The Bustling Halloween Week

21 52
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write

I'm back! I've been missing in action for exactly eight days, and I missed the routine-  working and writing in between. So, how was everyone?!

My last article was all about our bundle of joy, my nephew, celebrating his 8th birthday, and he had a blast indeed. That was last week's Monday, the inception of the bustling Halloween week. The day started so early at work with a patient for discharge, I intend to finish before lunch so I can head over to my nephew's birthday party in the beach just a few minutes from home. It was really refreshing, the adults enjoyed the chitchat, the mommy invited her highschool friends and a couple had kids almost the same age with my nephew. The kids had fun swimming and playing on the beach and with the sand. When I asked our cute little boy if he enjoyed his birthday party, his reply was "it's the best birthday ever!" Lol! I thought, the innocence and simplicity of a kid's mind is just heartwarming!

Anyway, after the birthday party was "All Soul's and Saints day," and apparently we celebrated these days traditionally here in the Philippines - by offering flowers, and candles for our dearly departed. As usual, just like last year, we went to my grandparents' province, an hour land trip from home. My aunt prepared some great food and we had a great time the rest of the day, it was like a reunion, a #halloweenreunion as some people on social media call it. We traveled back home tired but happy.

I thought I'll be off to start work the next day, but no. While we had dinner that evening, we received a bad news from my father's brother in Davao. I've written a few months ago that my uncle was diagnosed with Liver Cancer and has been receiving immunotherapy treatments that costs a fortune. He just had his 6th treatment last month, and he got a bit better. Unfortunately, now, he just had a hemorrhagic stroke, paralyzing the left side of his body. His condition got complicated, just sad really.

My father had decided to visit him, especially that my dad was his closest sibling. My mom won't allow our old man to travel alone, like driving alone at his age, so I have to go with him. It was an emotional rollercoaster ride while we were in Davao, we're happy to see some of my dad's siblings and cousins coming too, but we're just so distraught for what happened. We left Davao in tears, I hate to leave my uncle because he was such a fighter, he even wanted to undergo Physical Therapy to recover.

We passed by Bukidnon before heading home because another relative of ours passed away. My father's uncle died at the age of 89.

Sigh. Not a great November to start, but I thank God for the safe travels and the reunions, no matter how sad, tiring and draining.

Before heading home, we had breakfast here at Ayahay in Lantapan, Bukidnon and the view of the mountain was just so wonderful and refreshing. I'm so glad that we dropped by.

That sums up the bustling week, I hope to finally get back writing and interacting with y'all! Thanks for reading!


Lead Image and all photos by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

11/08/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel

20
$ 5.10
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write

Comments

Kids sure know how to be happy :) And I'm sorry to hear about your uncle. Hope he gets better...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel sad reading about what happened to your uncle po, I hope he will get better soon. Fighting and be strong to your family po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tuwing halloween nagkakaroon po talaga ng mini reunion ang family eh. Btw I hope your answer will get better soon po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uu nga parang nakagawian na natin mga Pilipino.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka emotional nito ma'am lyca. Don't worry ma'am maging okay lang si uncle mo. Trust lang kay God always ma'am. 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations to your nephew on his birthday, I hope you had a lot of fun. Here we don't celebrate Halloween but the people and the stores were very animated with that celebration, many of us enjoyed it even though it is not common to celebrate it here.

Here we also celebrate the saints day, usually that day there are no work activities in some places, because that day is used to honor our relatives.

How sad what has happened in your family, I just hope your other relatives are better and healthy, take care of yourself, life is pretty crazy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here in the Philippines, we don't usually have trick or treats etc, mostly relatives meet because we visit cemeteries of our departed loved ones.

Thank you and life can go crazy and overwhelming indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an emotional week it was, ate. I hope your uncle will get better soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww it sad that happens to your Uncle. But at least, is a fighter he'll surely recover because he has the will to do it. Kapag ako mandin nakakakita nong mga oldies na dating sobrang lakas tapos biglang ganyan, akoy awang awa talaga. Aigooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uu nga kawawa talaga kc helpless na sila eh..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spending time to visit a family who is sick shows how did you value them, he needs the family support and love because of his condition.

Hope that he will get better again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sis, kawawa rin hindi bisitahin kc nung tumawag papa ko isa lang tanong ng kapatid nya, sabi kelan ka pupunta dito? heartbreaking!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, sometimes Halloween became an instant reunion to us all and ayun pero this Halloween ang lakas ng ulan eh. Kaya hindi kami nag punta sa cemetery

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti nlng dito umulan gabi na pero saglit lang..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This life is full of ups and downs. Happy this minute and sad the next minute. Happy birthday to your nephew and I wish your uncle quick recovery and good health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed,life is crazy!

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish your nephew belated happy birthday. Feeling sad to hear about your uncle. I wish him quick recovery.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago