Just a biko on my birthday: a request that will never ever granted again :(

16 61
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

Its 3rd day of July today and July is my birthmonth. My birthday is coming very soon.

Back then when the month July was coming, i felt very excited as this is my birthmonth. I already think of what will going to happen when my birthday come. I don't want to have a big celebration just a simple gathering together with my family and few friends.

Maybe you are being curious about my title. I know most of you know what biko is.

It is made of sticky rice with coconut milk and sugar.

It is a type of filipino rice cake dessert

See my lead image that is the actual photo of biko that made during my past birthday.

Every July 14, i always looking forward to this one. I dont mind if i dont have much foods in my birthday as long as theres a biko im happy already.

Actual photo of my birthday's celebration. Sorry the biko is still covered maybe i forgot to open it XD.

As you can see its a simple birthday, i didn't have much foods because thats what i want. I dont want my parents to spend more of their money to my birthday. Im happy with these as long as theres a biko as what im always saying :)

But im thankful to them they dont let me not to blow a candle on my birthday, they really buy me a cake. It was a surprise to me because cake is expensive but they still managed to but me one. Im crying.

I wonder youre asking why biko? Why not shanghai, this one is so popular during any celebrations right? This is a target of the visitors.

Well to answer you, biko is really special to me because the one who always make a biko during my birthday is my mother. I love the taste of her biko. The sweetness of it. I always requested biko to her when my birthday come even if i watched her preparing it i still dont get the perfect taste of it just like what she made.

My mother's biko is the best for me. And my friends who tasted her biko was saying that they love it because it has a perfect taste. Im happy upon hearing those words because even them, they appreciate the biko of my mother. I know she's happy too.

Preparing biko was not an easy task. Why? Because you need to focus well in stirring the coconut milk together with the sugar for it not to overflow in the frying pan. I also helped my mother in preparing for me to learn.

Why i say that it will not granted again?

As you have read my article, upon reading my title you will able to know why. And to all who didn't read it yet. I'll tell you the reason.

A request that i know will never ever granted for my birthday is having a biko in our table. My mother can't prepare biko for my upcoming birthday because she left us already 2 years ago.

This is my third birthday without her.

Third birthday without biko

Third birthday without my mom greeted me happy birthday

Third birthday that i wish i have a biko like what my mother always prepared for me

I'm not excited anymore for my birthday. My father is away and he doesn't sure if he will able to go home because he has a work that day since it is Wednesday and his day off is Sunday which he sometimes escaped on his barracks just to visit us. I only have my 2 siblings here which do not know how to cook since they are still a kid. One is 11 years old and the other is 15 years old. My stepsister will go back to our province this July 10, that is one of the reason also why i don't feel excited anymore.

Thinking of it makes me feel sad. But thanks to my partner he doesn't want me to spend my birthday like usual day. He said he's willing to absent to his work that day just to prepare me some foods which i firmly disagree, also im thinking about the expenses when we are going to prepare foods. And last, maybe i don't have a visitor that day because it still pandemic and my friends have their own busy lives. I don't think they remembered my birthday. Hope atleast just a simple greetings from them makes me happy already.

-loveleng18

Sorry if you noticed that some of my works contains a sad story, but thats what my life is thats what a reality for me.

Im thankful to @Read.Cash@Read.Cash i will able to tell my story here without judgement or criticism. I feel like i have freedom here.

Sponsors of Loveleng18
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to my sponsors always :) and to all the readers of my works.

Lovelots to all!

7
$ 0.31
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 4
Sponsors of Loveleng18
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

Comments

Na miss ko 'yong biko ng Mama mo bhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang nakakamiss ang hirap lang magawa ng kagaya kay mama 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Came here after your comment. I'm sorry to hear about the status of your family. I hope mom finds her way back home so you can be reunited again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dont think theres a way for my mom to came back again but i know shes always there to guide me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She'll always be there. For sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance to you🥳🥳🥳. And may your mum's soul continue to rest in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankyou :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rin noon excited kada bdayko ngayon hindi na, pero alam mo wag ka sad hah? kung andito kalang kahit pagcelebrate natin yan with milktea kaso wala e. Laban lang, di nyo man kaya yung taste ng biko like your mother andyan naman sya sa tabi mo para hilinging nasamabuti ka. your mother loves u, i love you also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe po yung words nyo sobrang natouch po ko im teary eyed now. Thankyou for making me feel better today. Thankyou din po kase willing kayo magpamilktea hehe kaso di pa ko naka tikim nyan shake shake lang po ako mas mura. Thanks for the love po. May God continue to bless you po :) youre such a good person even if we dont know each other personally youre still kind to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa bday mo dapat wag kang malungkot, once a year lang yan. kahit na di mo mapantayan taste ng biko ng mother mo andyan naman yung love na iniwan nya sayo to keep you motivated, wala sya sa tabi mo pero binabantayan kanya. for sure gusto rin nimader mo na maging masaya ka sa bday mo, di nyaman ginustong mawala ng maaga, kaso god's will talaga. stay strong hah? wa na wag kang malulungkot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankyou so much po :) your words means a lot to me. Salamt po ng marami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know exactly how you feel. I am sorry about your mother, you know I read your articles. Both my parents died 11 years ago, my mother actually passed away six months after my father of a broken heart. Their birthday are 23 and 24 June so last week. I miss her pork mushroom and rice dish that I can't make as good. So I know exactly how you are feeling. Big hugs and she will be watching you on July 14th, just like she does every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that. Atleast we know now that they are in a good hand already. When my moms birthday is coming which is jan 26 my father tried to make biko because thats also her favorite, too sad were not able to achieve the same taste as my mother did. Thanks to your message it means so much to me. I know she always guide me from above. You too im sure your parents are happy whike watching you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well keep trying to make biko, it might not taste as good as your mom's but you will be thinking of her when making it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i will thankyou :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago