Ways on how to defeat overthinking

1 10
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

One of the things that keep a person awake late at night has many possible reasons, but the most common one is because of overthinking. It's when you're physically tired and drained the whole day but when you're already lying in bed, your mind won't stop wandering.

There are a lot of things that might keep you awake at night which leaves you exhausted when you wake up early in the morning. It might be your family, studies, career, relationship, needs, wants, finances, future and a lot more reasons which leads you into drowning on your own thoughts even if you don't intend to.

Each person might have experienced this. It might be visible to some but most of the times people tend to hide it by bottling up everything which often leads to mental health issues. Those are the type of people who laugh a lot, cares for others too much and they never open up thinking that what others are going though is much worse than what he's experiencing at the moment.

As the study states that there is only a strand of hair which differs a normal person from a person who is emotionally unstable as they always tend to have a better outward appearance wherein no one can even notice what that person is actually going through. The more you try to ask them about it, the more that they shut themselves away from piercing stares and questioning looks. They hide it all too well that no one can even think that there is something wrong going on with them.

No one is safe from overthinking. Anyone can experience it. Even I, myself, experiences it and what I'm sharing with you right now are my own thoughts and ways on how I deal with my overthinking.

WAYS ON HOW TO DEFEAT OVERTHINKING

  1. Jot it down.

Have a pen and a paper. This might not be everyone's cup of tea but as for me, it's effective. I love writing. I have different pens and Notebooks for different reasons. When my mind is a mess I clean it up by writing it down. Then I categorize it in two ways. The first one, the things that I have control of and the second one are the things which I have no control of. This way, I have the ability to see if what I'm thinking about is worth staying on my mind or not. I get to figure out what to do with the things that I have control of and I get to let go of the things which I have no control of.

  1. Have a 'ME TIME'.

Take some time to do what you want, eat what you like, and just relax. We have different definitions of me time but it's beneficial to have it every now and then. It's a way of recharging and just focusing on yourself as you've been busy taking care of other things that you often neglect that you needed care and love as well. It's important that you pamper yourself.

As for me, I do it by spending some money on the things that I've always longed to have but was never able to have it as I don't have the means to buy it. I wait for SALE and free shipping so I won't feel guilty for buying something for myself. I've always had the thought that it will be a waste if money if I buy something for myself as my family needs it more but with the encouragement of my family as well. They often tell me never to forget myself by trying to help and support them.

  1. One step at a time.

When a bag or any container is filled with too much stuff, it has the tendency to rip, shatter, break or overflow. This is the same as a person's mind which is why there are times when a person can't hold his or her own emotions when she reaches that point when she can no longer take it. She just explodes and left vulnerable for expectators to feast upon. We have to admit that we can't do everything in one day. It's the main reason why there is evening where a person can take a rest and just sleep. If you can't do it today, don't push yourself too far, to the point that you're abusing your own health. You need to slow down, appreciate the things around you and most importantly, breathe. Give yourself a break. Do what you can only do for the day. Do not try to go beyond your limits knowing that you can't.

  1. Release what's on your mind.

There are different ways on how we are able to convey or communicate what's on our minds. It might be by talking to others about it or by writing it down. If you have a friend or a family member whom you share your struggles with, take some time to open up and share it with them. Always remember that you are never alone. You always have someone who is always willing to put aside whatever it is that they're doing just to be with you and listen to your stories no matter how messy your thoughts and emotions are.

As for me it's the latter. I don't like the idea of being an open book to just anyone. I needed to be cautious about what I share and whom I share it with. If you've been reading my articles even before, you'll see how open I've been to what my struggles are and what my feelings are. It's because I know that none of you here personally knows me and I am comfortable just speaking about my struggles through writing. I am able to release what I'm going through with the bonus of having readers who also take some time to comment. Another bonus is the fact that read cash give tips to it's writers.

  1. Pray to God.

Among all the things that I shared with you, the most effective among all those things is a prayer to God. I have the freedom to cry my heart out and even if I can't compose my thoughts well, I know that God understands and he will never judge me for it. After crying, I always fall asleep and wake up with a calmer heart. I know that my problems are not solved but the fact that I was able to share it with others, mean a lot to me.

***

It's okay not to be okay. It's okay to cry, become vulnerable and feel the need to be with just yourself. It's never a sin to take a break and just enjoy yourself. It's not selfishness, it's necessity.

Love_16

September 20, 2021

Love_16

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 1.12
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @ThisisGrace21
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

Comments

I experienced overthinking in the past month and it just indeed few days ago, last Monday, if I am not mistaken. Most of what you mention I tried and I believe praying is the best one. And also deciding to end it, is the best option I had taken I guess. Overthinking started with myself, deep inside me. Therefore I, myself could only end it. Thanks God that I overcome those things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago