Living Alone and Leaving Home

11 34
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Photo from Pixabay

Some people believe that living alone is advantageous. The independence offers a lot of convenience in many important personal, economic and social issues.

Furthermore, they hold this notion that being independent sets them off from a lot of responsibilities. You would be caring less from the stress of having someone to dictate you of how to decorate the house, when to tidy up, what time to go home, what groceries to buy, who would use the bathroom first, and a lot more. Economically, living alone is practical too. This means budgeting for food and other necessities would only depend on you.

However, I don’t agree that living alone is advantageous in all aspect. Maybe if I have to work overseas far from home, indeed being alone would be an only option. But for someone whose family is just near, I still adhere to the Filipino’s mentality of “family”. It is always warm to come home every single day from work with your family, spending dinner together and have an opportunity to talk about everything. It is also gratifying to spend some of your money with them, and create that opportunity to help each other. Financially, everyone can contribute to the budgeting; one should just conform and adjust with others.

In my experience, I have been an Overseas Worker for 5 years in the Middle East. I did a pretty good job living alone in the company’s villa for Filipino employees. Unfortunately, for 5 long years too, I kept missing the crowd that I have back home, and I thank the technology we have now that we can easily access making video calls in order to eliminate homesickness. Though, I believe that we have friends around us to keep us company, still nothing can suffice the company with one’s family.

Therefore, I still adhere to the thought that living with family is more advantageous to the society; psychologically it uplifts spirits and improves our social well being.

Photo from Pixabay

P.S. Just tonight I was skimming over some essays I wrote when I reviewed for the IELTS test few months ago and the one you’ve read up was one of them. I published it here because I was reminded of @bbyblacksheep article about Comfort Zone.

In a personal note, for Filipinos, I know we are so much inclined in working abroad for better opportunities, thus it seems living alone in a foreign land is just a common segment of our lives. So, I think it is always best to spend every moment with your family now that you’re with them so when the time comes that you have to leave and work from afar, you can always look back on the time and moments you have invested with them in the past.

Leaving our comfort zone can be sad really, but we can set our mind for better chances to grow and other helpful/ brighter perspective in order to make leaving less painful.

Photo from Pixabay

"Everybody has to leave, everybody has to leave their home and come back so they can love it again for all new reasons."

Donald Miller

Photo from Pixabay

Photos from Pixabay are FREE TO USE images

Photo below is MINE


Write your world and earn BItcoin Cash! SCROLL UP AND SIGN UP FOR FREE!

#LivingAlone #LeavingHome #ComfortZone

8
$ 2.80
$ 2.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 4
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

You came to Middle East from Phillipines dear-You are brave woman.I was leaving my home,when I was 23 years old,but I did not live alone,otherwise with my husband.I would never go living in other country.I like my country very much,and we are living here comfortable life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. The blessing of friends, family and faith pulled me through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay nakasulat na d ay ka about ani.. i am still writing mine.hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu heheh! Nag una ni ayha tong drama nko sa noise 😅 tag me ha.. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu sis sure!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So relatable, doctora. I worked as a tutor overseas too. Pay was good but I was not happy. I ended back going back home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gosh! There's just 1 person who kept calling me doctora hahah! Glad to see you here madam ganda! Uu nga malungkot malayo talaga, at least we learned from those experience and our world became bigger because of it. Just the brighter perspective 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bulaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. 🥰 pero ewan ko bakit ako nalungkot sa article mo. Nateary eyed man ako.

Nakapagwork ka na pala abroad. Naalala ko yung sister ng friend ko nung first time magRiyadh pero andon pa din siya ngayon. Araw-araw video call with the family lalo sobrang close niya sa parents. Ewan ko lang if araw-araw pa din ngayon lalo nakapag-asawa at kapapanganak pa lang niya. 5 years or more na din ata siya doon. Ako feeling ko kami ng nanay ko siguro everyday video call din tapos pahapyaw lang tatay ko. Hahaha. Kasi nung nasa Zamboanga ako noon ayaw pa ako kausapi ng tatay kp sa video call. 🤣 pero lagi naman kami magkatext nun. Update ko siya saan kami papasyal nun. Less than a month lang ako nun pero gustong gusto ko na talaga umuwi nun. Kasama ko relatives ko pero iba pa rin talaga kapag family mo. Kaya gusto ko kung may ganun na mahabang bakasyon eh kasama ko parents ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu mahirap malayo talaga lalo na sa 1st month jan ang homesickness lumalabas, tatagan lang ng loob talaga kc pag nalampasan mo mga 1st 2 months masasanay ka na rin. Palagi ako ganyan kc nung nag abroad ako yearly ung bakasyon namin kaya yearly din ako ma homesick talaga mga 1st 3 weeks pag back to work nalulungkot ako hindi nmn sinasadya pero kusa talaga sumasakit loob mo na parang iiyak ka nlng sa lungkot. Kya ung mga pinoy na kasamahan ko ayaw umuwi palagi ng pinas, parang ako lang yearly uwian eh. Ung iba pina convert to cash ung paid leave namin dahil na rin sa homesickness, lumalabas sya usually mga 1st

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iyakin pa naman ako. Hahaha. Tapang tapangan pero iyakin. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago