Petite Fleur

4 27
Avatar for Luis13.sax
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Writer, History, Art, Work, ...

Hello to all the people who are in read.cash., My best wishes to all.

Today, one of the many memories of my work as a saxophonist comes to my mind. A colleague asked me to attend to some clients who requested a saxophonist to accompany the reception of a baptism, since he was busy at that time.

I gladly accepted the proposal and all I had to do was to wait for the day of the event and go as agreed.

Of course, I was reviewing my repertoire in advance, for that cases many pleasant themes are used to welcome the guests, and then liven up the meal, in this case it was a lunch.

The long awaited day arrived. After getting ready, I left the house with my tenor saxophone and went to the restaurant where the meeting would take place, after having celebrated the baptism in the local church.

At that time, it was 12:00 when I arrived at the restaurant, I introduced myself to a lady who told me: "that's the person in charge of the event".

With her best attention, the manager greeted me and told me very clearly: "the guests have not arrived yet, I am sure they won't be long, make yourself comfortable and wait, please".

Without any problem I placed myself in the best space to play my tenor saxophone. I set up my things and once I was completely ready, I waited for the guests to arrive.

To be ready, I played a few notes on my saxophone, tuned and tested the sound so that the volume would be pleasant to people once everyone was in the room.

A waiter served me and offered me something to drink. I told him that a soft drink would be fine for the moment.

After a while, about 1:30pm, some people began to arrive and with them some children running from one side to another of the room, luckily, did not get too close to the corner where I had installed my stuff.

I was always on the lookout, as children are very curious and both instruments and sound equipment are very delicate.

In barely another 15 minutes, the room was almost full and I began to play.

In this part of my story, I want to express very sincerely that when you are playing at an event, it is possible that at first the guests do not pay attention to you, that is, they are greeting people who had not seen for a long time, they are introducing themselves, perhaps, they are busy to locate something to drink, in short.

Well, it doesn't always happen the same way, but experience tells you that in a few minutes you are already attracting the attention of all or most of the people present.

Pausing briefly, the guests have taken their glasses and toast to the little one who has just been baptized. Then I continue playing to complete my first set, which was about 50 minutes long.

I remember very clearly that this time was spent between appetizers, cocktails and some stronger drinks for those who could have a scotch or a good champagne.

As I played one song after another, I noticed three ladies who found my repertoire very pleasing.

At the end of the set, they came up to me and with a sad tone said: "Oh sir, have you finished playing". To which I replied: "No!, I'm just going to take a break and then I'll be playing saxophone for you again at lunch time".

How nice! What wonderful news!" those ladies expressed with great joy, while insisting, "You play the saxophone very well!"

"I'm glad you like it" I answered them very humbly.

Lunch time came and they began to serve the food.

"Come on then," I said to myself, I get the second set.

It is in this part of the event that I offer the guests an exquisite repertoire of classics such as "Hojas muertas", "Bésame mucho", "Casas Blancas", "Misty", among others.

Then it happened...

I started to play "Petite Fleur", and as I was playing the saxophone, I noticed that one of the three ladies got up from her seat and started walking out of the restaurant, I noticed that the lady was crying as she was leaving, which made me feel worried.

Finishing the set, I approached the two remaining ladies who still seemed very pleased with the songs I had performed.

Without wasting any time I asked them what had happened to the other lady. They answered me that the other lady was their sister and that this song "Petite Fleur" touched her very much, because she used to dance that song with her husband, and that he was sick and she could no longer dance with him.

One of them said "Don't worry, she is very sentimental".

If I had known, I wouldn't play that song there, but since no one knows the future, there's nothing to be done.

If you liked this article I can surely share with you many more. There is a lot to tell in a musician's career, even more so when you are a solo saxophonist.

I leave the invitation open to those who want to be my sponsors, but not before thanking you for such a beautiful gesture.

Sponsors of Luis13.sax
empty
empty
empty

You are much appreciated...

Luis13.sax

Saturday, January 29, 2022

All content is original

The images were taken from the web

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Frankmart
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.03 from @Unity
Avatar for Luis13.sax
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Writer, History, Art, Work, ...

Comments

How do you know which song makes you so sentimental that you go to the extreme of leaving the place. Totally unpredictable, I wish you much success in Read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si.... is really unpredictable, we do not know at what moment a musical chord or the lyrics of a song moves us to such a level that we are able to react in different ways. In reality it is the magic of the music that surely acts in our brains and makes such reactions happen. Once I was playing with some friends a rhythm with a lot of drum beats and one of the people who was dancing went into a trance, at first we felt strange but then we understood that this is able to happen thanks to music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read. You are a talented person, I think saxophone is hard to learn. Am I right? I am a sentimental person as well..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi..... thanks for the compliments. Yes....Really learning to play the saxophone requires a lot of study and a lot of discipline just like most wind instruments. It depends on the effort and frequency of study that we put into learning this wonderful instrument. With respect to the sentimental, to my also happens to me ..... in some moments of the music the sentimental is revealed because the music moves us from the deepest of our feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago