Moments of Forgetfulness

10 22
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

"Peter had seen many tragedies, but he had forgotten them all."

J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

If you have read the book "Peter Pan" you will know that forgetfulness is so common in the character of Peter. I don't know why the author made him that way, might be a bliss for him to forget all the tragedies. But, just sad that he has to forget everything, I bet adventures are always so wonderful to remember.

I was reminded of Peter while writing this article because for us, normal human beings, it is so easy for us to vividly remember memories and write them down. Going through one article will poke our mind of things from the past and then here we are writing it.

Photo from Pixabay

Let me start reminiscing when my nephew was still little, perhaps he was 8 or 9 years old back then, he got into this bad habit of sneaking bills and coins from my pants' pockets, purse or my wallet. Often times i'll have missing P5 coins, P20 bills and I would undermind it thinking that maybe I have spent it already. Eventually, this bad habit got intense I begun to noticed missing P50 and P100 bills, which became so alarming. I confronted my nephew about it and he would deny, of course kids won't admit their mistake unless they're caught in the act.

Everyday after school, he would tell me that he will be going to the neighboring internet cafe, when I asked him where he got his money to spend for playing online games he would tell me that he spare P10 from the money I gave him in the morning, he didn't spend it in school so he can play computer games. For few weeks, he would come after 30 minutes, then in the next succeeding weeks he comes late an hour or more. When I fetched him to school one day, his classmate told me that my nephew was in the snackhouse beside the school, to find out that he treat 6 of his friends for a glass of milkshake that cost P15 each. Well, it sounded like he really have lots of money, and looked like living a good life, lol!

Praise God! My nephew had a 180 degree change when he got reprimanded from his dad some months after. His dad, my brother - a single dad, worked far from home so he didn't have much time for his kids but I'm just glad that when he disciplined them they listened.

Anyway, I was reminded of this story when I  happened to read an article from @Jane about "Forget The Kiss, Not the Keys."

Those days when I have to deal with my nephew's stealing habit when he was a kid, prompted me to hide my wallet elsewhere instead of leaving it in my purse. Thus I kept forgetting it whenever I ran out for some errands downtown .

Photo from Pixabay

One time on my way to work, while commuting I forgot to bring my wallet hidden in my bedroom closet. I was really dumbfounded when I was about pay the fare because I don't have any coins left in the pockets either, my nephew I guess emptied it all out. Good thing I have my ATM card hidden in my purse. So, I instead talked to the driver, who happened to worked with our family before because we used to own a public jeepney. I told him that I will make a quick withdraw and hand him my fare when he passed by again after the roundabout near the market. All good thank God!

Another same incident happened, this time I don't have any ATM or anything at all to save me. However, that time I was able to check for my wallet and the certainty that I will be going downtown penniless hit me while I was still a kilometer away from the house, so I have decided to get out from the jeepney, explained that I've left something and had to go back. Indeed, I walked back home, 1 km is fine I'll just have to think that I am on my afternoon walk only that its early afternoon. Odds weren't on my favor that time because it rained so hard while I'm still away from home, sooo freaking ironic. I was terribly annoyed and mad about both incident that my nephew received a good scolding from me, I grounded him for a week of no online games whatsoever. I know I am partly at fault for those senior moments, but I wouldn't be hiding my wallet if not for my nephews sneaky behavior, then my wallet would just be in my bag and I won't bother hiding and checking it everytime I leave.

Anyway, these incidents have taught me to always check on my stuffs before leaving, since then I always double check things like keys, wallet, cellphone, now I have to check for a spare of face mask in my bag, just in case the mask I'm wearing gets torn or worn out. Since he got reprimanded from me and his dad, I didn't noticed missing bills anymore, my nephew had realized his mistakes for sure and I don't need to hide my wallet any longer.

Oh well, these memories are practically gibberish but still remembers them. How much more those wonderful ones that we treasure deeply. What a shame Peter have to forget them, like meeting Wendy?

I'm sure we all have those moments of forgetfulness, some people even purposely forget about their debts! Or accidentally forgets them? Lol!

Just some random thoughts popping out. Thanks for reading!


Photos from Pixabay (no attribution required)

Photo below is mine


Write your world and earn Bitcoin Cash! Sign up for free :

https://read.cash/r/LykeLyca

7
$ 10.55
$ 10.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 4
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Dami beses narn ako nakalimot dalhin ang dapat dalhin 🤣 senior moments tlga.. Buti at may ATM ka..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga eh, ung 2nd time talaga inis na inis na ako hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Ka relate kos imong pag umangkon. Ga pangawat pud ko sauna sa bata pa kay ipalit makaon. Di pjud ko moangkon maskin klaro na kaayo 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! Mao jud ay bisan cguro kinsa bah. Akong mama mahilig magbutang coins taas sa ref, og mag unhanay lang pud mi panguha 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh we have a niece by my wife's sister that an equivalent to your nephew! She would treat her friends with the stolen money. Sometimes, I'm the victim. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! Feeling RK lang talaga mga pamangkin natin noh.. Thanks po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo kya na ang anesthesia nagiging cause ng forgetfulness? Because it also happens to me all the time. One time I have forgotten that I separated a 1k bill in one of my bags thankfully my kid didn't get it and it was my husband who found it just scattered on the floor. My kid would also get coins from my purse once in a while which I sometimes noticed that 5 or 10php was missing. I punished him for doing it by letting him wash the dishes. Inuulit nya minsan and I would scold him, but I realize that I should not be just leaving my bag with bills and coins in it where he can easily spot ksi natetempt xa.

Good thing your nephew realizes his bad act.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga ako tinatago wallet ko para hindi manakawan kaso naman nakakalimutan ko dalhin pag lumalabas haaay nku talaga. Sister ko rin yan dahilan nya, ung previous surgeries nya.. Bka nga cguro meron truth nyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there are many moments of forgetfulness in our lives. I am glad the child has come to his senses. As they say over there, it's kid stuff!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah.. I like child this Habbit. How much innocent they look like when they forget something!. Forgetfulness has both good or bad effects. I can remember this dementia in my childhood story. I commit many blunders in life but I forget all.hha lol😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago