Ancient Egyptian: Mummification and Building of Pyramid

29 116
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Mummies are the preserved bodies of the dead, which can be created naturally or through religious rituals. Today's article was all about the concept of mummies, specifically on how ancient Egyptians do the process of mummification This is just a supplement to @Mictorrani 's article Mummies and Mummification; if you like this kind of topic then that article is recommended.

Aside from the mummies, let us also discuss the Pyramid, a request of our kind demon @Lucifer01 . I only have few knowledge about pyramid but I'll try my best to share it.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Secrets of the Mummies

I read Harriet Griffey's book 'Secret of the Mummies,' which taught me more about the Egyptian method of preserving a mummy; the most common civilization to practice mummification.

According to the text;

"if a dead person's spirit could recognize it's preserved body, it would live forever in the afterlife...They believed that the priests could help decide a person's fate after death."

-Secret of the Mummies

The word priests(chief priests) above is the one who will lead the ritual. If we based it is operation, he is the doctor. He will put jackal-headed mask to represent Anubis;

Mask of Anubis | Ancient egyptian, Anubis, Ancient egyptian artifacts - Crdts : Pinterest

The Egyptian god of mummification. After washing the body then the embalming process began.

For Egyptians, there are only 4 important organs in the human body. During embalming, they extract and put into different jars which represents different gods;

Canopic Jars: An Integral Part of the Ancient Egyptian - Crdts : Laura Morelli
  • Hapy - baboon god, who guarded the lungs.

  • Duamutef - jackal-headed god, who guarded the stomach.

  • Qebehsenuef - falcon god, who guarded intestines.

  • Imsety - human-like god, who guarded the liver.

If you're wondering what happened to the brain after the process, it was thrown away because Egyptians believed it wasn't important.

After that, they will apply Natron, a natural salt found in the enges of desert lakes, to dry the body. When it's finished, the body will be stored for 40 days. After 40 days, they will apply linen or sand to keep the body in shape, as well as oils and spices to keep the skin from cracking. Finally, the body will be wrapped. It takes 15 days for the bandaging to be completed before the body is placed in a coffin and mummified.

They also have a "Book of the Dead" with 200 spells. They place it inside the coffin in the belief that it will help to a person's journey to the afterlife. Along with this book, there are treasures to help them meet their needs and gain a higher rank in the afterlife.

Pyramid

Unsplash - by Osama Elsayed

Since we've already discussed mummification, let's move on to pyramids, which are believed to have been built for religious proposes of Egyptians. Some conspiracy theories claim that the pyramid was built by aliens, similar to how impossible the position of Stonehenge is; that an ordinary human cannot assemble it.

However, if we base it on those discoveries, pyramids were built by slave workers at the time, much like how the pharaohs in the old testament punished slaves to work.

Because the importance of the afterlife is one of their most important religious beliefs, they built pyramids to serve as tombs and monuments. Earlier pyramids resembled a staircase, and were built to serve as the pharaohs' staircase to the god of the sun.

Inside the pyramid, you can see the Pharaoh's Chambers, as well as treasures and other valuable items. There are also rooms for the Pharaoh's family, and when they die, they will be buried inside the pyramid alongside the Pharaoh's mummified body.

Informations above are based on the books that I read, former lessons that we tackle and my own understanding.

________________________

Lead image was edited using Canva

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your day?

Thanks to Jeansappire39's article which reminds me to vote to our beloved BCH. If you Haven't vote yet, you can click here. Vote wisely!

GODBless!

Sending hugs.

October 13, 2021

-Ling

14
$ 3.53
$ 3.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
+ 7
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The truth is that I don't believe that alien assisted them cause if aliens assisted them they would been a artifacts or drawing about it or proofs of the alien ship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Egyptians always fascinated me! Even when we learned about their culture in primary school. I believe in the conspiracy! How could they build such monumental buildings with such large stones without any machines, with just bare hands and primitive tools is beyond my belief, so I think aliens visited them and helped them build it. :D Yeah, it´s silly to believe in it but as long as it doesn´t hurt anyone, I stand by my opinion. 😁 Another great and interesting article from you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My father also told me that there's a possibility that aliens helped them, but we don't know. Thanks Sis! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is very interesting, did you know that not all mummies in Egypt are real corpses? The researcher Frances Auguste Mariette found in a large underground chamber called "SEPAEUM OF SAQQARA" large false mummies of betum and dry straw inside granite sarcophagi, in honor of the bull Apis God of Egypt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this, gonna know more about this thing. Btw, I think your account have a problem, I prefer you to make another one and follow the guidelines :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pharaoh is the most famous mummy in Egypt. The Tom and Jerry cartoons are in my mind when they are in egypt and lots of mummy was here.

Anyways, I can't use my previous account. This is my new account. My previous account is not in well condition therefore I make new one. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't seen this episode of Tom and Jerry, gonna search it in my vacant.

And I suppose to tell about your new profile, now I got it. Thanks for telling it:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Egypt was so mysterious place even the pyramid is so complicated instructor to make, it also make me thing if the egypt God is real, there mummies preservation was to amazing to think.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They believed in gods and goddesses, one reason why they came up with these ideas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been fascinated by mummies and the underworld. I hope to visit the pyramids soon. We do have our way of mummification in our culture done by our ancestors many years ago but the way the other cultures do it is different.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For sure you can have it:) but even mummies, although they are scary, still I want to see it in personal :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder where they throw the brains and why would they think of them as not important

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di daw maintindihan ng ancient Egyptians anong use ng brain Sis. Guro that time since wala pang school, di nila alam na ang brain ang may control sa buong katawan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I love histories, I find it so interesting studying this topics po ever since na nag aaral pa ko. Mummies, pyramids etc. I really enjoyed reading this ate!! ♡♡♡

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat langging, brief informations lang to for sure marami ka ding alam:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a informative article. I really like this type of articles or stories. I love to read these, by the way from where you got such knowledge. I got impressed by reading your article. Write some more for me too 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like to read books about this topic, luckily we have at home. Then I also watch in yt.

What topics you like to discuss? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice dear, hope to read more from you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even with those mummified bodies, i would still love to go inside the pyramid if I were given a chance 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will too. Grab the chance na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'mm lucky enough because I see personal the pyramid in Egypt .. But the whole story about still I really don't know. Thank some info you shared

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Libre lang ba makita yun Sis, or may entrance fee kasi may namamahala na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko lng sure sis Kasi nakita ko siya sa malayo ng dumaan kame ,pero sobrang laki talaga,PAg mag landing pa nga lng ang eroplano sa Cairo kita na siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great for reading. After reading I suddenly remember the "The mummy"movie.. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Narinig ko na to na movie Sis, horror ba ito ug educational movie?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is super. Thanks for keeping my request. Dear, I am impressed with it. Pyramids & mummified bodies are the key to research about ancient technologies. People connect alien relations with them. Still reading more about it. Thanks mate for the help.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yey! Thanks that you like it. Reading about this topic is fun:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know the about mummification, I believe also that the pyramid was built by the ancient.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, for hundred of years

$ 0.00
2 years ago