Belittling someone

1 14
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

You're still young, so many things will still happen to you.

You don't have to rush, you will shine when the right time comes.

You can always try.

You still have a long way to go.

You can just do whatever it is that you want. No one's rushing you.

These are the words I've heard from those people who wants to help and comfort me. Sadly, none of these words comforted me enough. I feel so frustrated and disappointed with myself. I've been crying in secret the past few months and the pressure keeps building up inside.

Last Monday, I decided to go and try to mend my job goal. I wanted to know if my application can still be pursued or not. But the lady I inquired with, just laughed at me. I wasn't hurt or anything. I just felt empty and numb. I'm way too strong to go and fret or fight against her. I was just trying to go and make myself sure about my next steps although I already have an idea as to what I can do. I wasn't discouraged or losing hope because I know that this is just a test for me.

This has been an eye opener for me as to how easy it is for someone to laugh to others without even realizing that is actually causing discomfort and emotional turmoil to the other one.

This wasn't the first time I have experienced being laughed at. There was a time when I was asked to go to the hospital to check on a family member. I went to the front desk and asked for the name of the patient. But instead of answering me politely the staff laughed at me for not knowing that the patient has been discharged about four hours ago. I don't think it's something to be laughed about because it's a serious matter but they couldn't care less about how I will feel. I had been constantly worried to that family member and yet they just laughed at me for asking about it.

I guess that's how the world is for those who don't have enough money, power or influence. They think lesser of you and they just easily laugh at your queries.

This is unacceptable. This is the stigma that when a person is in uniform or has a higher rank he will be respected even more. This must be broken for the next generation to see the value of every single one of us.

No matter what race, what degree, what gender or how powerful and influential someone is, there must be no higher or lower kind of person. We all live in the same world and not because you think so highly of yourself you are given a license to belittle anyone. We are all equals. We should never think of others lesser just because we feel like we are far better than them. We should never treat others based on what we can gain form them.

We have to teach the younger generation that we are all equals. The degree of respect we give to others must be the degree of respect we want to receive. We must not base it on the job description and the amount of money a person makes.

Not because someone is illiterate or someone does an unprofessional job or he wasn't able to get a degree you will treat him differently. Let us be kind enough to be considerate of the people who also does a decent job and takes time to live accordingly and appropriately.

If we don't teach the younger generation of equality and respect, the future generation is in danger for not being taught of how a person must treat others.

When a person disrespects someone by belittling him and shaming him, he actually exposes himself. He makes himself better by trying to look better with a rotten attitude like that. You become more unprofessional than him.

There's nothing wrong about laughing, but please make sure that when you laugh, it's not because you want to shame someone. You might not see the consequences of your actions today but you'll surely reap what you sow. You will be accountable for every word you have spoken, every idea you have thought about and every action you have committed.

Belittling someone doesn't make you any better. Let us be kind of people who will encourage others that life is worth living and that there are still kind people who doesn't base respect by the attire you wear or the position attached to your name.

The next time you meet a janitor, garbage collector, security guard,or vendor even someone who was just asking a harmless question, give them the same amount and level of respect you want to receive.

Love_16

December 9, 2020

Wednesday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 1.76
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments

We need to be kind with people of all vacations and respect their position in society. Maybe someone of them had difficult condition of living, but still have calm down when somebody has something against them. We need to understand role of forgiveness in all societies and to be united with all levels of society to make warm feelings for us as unit and our families to be good to all people in their town or further.

$ 0.00
3 years ago