My Favorite Childhood Games

22 38
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Hello guys how are you doing? Hope today is going fine for you? Please be careful in this period of busy roads. I got in two bike accidents in the last week, and I'm lucky to be alive I hope you guys are way more careful because I care about you.

Today I bring a list of games I loved from childhood. Some of them, I still play, others, I don't. I know most of you won't know a lot of them as done of them are java games played on simbian and Nokia phones in the good old days. Let's get to it.

1 Chess

It stayed with me till now, and that's why it's at the top. My uncle taught me the basic rules when I was young and he gave me a few tips. He wasn't a very good player himself as I found when I grew older and he couldn't even win a single game against me. But his tips no matter how basic were useful and still valid today nonetheless...

First he said to always keep my pieces protected. This was useful in the openings. For example if I'm white and I play 1e4 and my opponent replies with 1e5 and I play 2k3 and my opponent replies with 2kf6, he can't take e4 because of k×e4. So this is a valuable lesson if followed at every possible time. Growing old though, I've found that is okay to leave pieces hanging as long as there's no threat to them. For example 1e4e5 2kf3kc5 is a valid opening that is also very solid. Though e5 is hanging in that nothing is protecting it, if it gets attacked you can protect with kc3 as before or even d3. I won't advise d3 though except the bishop is already on c4.

Second thing I remember he told me was to always try to figure what your opponent was doing with each move. So if 1e4 and my opponent responds with kf5, then I should not just play d4 off hand because I want the centre control or something like that. I should try to figure out why my opponent appears to be letting me have what I want. It doesn't take a lot of skill to know kf5 attacks e4. So the best nice to punish kf5 is to push e5 stalking the knight and taking more space in the centre. In your next few moves if you get bishop c5 and d4, you're happy from the opening.

Growing up, I mean more recently, I've learnt more chess principles for example, a knight at the rim is dim.

If 1e4e5 2ka3 is a very terrible move. In the previous examples, kf3 and kc3 were good moves because the knight controlled more squares, but at a3, it controls only four squares two of which are in your own half of the board. If you compare that knight to an outpost knight on say e5, then you feel like just giving your house and all your possessions to ka3 just to make it happy!

Also,I learnt to take the open files and the half open files with my rook. I won't want to go into details here because too many moves and you won't be able to follow me except you're a fire rated player... But if for example, there's a trade on the c file, then that's simply where you want your room rook before your opponent gets the chance to control that square.

Chess is an interesting game with a whole culture of is own. It is considered stylish for example to take gambits. So if you want to impress a female chess player, accept a gambit (a gambit is a gift of a piece that improves your opponent in a way that isn't always obvious), and still wipe the floor with your opponent. Also giving gambits is considered pretty cool. So if you sacrifice a queen and mate the opponent's king, you could get a chess girl crushing on you instantly!!! Then, there are several funny concepts like when the queen mates the king herself, then it's called the kiss of death. When there's a fork in which the king and queen are involved, it's called a Royal fork. If the king, queen, and other pieces are involved, then we have a family fork, and usually, it takes a knight to deliver these kinds of deadly forks. If there's a lot of knight movement, we say the players are horsing around.

This is definitely the coolest board game ever. I love chess and at m everything about it. It has its own personality and style. And there's chess drama all the time. Just ask those in the chess world. If you can, you should get in it yourself.

Thanks for reading guys. You're awesome. Much love.

14
$ 3.09
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @ewyr
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 7
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Wow.... how I wish I could play chess. I had the opportunity to learn it but didn't because I felt it wasn't needed. But I once saw a chess video and knew I had missed a great opportunity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend Ada. I know you must have had a good reason for not learning to play then, but opportunities would always come again... Maybe when you're more settled, you could take time to learn... If there's anyway I can help then, I would be happy to... You're awesome friend Ada... I can tell because you now see that the chance to learn chess is a great opportunity...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Never played a chess dear. But i hear about it before. Will you teach me. After hearing from you, additional interest was created in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!!! I'll be honored to!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chess is hard for me 😅. I don't understand it and I don't know how to play it. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... Aww... I wish you'd learn it... When you do, you find that it's fun... But even without learning very deeply, you may just know enough to understand what's happening in the chess world too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never played a chess before. I really don't know how it is played. My hubby once taught me about it but still I can't comprehend to what he taught me, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... Maybe he's so advanced that he can't teach the basics well again... It is kind of complex so I understand... But I really wish you'd learn it... It's fun... (:

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's really complex but I do hope soon I will learn about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine favorite childhood game was actually checkers but growing up I switched to chess because it was more advanced and I fell in love with it. Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... Nice to meet you too... Do you play chess online????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Played it lot in school days. Now have less time for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool!!!! Did you ever play online!!!???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always loved chess. Even when I couldn't play, I enjoyed watching others who did. I hope to keep learning and be good at it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyone who lives chess is cool in my book!!! You're awesome... Keep at it and you'll definitely get better!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved chess.. this was actually one of most memorable things I share with my dad who passed away in 2016.. he was the one who taught me basics of chess and I got good at it.. I miss him every time I see a board.. I also loved carroms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... sorry about your dad... When last did you play???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always loved chess, but I never learned, while my father and brother were professional chess players, and won many competitions. Thanks to your uncle for teaching you good tips. I fell in love with Queen's gambit movie, you must have seen it, it's amazing...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard of queen's gambit... There was a lawsuit against the movie by a famous chess player called Nona Gaprindashvilli... Did you hear about that???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, I hadn't heard of this complaint...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She sued netflix because the main character's main achievement was based entirely on her life and they still made her look trivial in in movie...lol... It was a huge lawsuit in the chess world... You can check it out...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, so she was absolutely right, I will definitely read the story, thank you my friend... 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago