Copied without credits: Are you a victim?

30 83
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

I initially drafted a rather lengthy manuscript of how I unravelled the identity of the culprit who plagiarized my article on Opera News but because of the seriousness of the other discoveries made thus far, I have decided to make it as brief as I can.

As a follow up to my earlier post after having not received any update from the support team of opera news pertaining to my complaint. I have sent them another DM on Twitter which has not been responded to as at the time of making this post.

An idea occurred to me that I could search for my plagiarized article in the opera news app as I had once written some articles on their platform a while back. So I redownloaded the app and did just that. Lo and behold there was my plagiarized work. After finding my work I dropped a comment in the article drawing the attention of the culprit to the fact he is not crediting the original authors for posts that aren't originally his.

Out of curiosity I checked the list of posts by the same author and something seemed eerily familiar about them. It appears that since he joined read.cash he has been copying posts from this platform to post on opera news. I am yet to determine whether he chooses randomly or has some criteria for selecting which post to copy.

Below are screenshots of the list of posts which I suspect are copied from here as well as links to the ones which I have found out as at now to have been plagiarized. The links come in pairs. The fist being the original and the second being the plagiarized.

https://read.cash/@Ailjhe/the-longest-bridge-in-philippines-a2f78d17

http://opr.news/s535d2ccc200908en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@aminul/dont-expect-help-from-others-rather-than-helping-yourself-c3e8c462

http://opr.news/s48e8c359200829en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@Jane/cant-think-of-anything-to-write-try-this-2f6d7b2c

http://opr.news/s74945538200902en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@esciisc/the-art-of-teaching-deaf-and-mute-0666df91

http://opr.news/s1c86dab200901en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@AnsleyLivy/536-ad-the-worst-year-in-human-history-63dd8256

http://opr.news/s99582f7200901en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@Jihan/types-of-comments-that-you-should-avoid-for-the-safety-of-your-account-fa5b3e45

http://opr.news/s340a082d200825en_ng?client=news

https://read.cash/@Ruffa/how-do-i-make-fried-rice-easy-and-simple-f88b7eae

http://opr.news/sb27b15b200831en_ng?client=news


The links that are highlighted and in italics are for the plagiarized posts.

I want to request the assistance of members of the community watch as well as all other writers who see this post in determining the status of the other posts which I am yet to address.

Lastly if the culprit is seeing this post, I think you no longer have the option of acknowledging the original authors anymore but rather take down those plagiarized posts that were copied from read.cash. Let this serve as a warning to others who are doing or planning to do same. You are not being smart and cannot hide what you have done forever. Truth and Justice will surely prevail even if it is delayed .

Update: In summary these are the authors including myself who I have discovered to have been plagiarised thus far:

@Jane

@esciisc

@aminul

@Jihan

@Ruffa

@Ailjhe

@AnsleyLivy

To get a clearer picture of how this investigation began you may choose to read the first article

Copied without credits

Shukran

Danke

Merci

Gracias

ขอบคุณ

ধন্যবাদ 

Спасибо

27
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @MisterWrite
Sponsors of M3i
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Good job in finding out this plagiarized articles, those who gains a lot of views are usually the target to be copied since it was a hot topic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll still be on the look out for more culprits. If I detect any, the community watch will be duly notified. I only hope all authors whom I have notified of their works being plagiarized will make the expected formal complaint so that the Opera News moderators will act promptly.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I guess my articles are too boring to be plagiarized somewhere else. Good for me...

On another note some platform takes this very very seriously as they could possibly end up have their name in court as facilitator of distribution of copyrighted material. I know its far fetched but many publishing platforms are very strict with that. Whoever gets his content copied should tried to get the copy taken off.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The moment any of your posts gets high votes or views , it could be targeted as my findings thus far point in the direction that those are the targets.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Yes because people copying are not for recognition for most. But on Opera News is there anything to get except for recognition? Thats the weird part to me. I can see people posting here to earn money. But why do this where they make no money... Just weird.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They make money .Publishers on Opera News are paid based on the number of active reads per article.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I see... Then better report it and repost yourself the same. you could benefit from their hard work and SEO maybe... lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will God willing be posting the response that I received from opera news support team today with screenshots attached if the moderators of the community watch grant approval shortly.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

While this is the link to Sajib's article on read.cash https://read.cash/@Sajib/how-to-make-your-life-beautiful-9e0c96b0

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

It is with regret that I inform you all that the culprit is still active in plagiarising article from the site. This time the victim is @Sajib. His article how to make life beautiful was copied verbatim. Here's the link to the plagiarized article http://opr.news/s6dcfa48b200911en_ng?client=news

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Great job for unraveling this. I hope that the plagiariser (if that's a word) take this warning seriously. Plagiarism is a crime and he would pay if he/she doesn't stop now. It's saddening to think that the hard worked articles of the writers here are copied and taken advantage of without their consent. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is our collective responsibility to ensure that those involved in plagiarism know as you have rightly pointed out that the act is indeed a crime. I truly hope that with this others will take here. If you copy the work of others and post elsewhere on the internet, it will surely be discovered one day.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Please submit this article of yours to RC to check who is this RC user copying the articles here. And why do Opera even allowed this? What a shame to them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh i saw it now, what the.. can't this user even think that my article is applicable here in RC? This is getting worst, i should check my other articles. I'm really suspecting that some users here are copying my articles because some have been saved for no reason. Thank you for this info

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you sure with this? But where's the link of the plagiarized articles?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sure. The link just below the one for your original post is that of the plagiarized one. I have edited the post on indicating which links are for the plagiarized posts.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Yeah I saw it. Thanks... you did a great job looking for plagiarized articles in opera.. for sure , still have many there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still remember the first article you wrote. I can't believe my article was plagiarized too! Thanks for raising awareness to this. I still don't know what to do as it is the first time I had to deal with such issue.

Shame on that culprit, even the title of the articles are exactly the same.

By the way, do you have the links to the plagiarized articles or we can just search it on the web or on opera app?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@esciisc see below for the link to the plagiarized version of your article

http://opr.news/s1c86dab200901en_ng?client=news

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Thank you. I already checked their website. I'm trying to take action on it now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The links for the ones I have detected are in my current post. Below the link for the original articles

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago