The Folly Of Fixing Immediate Problems

2 32
Avatar for Lixten
Written by
1 year ago

In the modern age, we have a tendency to make things happen immediately. We expect instant results, and it's easy to get frustrated when things don't happen overnight. But there's a reason for this: fixing immediate problems is great for short-term gains. It gets things done fast, and it gives you a sense of satisfaction that your problem is solved.

But what happens when you fix an immediate problem? You might get rid of it… but then something else comes along that's just as bad or worse. You can't keep doing this indefinitely, so eventually you'll run out of things to fix. And then? Well, I don't know what happens then… because I'm not sure I want to find out!

So instead of trying to fix every little thing right away, take a step back and look at the big picture.

What are some larger actions that are going to solve your problems in the long run?

It's a common refrain—you know, the one that goes something like "I'm so busy with my day-to-day, I don't have time to think about the big picture."

Or maybe it's "I've got a ton of work to do on my end-of-year report, so I need to focus on that now." Or "I'm doing such a great job at my job, but I don't have time for anything else."

But here's the thing: all of those things are actually wrong.

You see, every day, you're working on your immediate problems. You're trying to get stuff done and make things happen in order to feel like you're making progress towards your goals. But what about the larger picture? What about those long-term goals we all want?

The truth is that if you're not taking time out of your day to think about how your actions relate to larger goals, then those decisions will fall flat eventually.

Think big

In our fast-paced, digital world, it can be hard to slow down and take the time to think about your bigger goals.

But how you approach your long-term goals is just as important as the goals themselves. You want to create a plan that will help you achieve your larger goal, while also helping you stay motivated and on track toward achieving it.

So what should you do?

First, think about what your larger goal is. Maybe it's getting into grad school or buying a house. Maybe it's saving up for retirement or taking a trip around the world. Whatever it is, look at it from all angles—the rewards of achieving this goal are going to be huge!

Next, think about how much time you have left until achieving your larger goals. How much money do you need? What kind of life do you want to live? Once again: think big!

10
$ 1.11
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Alther
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 3
Sponsors of Lixten
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lixten
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It is great to think big . But there is hardly time to think in this present age

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I have a problem, as much as possible I want to solve it because I know if I don't. It will attract more problems.

$ 0.00
1 year ago