby sister.

Up to you...

What's the best gift you have ever received?

15
$ 1.83
$ 1.00 from @Eirolfeam2
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago
Topics: Family, Baby girl

Comments

Your story is beautiful, I confess that I even released a few tears, it is not common for me to see a man speak so tenderly about his sister. Perhaps because of the society we live in, it is generally macho and men are not allowed much to show that delicacy in their feelings. Good for you and your brothers, especially the princess of the house who is your sister.

I have received very little gifts in my life, the only significant one so far for me was and is my daughter, she was very desired by me and my ex-husband, we spent 4 years trying to get pregnant and when least expected God did that little miracle in me.

Now I enjoy my daughter and she has the great support of her in me, until it is time to take flight on her own and explore new horizons.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind word. I can't help the tenderness when it's about my sister. She means a lot to the family.

I'm glad for your miracle, and your most precious gift. Take care of her for as long as you can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so she's the only girl in the fam. No wonder you wanted to spoil her on her birthday last year

$ 0.05
3 years ago

You can say that. She is not just the only girl, also the last born... As much as we try to give her the best we can afford to at the moment, we also try not to spoil her too much...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think she's spoiled but she is very loved, it seems and that might be enough for anyone. But i do hope you guys don't restrict her too much despite that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello I'm new here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As soon as I read your short post about my favorite gift I knew what I was going to write about. When I saw what you were writing about, I realized what the meaning of life and the greatest gift is for all of us. People who have a sister are happier! Since I am a mother, next to the sister I have, my greatest gift is my two daughters. Since I had an accident, that the first child I gave birth to, a boy, due to a doctor's mistake ... great, sadness, pain .... but God gave me a new chance ..... I have two daughters..my pride , my strength, my everything ... my favorite gift.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

She really filled a gap in the family. Mum got a gist partner and we got a lively sister. Sorry for your pain. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, you are such a loving brother, I can imagine how much love and care you give to her. The best gift I ever received is my daughter. She brought so much delight, happiness, and gave life a different meaning. She is the most precious gift I never thought I deserve to have.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Sure. I love her. She Is my sweet angel.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really adore men who has such deep adoration towards women. And a brother towards his sister. God bless you. ❤️

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Thank you for the kind words. God bless you too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I have never read such thing with adoration like this. The thing is, I never remember our family like this. This story made me a little emotional. I grew up worrying that tomorrow we'll face another problem within our home. I mean maybe because of that I grow up never really appreciating things as much as you do, so that ends me to never remember the gift that "matters" the most or the unforgettable one. Well If I would really be thankful the best gift I have received is that I have given a life, and I am awarded with a journey which I could say is not typical and I think I am good about it. Well I must enjoy this journey.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

The journey you will enjoy. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so beautiful I've never seen someone so happy on birth of a girl as for most of people they're burden but I'm so proud of you and your family for having such different thoughts about that you're blessed with a gift of good thinking and I'm glad you have a sister now I wish she get all the happiness in life she's Lucky, stay blessed 💜🖤 And about my gift I've also participated in that giveaway here's the link to my post https://read.cash/@Anabiya/the-best-gift-that-ive-ever-received-90e0cada But I can tell you that here too for me it was a shawl gifted by my father it's special 💜🖤

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I would say the best gift I've ever got is my sister. Because she's one of my best friends with whom I can share my emotions, problems, grief without a second thought. I can trust her for anything. I get her support whenever I face any challenge. So, definitely she's the best gift for me from Allah (SWT) & my parents 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's true sisters are blessings indeed 💫 For me the best gift I ever got was my first mobile that i got on my 17th birthday from my mother❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

my son....and i cannot explain why because there are no words about it...if you are a parent you know

$ 0.00
3 years ago