Senior Citizens Covid19 Vaccination: Experiential Journal

6 38
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Since the first week of May, covid19 vaccination efforts reaches the senior citizens since this group has been considered vulnerable in the human population for severe infection. I have seen a lot of senior citizens getting inoculated, but there are still people who miss this opportunity primarily because of fear and misinformation.

Last Wednesday was my parents schedule to get the jab. However, first-hand we've been on a bit of a chaotic preparation.

BEFORE VACCINATION

The purok president informed them about it and how to get enlisted, only that it was a wrong information. My sister went to the health center as what our misinformed president said, but from there she was told that the form/ appointment was made in the barangay hall, and this happened at around 2pm with all heat and humidity, my sister got so mad with the misinformation. Not only her, but our neighbors as well.

Then the planning came, my mom wanted to have their annual medical check up Tuesday morning, this has been planned since April that's why I have both request for Executive Panel B ready. I told her that its okay to get vaccinated without it but mom really insisted that it's better to get all bloodworks ready so doctors from the vaccination center can check it too. Anyway, I'm sure she's just doing this for peace of mind, I know they're both anxious too, and I completely understand. No need for debate, Monday evening after dinner, we unanimously decided for both of my parents check up. So right after my dad had his milk and my mom her tea before bedtime at around 9pm, they're starting NPO (nothing by mouth) in medical terminology or fasting. They woke up early and me too, I took a leave from work monday morning despite on duty on Tuesday, good thing we don't have much patients in the morning so our Supervisor did not freak out while I'm busy with daughter's duty. Eventually, they completed all the laboratory test, and my mom had an xray too. When I finished my shift at 5pm, I have all the results, well perks of working in the hospital, eh? And, the bloodworks were all okay, praise God!

VACCINATION DAY

Vaccination day (Wednesday), I was the one anxious for both of my parents, I can feel the butterflies in my stomach. I trust God that everything will be fine and that's the only comfort I have.

The day started with an early breakfast, then I asked my parents to take their maintenance medication, unfortunately my stubborn mom didn't took hers because she's okay as she said. So during screening before vaccination, my mom's BP rose to 170/90mmHg. I gave her the meds and she have to wait 20-30 mins before the jab, then she should be monitored for another 30 mins after, good that it went down to 140/90 mmHg. Meanwhile, my dad was on a breeze, blood pressure before and after were all good so he finished in a jiffy.

See the difference between a compliant patient and the stubborn one? My advice for senior citizens and non-senior with pre-existing diseases and comorbidities, always take your maintenance medications. It will save you time, worries and hassles!

AFTER VACCINATION

Few hours after vaccination both of them were okay. However, the following day my mom was experiencing side effects of the vaccine - astra zeneca. Well, side effect was very minimal on her, she felt body fatigue all throughout the day, so she've been moving less in the house and more in bed, that was very unusual for her because mom is typically always busy. I left few instructions for my sister before I left for work that day, this includes checking her blood pressure and check mom if she's taking her meds, and hydrate. Nevertheless, everyone is compliant this time. Dad, on the other hand, was active that day and no signs of side effects from him, I guess.

REMINDERS

I made a brief reminder above about taking maintenance medicine before going out for vaccination - very important. Also, disclose everything to the officer during screening about your health issues, allergies and previous exposure/infection from Covid19. One thing to take note is your recent travel 1-2 weeks before vaccination and/or any social gatherings. These are important also so the monitoring team can take special attention on your case. As for my parents, they brought with them their recent laboratory result and prescription of their maintenance medications for reference.

CONCLUSION

In our experience, myself vaccinated with complete doses of Sinovac and my parents with Astra Zeneca, I can say that vaccines are safe. There are doctors in the vaccination centers to screen you thoroughly about your medical health history, also you can visit beforehand your family/personal physician to give you clearance if the vaccine is safe for you. Always ask proper authorities about the vaccines.

One last thing, we can only trust God of whatever pursuits we have to undertake each day, so take it with prayer and confidence that God will bring it to pass safely and successfully.

Let go and let God.


Photos are all MINE


#Covid19 #Covid19Vaccination #Resbakuna2021

Write your world and earn BITCOIN CASH! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

6
$ 15.19
$ 14.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 4
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

There is a lot of controversy about whether the vaccine is safe or not. There are a lot of different opinions expressed by renowned experts and doctors who have many years of practice under their belt. My personal opinion on this matter is that vaccination and immunization are simply necessary. Yes, of course, there is a certain risk of complications after vaccination. There is no telling how the body will react to the vaccination, but that risk is much less than the risk of dying from the disease, a thousand times less, believe me. A very interesting, accessible, and detailed description of the need for vaccination research paper writer at https://writemypapers4me.net/research-paper-writing-for-sale/. Immunizations and vaccinations are the only and most effective way to protect yourself and your loved ones from serious illnesses. To vaccinate or not to vaccinate is an important decision. The immune system is the defense mechanism in all of us that helps the body fight disease. When we get sick because a virus or bacteria gets into our body, our body responds by producing antibodies. These antibodies fight the invading virus or invading bacterium (antigen) and help us beat the disease. Even after the disease has passed and we feel healthy, these antibodies usually remain in our body and protect us from being reinfected with the same disease. This is called immunity. Using vaccines is the most effective way to build immunity (protection against disease) and keep us from suffering the harmful effects of the disease.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry ha pero kasi nakakainis din kasi ang media. Parang mas iniinterview nila yung mga taong ayaw magpavaccine. These past few days they were asking people if they want to get vaccinated and they would say no. Then they even asked what if there will be a prize of 1M. Still no daw. Plus the issues with the brand of vaccine. Porket galing China ayaw ng iba. But anyway, umiinit ang ulo ko. Hahaha. Whatever brand, they should go for what's available. My parents had already completed their doses of Sinovac. Mabigat lang na arm ang effect after 2nd dose pero after few hours nawala dib.

Anyway, aside from taking their medication, they also have to be relax. My mom took 6 houra during her 1st dose. Mataas BP and pulse rate. Nagtake na siya maintenance before going to the vaccination site. Pero tense ata at kinakabahan. Mas lalo na nung nakita niya na tapos na yung dad ko. Hindi ko na alam how many times inulit ang BP at pulse rate niya. Nung 2nd dose niya, thank God mabilis na lang kasi sinabihan namin na relax lang tsaka mas nauna siya sa pila kesa sa dad ko. 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga po kainis talaga mga mass media imbis tumulong sa vaccination campaign e parang sinisiraan pa. Ginagawan ng mga joke at ano2x pero pag nagkasakit gusto nila atupagin ng maayos. Hindi nila alam pagod na mga medical frontliners. Dapat sana tulungan.

Uu nga, nkalimutan ko yan, dapat mag relax rin talaga! Lalo na mga seniors kinakabahan agad. Mama ko kc hindi daw sya kinabahan, ewan bkit tumaas pero for sure dami iniisip nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya yung tatay ko nahhighblood sa news. Hahaha. Nahhighblood pero nanonood pa din kaya tuloy ako nadadamay kasi naririnig ko pinapanood niya tsaka kapag sumisigaw sa kabadtripan. Para bang may kaaway yun pala yung TV. 🤣 kaya ayoko na lang nanonood ng news kasi sabi patas daw mga media pero obvious naman na hindi. Tsktsk. Sad reality.

Hahaha. Ang kulit nga ng nanay ko. Kada mataas magsasabi pa sa akin na mataas. Sinasabihan ko relax, inhale at exhale at iclear ang utak kaso wala. Kahit mga nasa vaccination site nagulat sa BP at pulse rate niya. Buti talaga nung 2nd mabilis siya. Pero nagbaon na kami ng pagkain at tubig nun. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Side effects siguro depends sa individual, ano mam? Meron ksi kming nkasakyan nung pumunta aq ng town na kakavaccine lng nya ng AstraZeneca, 1st dose pro sabi nya pra xang tinatrangkaso kya ayun kapal ng jacket khit sobrang init

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu depende nga kc ung friend ko na nurse assistant ang bata pa nya pero nagka fever plus chills... Thank God okay lang mama at papa ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago