National Siblings Day : Reflection

10 28
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

What a wonderful day?! Not literally because my weekend was a bit mundane, not to mention the throwback photos in Facebook "see your memories" feature bugging me of memorable summer vacations that for now is a No- NO, sad life. Anyway, as I was browsing on Facebook the "National Siblings Day" caught my attention, for me it's a wonderful topic to write about at the moment.

Random photos I took a year ago.

Thinking about siblings, I’m blessed and there are some times that I’m irritated as the eldest sibling in the family.

Why?

I’m blessed because as the first child, I become more responsible, and being responsible made me stronger to decide about a lot of things in life, that somehow, I am proud of what I become. I become self-sufficient, most of the time I don’t rely much on people, if I can do things on my own I would do it, I believe that I can make it happen with diligence, hard-work and focus. But, that was me before my relationship with Jesus. As I encounter God day by day, I learned that it is really okay to be hardworking, actually it is biblical.

"Wealth from get-rich-quick schemes quickly disappears; wealth from hard work grows." - Proverbs 13:11

However, God loves a person that relys on Him, like a child dependent on His daddy, and that I am truly blessed. It's a promise that you are sufficiently safe in the things you pursue.

" Commit your work to the Lord, and then your plans will succeed." - Proverbs 16:3.

Awesome!

Anyway, that was me as the eldest.

And back to to sibling part, there are times that it can be irritating, and I am blaming individual differences, not them. I know we are all struggling on that issue.

Indeed, an up and down, lol! Photo from our visit in Davao's Upside Down Museum

I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters, of course all younger than me. We all have our ups and downs - conflicts in the family are inevitable. There were moments when I promise myself not to give in, probably because of pride but it was never a successful feat. Family will always be family no matter what. As we grow old and learned to live our own petty and sometimes huge struggles, we learned to help and support each other.

You would say its perfect, but not at all. We all have our shortcomings and these challenges are like lemons that never run out. But, one thing my parents taught us is to never give up with each other.. Apparently for me, it is a grace from God.

I can say that the life of being siblings has been a never ending process of discovering the worth that we have for each other.  It is a nurturing gift from God that every day we always try to understand and treasure.

"God is far more interested in what you are than in what you do." - Rick Warren

Always cherish your siblings, love them because that's what you are.

Spread the love! 💕💞

_______________

Photos are all MINE

_______________

Write your world and earn! SCROLL UP AND SIGN UP FOR FREE!

#NationalSiblingsDay

8
$ 3.50
$ 3.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @turuncu
+ 2
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

Lovely family dear anyway i can't celebrate National siblings because i dont have any how i wish i have too😥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I missed my siblings. I want to write about them too. Just like you I'm the eldest. And it's hard job lol.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Really a hard position to be in. Im proud of what we did us 'ate' 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know yesterday was national siblings day. But we did bond a day before. Also we're not really showy in terms of affection towards each other but I know deep in our hearts we care for each one.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

When you're still young, friends and "barkadas" will rob the time you'll be spending with them, its normal. But, after all that, when all of you mature with life, you'll unexpectedly realize that you got closer to them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also big brother. This situation made me mature early. Because I felt like an elder who should protect my little sister. I missed it this year, but I hope next year I'll have the opportunity to celebrate your "National Siblings Day".

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I agree, we mature early because of responsibility. There must be some advantages but sometimes I miss being myself and caring less of others. Now, I kinda getting used to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay di naman ako updated sa national siblings day😅siguro dahil busy kame lahat llo na yung bunso namin naawa ako di na magawang magbakasyion sa amin sa hirap ng work niya ang payat na rin niya😥 Sana nga magkasama sama kame ngayong april 15 kaarawan ni mama🤗

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Ay nko sa amin ako lang updated sa siblings day, actually simpling greetings lamng ginawa ko sa group chat namin heheh! Hirap din mag get together kc me sariling mga pamilya na rin sila...

I pray for God's provision sa inyong lahat lalo na sa bunso nyo, and I pray that God will make a way for a salo2x on your mom's birthday. In Jesus name. AMEN. 💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga po kompleto kme tagal na dn naming di nadadalaw si mama sa sementeryo😥😥

$ 0.00
3 years ago