A Rainy Day

2 9
Avatar for MWSA
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Philippines

October 25, 2021

There is something special in the rain, the sound of it when it hits the roof and the way it hits the water in the ground and splashes gently. There is something relaxing with it, the way that the wind turns cold when the first drop of rain fall, the way the wind suddenly becomes strong and the trees start to dance with it. For many rain is a blessing, giving life in the dry land, giving water to many people around the world. Rain is a sign of the end of the drought, watering plants makes the trees go green, and the dry field becomes green full of grass, flowers, and the life of many animals.

But rain can give bad things as well, for people like me it is okay to rain even for a long period of time. But there are other people living in the streets getting wet when it rains. They have nowhere to go to let the rain pass, there have no dry clothes after the rain stop.

Rain can turn into a storm in a matter of days or weeks, sometimes it can be so destructive bringing floods requiring many people to leave their homes and let the storm pass. But most of the time floods are caused by humans, right? Irresistible throwing of garbage to the river, over deforestation and illegal logging, until flood turn to a landslide which is more destructive.

The storm is like a problem in life, we can let it pass to make it easy for us, or we can continue our journey while fighting against the storm. Those two decisions will make a great impact on our lives and will determine how strong we are. The way we let the storm pass is one of the safest ways, we focus on surviving while waiting for the right time to continue our journey. While continuing the journey against the storm is one of the dangerous ways to continue our life, it may cause us everything and it can make the problem even bigger. But when we pass the storm or the problem, that will make us, even more, stronger and more ready for the next one.

Morning

This morning I woke up around 8:00, it is cold and I can feel it`s about to rain. In the past 4 or 5 days I am living here with my parents it is always hot, the sun is burning even early in the morning while I am walking my dog, but in the night it becomes calmer and the temperature drops.

The rain starts to fall the weather becomes cold and it is a great day to take a rest watching some movies while drinking coffee lying in bed, but it is Monday. This is one of the busiest days of the week, collecting all the things you must do for the whole week, like essays, laboratory activities, and many more. In addition, this day is stressful because I have an exam at 6 PM and I am not into studying these days.

the rain continues to fall for many hours nonstop, I become sleepy while reading the reviewer that our professor gave to us. It is the first exam for this subject and I need to pass this one for a better semester, when I pass the first exam I can have a relaxed semester because I will not chase high scores next exam. But I am not confident about this exam, It is more in computation which I am not good at.

Studying for this exam will be even harder because I am the one taking care of my younger brother and he talks every time and always wanted that there is some play with him, but it is fun when he wants to play with me and tiring at the same time.

It is nice to share my time with my family again but there is a downside to it. I want a quiet place but my mother as a Filipina, always shouts, and it is irritating sometimes.

All Images are from Unsplash 

3
$ 3.47
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.02 from @beastion
Sponsors of MWSA
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MWSA
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Philippines

Comments

Like you, I also love the rain and I also feel sorry for the people being drenched when they come to and from work or the people who does not have a roof over their head or people in the flooded areas. Indeed, climate change is caused by humans and sadly, only a few people do think about taking care od our environment. They are so concerned on different things that they neglect the world that we live in. If we take care of our environment, Mother Earth will also take care of us. My dad said that it is la niƱa now until March of next year. Recently, there were some provinces here in the Philippines that got flooded that never experienced flood in the longest time and some people died from that typhoon including my late grandmother's sister. Even if I love the rain and cold weathers, I still think of other people and their safety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are fewer people thinking about our environment and the government is racing to who will be the more advanced nation in the world. With the many people neglect what is really important. Im sorry for your loss, now it`s hard to enjoy the rain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago