The Unfriending on Facebook & Aftermath of the 2022 Philippine Elections

9 40
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

I just checked on the number of my Facebook friends and thought, hey I don't think anyone unfriended me. πŸ€” This coming from the worst election in the Philippines ever. (Yeah I will call it what it is.)

Actually I did some unfriending before the election season even started. Just thought I'd remove people who randomly added me for reasons they only know. Some for business or in the hopes I will join their networking companies or maybe buy insurance from them. πŸ˜‚

Even if I'm a real estate agent I've never resorted to that. Haha. Anyway before I unfriended those people I of course checked on the things they were sharing on their profile. If they were posting nonsense and non-useful stuff I saw no reason to stay online "friends" with strangers. Thus from 700+ my Meta friends became 600+.

Of course I accidentally unfriended 2 or 4 people I know too (or had worked with) because they either had no identifiable profile picture or they changed their name. Oh well. I couldn't add them back since we don't even communicate at all anyway. Also it's too awkward to let them know I unfriended them, even by mistake. πŸ˜…

And so when the campaign period started I never thought I'd see some of my Facebook friends' political posts. I saw those who shared fake news and idolized the notorious family of thieves/plunderers/human rights violators whose member was running for president. Ugh. I am still disgusted just thinking about it. It's really the worst and dirtiest election ever in our country.

Fast forward to today, I find out the new president has already been sworn to office. Yuck. As mentioned I have never been so ashamed to be a Filipino until the 2022 presidential election results started to show the rigged numbers. And so I changed my profile picture to black while those people who supported the corrupt family changed theirs to red. (Best way to find out who are the supporters of the wrong kind of people. They actually did us a favor. Hahaha.)

Anyway some people posted about others who unfriended or got unfriended because of their political posts. Personally I haven't seen anyone do so. I also have not unfriended anyone who proudly support the despicable family. To think I am a staunch oppositionist to the unworthy current president of the Philippines. Just goes to show politics don't really affect most people that much. (At least now I know who support those people and what they stand for. πŸ™„)

Or it's also possible most of my Facebook friends don't see what I post, have the same thoughts as I do, don't care what I post or also subscribe to the thought that unfriending someone who has opposite beliefs is absurd. I'm not very active on social media as much as I used to. I just post and leave usually unless I see something interesting from the usual people I interact with.

I did unfollow several celebrities though. It is sad to find out those who are supporting the family who abused the country without conscience. Why this terrible thing happened is a mystery but I have come to realize why.


If you are a Christian or a Roman Catholic then you know about the chapter of Revelations in the Bible. As a kid I loved reading about the doom and gloom and cryptic messages in it. Now that I'm older I have come to conclude that Artificial Intelligence is related to the anti-Christ. Also that whatever is happening now is right on track with what we have been told time and again. The evil will once again reign over the Earth in it's last ditch attempt to corrupt humanity before we ascend and become enlightened. (Well at least that is my interpretation of it all.)

Last year I was able to realize something I never thought I'd finally agree with, that we have no free will at all. It is hard to accept but it is true. You can check with the wise men of today and even of yore. The major things in our life have been decided before we were even born. This is why there are things we will never have no matter how hard we try. It is either not the right time or it was never meant to happen at all.

That's also one of the reasons when something happens, or we do something, we suddenly feel a sense of belonging. There are those moments in life that have come to me where I felt, oh this is where (or what) I'm meant to be (or do). Like the university I went to college years ago. As soon as I stepped inside it I knew it was the one. No questions asked. How can you question something that feels really good for no reason, right?

This year a new realization came upon me. It was only last month or one of this month's Sunday sermon that something finally clicked. Checks on the online post I made. Okay so it was May 18 that I finally thought of this.

The gist of it is, I realized what's happening is what we can call "God's will". Or it may be what others call predestined events or whatever. We can't stop it. Not really. We can pray that God will hear our prayers but I don't think anything can change at this point. I have lost hope. The last straw is the current president becoming the head of the nation. Good Lord, have mercy on the Philippines.

All we can do now is to take refuge in the thought that this too shall pass. We must be ready until the time comes. Many people will suffer from what we do to our planet and to each other. Some aliens may be the culprit or perhaps just the devils in our midst. (Then again there are those who believe demons are only doing their jobs, and that's a topic for another day.)

God's time is long, the Revelations timeline is not as fast as we suppose it is. Perhaps it is a cycle, perhaps not. We will never know until we die. Until then how will we live when the world is slowly crumbling down? How can we continue when we see our world plunging into darkness?

Have you seen the Hollywood movie Don't Look Up? I just watched it during the weekend and boy it is so spot on. That's almost exactly what's happening to us and our planet.

Okay, maybe this is getting depressing but such is life. πŸ˜… I don't get as angry as I used to anymore now that I know what's going on. As I grow older, I also don't feel like expending too much energy on wasteful/useless activities. Like the meme where it says, anything the other person says is right even if it's wrong. 🀣

Of course if it's clearly a lie or someone doing something morally/ethically wrong then I will call them out or say it. Otherwise if it doesn't affect/concern me and anyone in my life then meh. Ktnxbye.

And with that I will just continue to disregard the fake news and disgusting things I cannot escape from seeing online. It might occasionally make me angry or sad but not that much anymore. It's up to us to do what is right and let God do the rest.

I have fought the good fight and yet nothing happened so it's out of my hands. No I am not giving up though. Let's just say the battle is not in my hands anymore. Prayer is a powerful tool so this time I will just use it.

How about you? How many online friends have you lost because of the May 9 election (or whichever election happened in your country)?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All photos are from Pixabay except the Bible pic from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

6
$ 8.89
$ 8.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

Comments

Let's be clear about one thing: at this point that person who supposedly won the elections has only been proclaimed. He has yet to be sworn into office. That will happen at noon of June 30. So, he is only the president-elect, and not yet the sitting president. As much as I have no love lost for the outgoing leader, I can live with him still as the leader and do not look forward to June 30 at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I sure hope someone else becomes president elect.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here. You may want to read Ambeth Ocampo's column in the Inquirer today. T'was quite interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the thing with prayer is not that God answers it with a yes but that our hearts become aligned to His will. Whatever is happening today is indeed part of the big picture.. He is sovereign and He is not surprised with the turn of events in our country or even the world. We pray that God would give us the peace and the security despite what's happening. Jesus is our only hope. Whatever happens in the world, as long as we are secured in His hands, we won't be shaken.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you for this word sis. While reading this article it makes me stop and think about myself am i progressing? I feel sad and bothered on that things but I keep considering God's will. Puhon matuman ra ang tanan plano ni God para nkoπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
1 year ago

his word sis. While reading this article it makes me stop and think about myself am i progressing? I feel sad and bothered on that things but I keep considering God's will. Puhon matuman ra ang tanan plano ni God para

amen sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen, so true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you lucy for this wordsπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome. Let's pray for world peace. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago