Part 2: What Else to Do to Become Fluent in Spanish Very Soon

0 37
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago (Last updated: 11 months ago)

So you've read the first part and what I have started to do to learn a foreign language. Now I'll share more of the next steps I plan to take to be fluent in Spanish soon!!!

(If you haven't read the first part thenΒ do soΒ here.)




3. Master Spanish Grammar

So once some form of mastery have been achieved in the first two I should focus on using the correct grammar next. When we know enough of those we can finally deal with this part! Ah yes, I think we can say it's already the intermediate level? Hahaha.

Of course right now I still feel like a beginner. Yes I do various/random online intermediate quizzes and such but I should really stick to my level. πŸ˜… I'm still working on mastering verbs, gotta focus on that before I move on to this.

Right now I still cannot construct correct sentences on my own because of my verbs problem. No I don't even do any kind of intense/focused written exercises and such. Am just being chill but I need to learn faster so I shouldn't be too lax about this...

And the pronouns + adjectives, oh dear Lord... I still have a lot to learn! 😱




4. Reading and Listening Comprehension

Now because I want to learn fast but am not doing the work, I still watch Spanish shows with English subtitles. Sometimes I even watch/listen to Spanish news of different countries to see if I can understand what they're saying.

Do I understand everything without subs? Nope. πŸ˜… If it's simple sentences yes I would know what they're talking about. However I still have too many words I don't know. πŸ˜‚

Despite that, I sometimes practice through the available online videos I subscribed to. At least I am able to do short exercises but I always feel like I don't know enough. πŸ˜… My goodness my mind seems to have a very high standard which I can't keep up with. πŸ˜‚

Listening to and watching videos help my ears get used to the language. When it comes to reading, ah that's another challenge. I need to buy a book that I can physically read. The problem is I don't really like reading books anymore. 🀭

Anyway, I learned correct English grammar because of all the books I read as a kid. So in school I can say I did better in the language classes because I was a voracious reader. Of course the combination of classroom education and reading is the best!

After college my reading habit started to dwindle. Maybe I just didn't have the time or I already had easier access to computers and the online world. Eventually I was just buying a few books from time to time.

Ever heard of the Japanese termΒ tsundoku? I had that for a decade until I just started giving away or selling most of my book collection! Hahaha.

Unfortunately it looks like I have to start reading again. πŸ˜† I have to buy Spanish books now or else! πŸ˜… No I can't spend all my time in libraries come on. Of course I can read articles and ebooks online but reading actual / physical books is still the best for me!



5. Speaking the Language

Ah now we come to the last part of my plan... I know we have to develop reading, listening and speaking skills simultaneously but I've never been the talkative type. Even at the advanced English fluency level I had as a student, my speaking/oral communication skills were almost pathetic. πŸ˜‚

But of course all that changed when I worked in a call center. Finally I could practice speaking English the way I would fluently think and read. Eventually I could easily talk to Americans with no problem. So of course this is also what I will do last to improve my speaking skills.

I have three choices... or maybe I can do these consecutively... πŸ€”

  1. Find online Spanish teachers to talk to.

  2. Work as a bilingual agent in the BPO industry.

  3. Community immersion in Zamboanga first then Spanish speaking countries next.


I think 2 and 3 are interchangeable... Guess which one is the most expensive? 🀭

Sometimes I try reading Spanish tongue twisters out loud as an exercise. I also read sentences aloud for starters. Of course at times I also imitate the way the language teachers speak whenever I watch and/or listen to lessons. And that's the extent of my speaking ability. πŸ˜› I get tongue-tied when I try to read and speak fast like the natives do. Oh boy I'm a long way to that.

I haven't even started thinking in this new language yet. At times I attempt to construct sentences in my head but eventually I end up using online translators. I am not confident enough because of verb tenses and my limited vocabulary. πŸ˜› So many Spanish words to learn! πŸ˜…


The Road to Spanish Fluency...

After writing all the steps I will take, I realize I am really not gonna learn as fast as I'd like to. Perhaps it would take me a year to really be fluent in Spanish huh? Who knows? πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

Now having this outlined learning system should help me become fluent in Spanish right? I think I might do better from now on. OR NOT if I still go about it the way I started.

On the other hand, I will really buy some printed materials to make my life easier. πŸ˜‚ Stay tuned for my next post: all about searching for Spanish books in Metro Manila! πŸ˜‰

XOXO,
@LucyStephanie


* * *

All photos are from Pixabay.

Related article:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Click here to join usΒ in earning BCH! Or let's microblog/blabber onΒ Noise app!

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago (Last updated: 11 months ago)

Comments