Simbang Gabi : A Christmas Tradition

20 63
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Simbang gabi o Misa De Gallo is a traditional way of series mass for Catholics before Christmas day. It started 9 days before December 25, and happened every night, but for now it is usually done by dawn.

It's been many years the last time I completed the 9 days of Simbang Gabi. The sad thing about it is I haven't go for Simbang Gabi this year. I want to, but due to some circumstances, I cannot join the mass.

For today, I gonna share some unforgettable things that we do those past Simbang Gabi. Just have some throwback, atleast I can feel that I was still able to attend.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Crdts : Manila Bulletin

When I was in Primary, my whole family used to go for Simbang gabi. We woke up 3 in the morning to prepare as the mass will start at 4 am. Most of the people who will attend the mass don't do bath as it's dawn and the wind is so cold. But my parents boil some water for us to use while taking a bath, we don't have choice but do take a bath, because according to my father, "you are going to attend a mass, to face God, and you will not make yourself presentable? That's not right".

We only walk, and that's make me excite and scared at the same time. Excited, because we are going to church and pass those houses with Christmas lights, the stars and the moon is so bright and clear, so while walking you can see it. Scared, because I like to watch horror movies when I was a kid, and since it's dawn, dark and quiet, I can imagine the scenario in the horror movie, I need to be strong and pretend that I'm totally fine.

One main reason why I really love Simbang Gabi is; there's a lot of people. The number of people increased triple times, than the usual mass every Sunday. So, if you want to sit inside the church, you need to go there 2 am, if you cannot then you need to bring your own chair as you will attend the mass outside the church; yes, that's how many the people are.

Why there's a lot of people than usual Sunday mass? It's because, aside from we are going to celebrate Jesus's birthday, a very special occasion, it's also a belief that once who have completed the nine days, then your wish will be granted.

Outside the church, we have a big Christmas tree intended for Christmas cards, leaders in church sell Christmas cards and the income will be use for the church renovation.

Crdts : The Pioneer Woman

It only cost ₱5($0.10), but if you don't want to buy then you can make your own card and hang on the tree. As I remember, my parents bought a card, and it's my mom who wrote wishes, since I don't know what she wrote, then I made my own card and put it after the mass.

After the mass, the choir will do a Christmas carol in front, then the money that they collect is use for charity; giving gifts for Christmas to chosen organization.

Actually there's a lot of teens too. I know not all teens are like this, but as I observed they only attend the mass to meet their friends and bf/gf. The reason why I don't want to sit outside the church because I get distracted with their loud voice, imagine the leader is already reading the holy Word of God, then they also have their own topic. One thing, if you're single and looking for someone for Christmas, then for sure you are going to see a lot of beautiful and handsome faces. If you always attend Sunday mass, you will think, "Why I only see him/her now?". Because in reality, most don't attend Sunday mass because they are busy or what excuses it is, while trying to attend the Simbang gabi to enjoy or to grant their wish; but at least right.

Above all, the feeling during Simbang Gabi is really amazing, like everytime you finished a mass, there's a fulfilment and joy that you can feel.

What's more exciting is during the Christmas eve, I mean hours before the Christmas eve. This usually happened 8 pm, so before 12 am everyone was already in their family. This is the most heartwarming feeling of us. One of the best is when the priest utter a prayer, and everyone of us holding each others hand, whether you know that person or not. Imagine how powerful it is.


While writing this, I really miss those days that we whole family complete the mass up to Christmas eve. I do hope, that at least we can attend mass on Christmas eve. I know most of Filipinos already know this, I just want to share my own feelings:)

________________________

Lead image was from Manila Bulletin .

***

Author's Love Message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

6 days to go and it's already Christmas. Salute for those who attended the Simbang Gabi since the day one. I hope that you guys can complete it. Some of us are affected by Typhoon Odette but just keep on praying; everythings will be alright.

GOD Bless. Hugs

Ps. Thank you so much for the early Christmas gift Sis @Bloghound . I wish you a happy and blessed Christmas.

December 19, 2021

-Ling

20
$ 5.28
$ 4.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

So if I complete the nine days, then my wish will be granted. I would definitely do it. Have it work for you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems Simbang gabi is big event in Philippines. From my observation I believe that most of Philippines are Catholics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This amazing. , I don't know that the fillipinoes celebrate Christmas in a super way . Here in nigeria we don't usually celebrate Christmas in a pleasant matter but I will like us to just celebrate in the simbang gabi way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a peaceful religious scenario! Loved this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like this Simbang gabi is a lot of fun. I never heard about it until now. Is it a Catholic thing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate to this sis. Everytime we attend "Simbang Gabi" I didn't took a bath since it was really cold. I only wash my face and change clothes and wait my companions.

When we already at the church. There are a lot of people wearing only their pajamas and jacket then before we go home, there was a free Milo and Coffee with bread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have still a lot things to learn! This world has many more festivals than we know. This is very interesting one. Thanks dear for sharing this with us. Happy Christmas dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkakamiss tlga kasama ang pamilya pg simbang gabi. Sana bumalik na tayo sa dati yung wla tayong iniiwasan dahil sa covid.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga Sis. Yung after sa simba, ang daming bata ang makikita mo. Ngayon bawal pa kasi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nku dito sis nagkalat na mga bta sa labas at wala pang mask. Okay lng sana kung toddlers pa ksi naiintindihan pa ntin na ayw tlga ng mga babies yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really wish these moments will never cease even in this season… it was so joyous to have this experience with you… merry Christmas in advance

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Sir. Advance Merry Christmas too and I wish you more blessings and happiness on that special day:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It must be very fun days filled with thrills and happiness. Such days are not easily forgettable ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True Sis, it's one of my old but gold days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your article sis makes me miss the old days. We also attend Simbang gabi and completed it, I don't have any wishes but I love attending Simbang gabi. But now I can't attend anymore as I don't have any companions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Companion din reason ko Sis, wala kasing pweding masakyan sa amin pag madaling araw, at delikado kung ako lang mag-isa maglakad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May all your dreams come true on such a beautiful day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

By God's will, it will. Thank you Color :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May all your wishes do come true, sis 😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It will Sis. GOD Bless:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago