Sorry, I'm not a fortune teller

20 60
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

A few days ago, I and my friend visited a small village in the province of North Sumatra. There we met Susan, she is a friend of my friend. While at Susan's house, Susan's parents asked me about my college and major. I told them I was majoring in psychology. His cousin Susan immediately said with an enthusiastic tone, "Wow, great, you can predict, can't you read other people's minds?" the cousin said.

I was immediately speechless and amazed. How can they think that a psychology student like me is considered a fortune-teller? It turns out that there are still many people who are mistaken with psychologists or students majoring in psychology. In fact, I was in college studying about a person's soul and behavior, not learning fortune-telling. Studying psychology takes a process to conclude about the phenomena that occur in a person's personality. Not with cards or spells. Aspiring psychologists like me continue to train my skills so that I can accurately infer a person's personality.

So, for those of you who are still mistaken and think that psychologists are fortune tellers or shamans, I will explain what the duties of a psychologist are in this article. First, psychologists can explain how and why a person's behavior can occur. From the visible indications, the psychologist explains the descriptive results.

Second, psychologists must be able to describe the events and behaviors that occur in a person's problem. This is done by observing and interviewing, sometimes reading journals or from related sources.

Third, a psychologist can predict a person's behavior using observation, interviews, or psychological tests to produce the right prognosis and prediction.

Fourth, psychologists can control deviant behavior into better (expected) behavior. This is done using prevention, assessment, to treatment. Depends on the patient's needs.

Such is the explanation of the job of a psychologist. So, for those of you who are still confused with a psychologist or aspiring psychologist like me, don't ever ask to predict or guess your personality, let alone ask for match predictions or lottery numbers that will come out today. I can not.

The lead image source by Unsplash

10
$ 5.31
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ahmadmanga
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of Luna1999
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Comments

I liked reading this... I like reading about psychology, especially about personality and feelings, (not too deep into behaviors,) and this field fascinates me and makes me afraid at the same time.

Afraid because you can tell a lot about a person with their subtle behavior, it makes me afraid of the signals I subconsciously project that doctors and those who studied psychology can pick up on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

why do you need to be scared. a person's personality is a natural trait

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't need to, it's an irrational fear/discomfort, but I know it's not a problem. It just makes me self-concious with what I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was little I also used to think the same and for the same reason once I decided to become psychologist haahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you think that psychologists are fortune tellers or shamans? LOL! XD that sounds funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when I was little hahaah sooo little

$ 0.00
2 years ago

an interesting story. I also studied psychology and worked in Sumatra, Jambi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good. So, are you still a student or have you graduated as a psychologist?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

have graduated, have worked and have retired

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still living my education

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good luck and success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this very important piece I think I can now discern the terms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, now you know the difference. Thanks for dropping by and reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wanted to become a psychologist before. I find it cool, studying the behavior of a person. People might have thought you were studying at Hogwarts majoring in fortune-telling under the supervision of Professor Trelawney. Hahaha! But seriously, I hope people will be enlightened someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's correct. In some places, especially in urban areas, they still understand the science of psychology and the task of psychologists. But in some small villages there are still many misunderstandings about psychologists.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's interesting, but I do understand why they think that way psychologist do understand the human mind in some ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even so, what psychologists do can be explained logically. In contrast to fortune tellers or shamans who explain unreasonably.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Explaining it logically might feel like magic to those unaware! It's more impactful than hearing words you don't understand, a logic that can be followed by anyone is dangerous to the some of the village-type-mindset people.


EDIT: Removed the generalization is my statement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, but not all like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, I shouldn't have generalized.~

$ 0.00
2 years ago