Evening walk with my mom; funny experience

5 11
Avatar for Lizwrites
1 year ago

Good morning beautiful souls. Hope you had a great night's rest. Have a wonderful day ahead.

I woke up this morning having no idea about what to write down, then I just decided to write about my experience with my mom yesterday during one of our evening walks.

It has been a long time since I had an evening walk with my mom because she traveled and just came back a few days ago. Having a walk with an African mom can be interesting and tiring at the same time😂. She just told me to accompany her to her friend's place which is just 15 minutes walk from our house. We were set to leave the house by 6:00 pm, so I just ate my dinner before we start our journey🤣

Hmm…..

We left the house by 6:15 pm. On the way, I met one of my old friends who was also a church member. She was heavily pregnant! I think she'll soon be due for delivery. My mom was shocked but she quickly 'cleaned off' the shocked expression from her face. She was shocked because the girl is way younger than my younger sister, I think she was just 15 years old. My mom looked at me with a 'one kain' look but I avoided her gaze even though I knew she was trying to pass some messages through her look. She greeted the girl with a warm smile. With the thought that we would continue our journey immediately, she started having some discussions with the girl; asking her about her parents and all sorts. I was left standing while they were sitting under the pedestrian shed by the roadside, hehe😂. They used up 30 minutes discussing before my mom called on me and waved the girl goodbye. By that time I was already tired😫 and frustrated.

We continued our walk. She initiated a conversation when she noticed my quiet mood. The girl's situation prompted her to start her usual 'morning lectures'. She started with her usual quote "Bad influence ruins good characters". She talked on, even though my mind was far away. My mom was right though. I could remember when the girl was a little bit younger, she was a lovely and decent girl. It all happened when she went to live with her aunt in the city. She became friends with bad 'eggs' and was eventually influenced. She started changing both academically and morally. Later, she was influenced to engage in premarital sex and she got pregnant. Everything was just because of bad influences.

We got to her friend's place a few minutes after seven. A 15 minutes walk had turned into an hour journey🤦‍♀️. At that moment, I was already feeling sleepy so she promised to spend just 20 minutes at her friend's place. After exchanging greetings, they sat down and started having some random discussions. While I was sitting and waiting, I slept off. My mom woke me up when they were done. Alas! The time was 8:00 pm. I nearly burst into tears, just kidding😹. It was at that moment I promised myself not to accompany my mom anywhere again. I had to eat another dinner when we got home. It was such an annoying and funny experience. I know the Africans here can relate😂

Image source: Unsplash

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Royaldiadem
Avatar for Lizwrites
1 year ago

Comments

That's the advantage if there are people can influence us my friend that's why we need to be careful by choosing a person we want to be with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. You're right. It's either you influence people or they influence you. That's why you should move with people who you share similar morals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend true. We must choose those people who will give us a good influence into ourselves and into our lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry ehn😅apart from church service I hardly follow my mum somewhere especially market, she knows almost everyone and will keep greeting them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 I can imagine dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago