Self-love

3 22
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

There are different types of love, but one of the most neglected type of love is self-love. Oftentimes people tend to overlook and forget how important self-love is.

Many people who end up brokenhearted find it difficult to open themselves again and to even see their self worth. They were too blinded to see that the current love they have is no longer healthy and it has already consumed their whole being.

They love others too much which resulted them to forget how to love themselves. They were left with nothing but a broken heart to mend and painful memories to remember.

What is love?

How do I know that what I feel is love?

Why do we love?

Why do we fall for someone who already has someone else?

What did I do wrong for us to end up this way?

Have I not given enough love?

This might have been your question/s which has no answer at the moment or maybe you have found the answer right after removing the blinders on your eyes and allowing yourself to ponder about the wrong things you have done.

You cannot give what you do not have.

If you have dedicated yourself in loving others way too much which made you end up getting hurt, no one can blame you for doing so since it's what you thought right at the moment.

If you can't love yourself, how will you be able to love others?

Love is blind.

It's not the love that is blind, it's the lovers who are.

When someone falls in love, it's not because he chose to fall in love, it started with an attraction. That attraction led to like, then suddenly waking up one day that you have already fallen in love to that person.

You love by giving your all but when the person you love no longer loves you, that's when you'll feel that you have lost the will to do anything. You become way too affected which made you unable to function well.

It's important to always remember that your worth and value can never be measured through other people's standard. It's difficult to please them at all times. You'll just end up exhausted and in pain.

When a child grows, his parents or guardian always tells him to be kind to others. It's part of good moral and it only shows good upbringing. Yes, it's good to be kind to others but no one has ever told you to be kind to yourself.

It's easier to neglect your own feelings, thinking that it's irrelevant when in facet, you are also a human who feels pain. Loving must start within. It starts in you.

What do you do for yourself?

As I go back to my previous experiences even if I have shared this in my previous articles, it still strucks me somehow. I haven't done anything for myself. I don't even take care of myself as much as I do to others.

In my first job, I'm not valued and appreciated. I was known to have a strong and cold personality which makes me look intimidating and boastful.

I was too busy focusing on what needs to be done that I often forget myself. I didn't even enjoy that much. It's pure work. I even need to sleep late, go home an hour after my schedule and now I suffer the consequences.

I lasted in that job since it's what I love doing but the turning point is when my health is at risk. I don't share this to others but I know that something's wrong with me. I have felt it yet I didn't take it seriously.

I did not cry when they threw hurtful words at me but it doesn't mean that it did not affect me or it did not hurt me, because it did. It's as if I haven't done them anything good.

I also came to a point when I no longer want to speak or I do not know the proper words to speak. I remember telling God how tired and pressured I am as well as to how awkward it is to them everyday.

I wasn't able to provide anything for myself. I wasn't able to enjoy as much as I should. Whenever they ask me to eat out, I often say I don't want to or I just go out when they treat me to a meal. One of my workmates even told me to treat myself at least once for working too hard.

I can't tell them that I don't have the luxury to do it. The salary I get isn't even enough to cover all my expenses.

Health is wealth so I treasure it as much as I can. I didn't take care of myself enough which caused me to experience different illnesses now. I'm on constant medication and it's a good thing that all my medical expenses are covered by my current company. I'm just 23 but I have too many physical ailments already.

Self-love is never selfish.

Other people will love you if you love yourself enough. Stop pleasing the people around you. I know that the norm today requires you to be appreciated but no one will really care for you as much as you do.

If ever they don't love you, at least you have yourself. It must start in you.

Self-love is a must.

It's a necessity. You have to live in the fact that you must love yourself enough before you can love others. It's never wrong to think about your own welfare as well.

Never forget that you are important and your feelings matter as much as your life.

Self-love includes self care.

This isn't just about caring for your physical body, this includes your mind and soul. Have a me time where you can just relax and be with yourself.

Care for yourself as much as you care for others. Motivate yourself because no one else is powerful enough to give you encouraging words.

Self-love is acceptance.

Embace who you are. Embrace your flaws. Embrace your strong and weak points. Never try to conceal it. Express yourself in a way that you don't down grade other people.

Be true to who you are forever and always. Start accepting who you are and other things will follow.

Here are a few quotations I have found about self-love.

1. Self Love is Key To Life: "Love yourself first and everything else falls into line. You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world." -Lucille Ball

2. Don't Break Your Own Heart: "Self-love seems so often unrequited." - Anthony Powell

3. The Secret to Happiness: "To fall in love with yourself is the first secret to happiness." -Robert Morely

4. Improve Your Love Skills: "If you aren't good at loving yourself, you will have a difficult time loving anyone, since you'll resent the time and energy you give another person that you aren't even giving to yourself." -Barbara De Angelis

5. Develop the Right Attitude: "Be gentle with yourself, learn to love yourself, to forgive yourself, for only as we have the right attitude toward ourselves can we have the right attitude toward others." -Wilfred Peterson

6. Embracing the Flaws: "If you can learn to love yourself and all the flaws, you can love other people so much better. And that makes you so happy." -Kristin Chenoweth

7. Unconditional Self-Love: "Love yourself unconditionally, just as you love those closest to you despite their faults." -Les Brown

8. Support Your Well-Being: "Love yourself instead of abusing yourself." -Karolina Kurkova

9. Enjoy a Piece of Heaven: "To love yourself right now, just as you are, is to give yourself heaven. Don't wait until you die. If you wait, you die now. If you love, you live now." -Alan Cohen

10. Love More Than Enough: "I don't like myself, I'm crazy about myself." - May West

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.huffpost.com/entry/12-inspiring-quotes-about_b_5381155/amp

Love_16

February 20, 2021

Saturday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 2.36
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.01 from @thepandagirl
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments

It is only when we have learned to love ourselves where we can know how to love others. Hooray for self-love. 🥰😍🤗🥳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! Self love! Love yourself first because how would others learn to love you of you yourself can't accept and love you for who you are. Thanks for sharing this wonderful topic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for taking time to read this ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago