Parenting Advice: Sharing with one another

0 33
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

I am not yet a parent myself but what I'm about to share to you with this article is based on the parenting skills that my parents did to us siblings. As a daughter from a huge family, I can say that the parenting which was exhibited by my parents are effective.

There is no such thing as perfect parenting. There are different parenting tips and advices but none of it is guaranteed effective. It's effectivity is reflected to the children who were under that parenting skills.

Proverbs 22:6 King James Version

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

It's important that as young as the child is, he is already being taught of the things that he should know. One of those important things is sharing.

I did not come from a rich family. We are eight siblings in total and we aren't always as rich as others. One thing that my parents has taught us is sharing. Of course it's important to tell the reason why a person must share. My parents are way too kind and understanding to explain it to us. A child is willful and sometimes hardheaded but patience is what always make it easy for a person to cope with a child's needs.

Why should I share?

~ This question is often asked by young children. It's important to give a concrete answer to their questions so that they will not have to look for answers from others. It's important to clarify things so it will not cause confusion to them.

"You should share because you are not the only child in the family. As you share to them they will also share with you. But if you do not share to them, they will not share to you as well."

This was the explanation that my mom gave me and my siblings which she still gives as the same reason to my nieces and nephews. This shows consistency.

Personal Experience:

I've had a nephew (4 years old) and a niece (9 years old) who lives with us last May 2019 to October 2020 due to both of their parents working. They were from the province and the parenting there was way too different from the parenting that we have here. They were both selfish and doesn't want to share with each other. They only choose to whom they'll share with. My mom teaches them about sharing on a daily basis up until such time that my nephew used that trick to me.

"Grandma said that you should share. It's not good to be selfish. So after you, will I also play on your phone?"

I was startled and had to think for a moment before allowing him to play with my phone. You see, what was taught to a child at such a young age will not be forgotten even as time passes by.

To whom should I share?

~ A child always has many questions running in their mind. Their curiosity is piqued at such a young age. This is the time when they needed guidance and patience the most. If you answer one of their questions, expect them to have a follow-up question after another question. It's part of their learning.

"You should share to your siblings and to your friends. If you've seen someone with nothing to eat then you should also share your food with them."

The people that we should first share are our family members, then our friends and strangers. It's not good to keep the blessings to myself especially if I'm blessed more than enough in order to bless others as well.

Personal Experience:

My nephew and niece has their favorite person in the family and of course that will be my parents. Whenever I came home from work, I always bring them something to eat. We did not train them to ask for money since they don't need it for the time being.

My niece was selfish for she doesn't want to share with others. She only chooses those whom she wants to share with. One time, my nephew asked for a piece of cake from her and she didn't say anything but she scoffed and swatted the hands of my nephew.

"Grandma said that you should share. If you don't others will not share with you as well."

She then looked around and when she saw me she immediately shoved a piece of cake to her brother's mouth. She then apologized for her behavior earlier. When a child is taught right, he or she will do it everytime he's on the position to do it.

When should I share?

~ It's important to give concrete answers to a curious child. The more that answers are vague, the more they get confused, but if the answers are clear and simple, it's easier for them to adapt and apply what you tell them.

"You should share everytime you have the chance to do so. You will never know until when can you share with others."

Sharing is caring. It doesn't matter whether the person you shared with will also share with you. What always matters is doing what is right and good. It's not about always receiving it's about giving without asking anything in return.

Acts 20:35 New International Version

In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”

The more we share with others, the more we are blessed. It's important not to do things out of obligation but to do it out of love and genuine concern.

Personal Experience:

I grew up witnessing the kindness of my parents. They always share whenever they have the chance to do so. Be it food, money, shelter, and so much more.

My parents took in some relatives who has nowhere to stay. When I was in elementary, my mom took in a 21 year old girl who is a complete stranger to us. She has nowhere to go because she escaped from her employer who was abusive. My mom took her in even though our house is small. She stayed with us for a few months and when my mom already has money to send her back to her family, she immediately left our home.

The most recent is today, when someone knocked on our door to ask for food or any amount of money. They had experienced fire just before new year which left their homes and everything inside it to be burned down. She gave them our house supplies which are canned goods and a few amount of money.

It has taken a good impact to me and my siblings because it reminds us to be kind to everyone especially to those people in need.

What should I share?

~ You cannot share what you do not have. There are things that must and can be shared while there are also things which cannot be shared.

It's important to clarify the extent of sharing and it's benefits. Yes, sharing has benefits. It's often covered by the mindset that whenever we give to others, we lose something when in fact, we gain more from giving. It's a matter of having a changed perspective.

Share what you can share but don't overshare. The benefit of sharing is having a changed heart and extending kindness to the people who are in need.

Do unto others what you want others to do unto you. If you want others to help you in times of need, help others in their times of need as well. Allow your heart to find joy in helping other people. Just don't expect the same people whom you've helped to help you as well. It's God who will give back all the blessings to you.

Love_16

January 2, 2021

Saturday

8
$ 6.38
$ 6.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Agada
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments