National Sorry Day

2 26
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

Awww I think we need to celebrate this, eh? 


Let me start with myself…

I'm sorry about my lazy and procrastinating self. 

I’m sorry about being late to work today.

I’m sorry for being negligent about my health.

I’m sorry about my pride getting in the way sometimes.

I’m sorry about everything…

I’m scribbling the virtual world for ideas on what to write about today and I stumbled upon this interesting site about national days, that you can check here. Surprisingly today, May 26, 2022, some sweet tooth people in other parts of the world are celebrating National Blueberry Cheesecake day, isn’t that so delicious?! Some are just so adorable to celebrate National Paper Airplane Day, I guess kids would love this. Meanwhile, there is also National Sorry Day. And, this inspires me to write something about at the moment. 

In my childhood, I have learned a lot about the magic words, not abra ca dabra, but words like thank you, please, you’re welcome, and i’m sorry. However, I have noticed that not all people love to say I’m sorry. 

There are people who think that saying sorry and being sorry is a sign of weakness, and that our mistakes make us horrible people, or perhaps less human. Interestingly, in some Korean dramas I watched, the characters often bow or kneel when they apologize to someone, and I realized that this act is really a big deal for them. Somehow, I think by doing this you admitted that you brought shame to yourself and that you’re a disgrace to everyone. 

However, in my opinion, being sincerely sorry and apologetic to the people we wronged is not a sign of weakness at all. It is actually a sign of strength.

“It takes a great deal of character strength to apologize quickly out of one's heart rather than out of pity.” - Stephen Covey

When we apologize for our mistakes, we are sensitive enough to identify our wrongs and brave enough to admit that we need atonement to fix things right. And, that is something so noble, right? Life is not easy, and making mistakes is inevitable sometimes. We can always give ourselves a tap on the back and say that it’s okay, we all make mistakes. Forgive yourself too.

Forgive. Indeed, being apologetic paves way for forgiveness. Thus, saying I’m sorry is the most wonderful magic word. It won’t harbor resentments and regrets. This would save us from a lot of negativity in life.

Anyway, my perusal about National Sorry Day leads to a story about some Australian history that involves The Stolen Generation- Australia’s native tribe, and that the nation made this day to commemorate its apology and reconciliation.

Well, that is really something so admirable, though until now, some native tribes in some parts of the world are still fighting for their rights and equality.

Now, your turn… What are you feeling sorry today?


I'm sorry and good night...

Thanks for reading!


Lead Image from Pixabay

Photo from Pixabay

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

05/26/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


2
$ 3.63
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

Comments

If I would be sorry for one thing, it is the moments that I let others control me and my emotions. The moment when I thought I am not enough. Because I am good, special, and loved by many.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes and I'm so glad you get over it Cherry. Indeed, you are valued and loved...

$ 0.00
1 year ago