Do you still read pocketbooks or you're into Wattpad?

10 22
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone, before I start today's article, let me first give thanks to all my sponsors above. I am not really into writing but somehow, I was inspired to write more because of this generous people. 

Romance pocketbooks

So, was anyone here you was born in the 90's? If you are then somehow familiar with pocketbooks? I was somehow addicted to this way back in high school and college. I really love reading and there are even times I would keep this pocketbook inside my textbooks. My father actually forbids me from reading this romance book. He reasons that I might get married at an early stage because of this. So, I always make sure that he won't catch me reading.

https://www.google.com/search?q=pocketbooks+romance&sxsrf=AOaemvLHjH4ROBoaVp_1MWDcXG93mvVg2g:1637465523788&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjO54G3wqj0AhWdr1YBHd1AD5UQ_AUoAXoECAEQAw&biw=1280&bih=609&dpr=1.5#imgrc=oWTSqwCQDaV_-Mhttps://www.google.com/search?

If you are one of those, who got addicted with this, who is your favorite author then?

Effects of reading pocketbooks.

As I mentioned above, my Father fears that I might marry at an early stage because of those pocketbooks but somehow the effect on me was opposite. I became a hopeless romantic and my idea of a relationship seems like a fairytale. Who wouldn't if what you can always read has a happy ending. An almost perfect guy who falls in love with a poor but beautiful girl. Then fight their relationship against all odds?

To those who had been reading pocketbooks can somehow relate right?

It even came to a point that my love life will be the same as what I had read. Not that a rich man would fall in love with me, but somehow how to treat me.

I decided to stop reading.

When I finished studying I decided to stop reading. I realized that I need to or else I will be stuck in that idea of a relationship. I got busy and the android phone was invented. I was drowning in social media. I spend most of the time on Facebook browsing or chatting with my friends. Sometimes I became a "Maritess " too. If you know what I mean. Then as the years went by, I totally forgot about it.

I discovered Wattpad.

Just last year, when a pandemic hit worldwide and total a lockdown was implemented I got so bored. I was stuck along with my workmates in our staff house. I wasn't able to go home in our province. My mental health was somehow not in a good state. I was trying my best to divert my attention as I am always irritated. Then I saw Wattpad ads on Facebook. I downloaded the app and yes, I was back into reading again. I am no longer in fear that I might be a hopeless romantic again as I think I am mature enough to understand things. Besides, I already found the love of my life.

https://www.google.com/search?q=wattpad&hl=en&sxsrf=AOaemvIG0uJ4jFOljNrE8xgsRqV-Dq2JPg:1637468244747&source=lnms&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwj1_LvIzKj0AhVpp1YBHZxdBPQQ_AUoAHoECAEQAg&biw=1280&bih=609&dpr=1.5

How I read stories in Wattpad.

There are a lot of stories available and you may choose what story to read based on the genre you choose. I am also glad to say that there are a lot of free stories, you just need to watch some ads. Though there are also some paid stories it is much cheaper than other reading apps.

So, how do I choose stories? I am into the romance genre. I would always read the teaser first. If I like the plot of the story then I would go and check the Epilogue. You may find it weird. It is just stories that have already evolved. There are times that have no more happy ending. I understand that writers are just being realistic but I couldn't handle a heartbreak. I would always cry if the main characters didn't end up together. My emotions got easily affected and it took days before I totally forgot. So to save my heart, I go to check the ending . Feels like I had outmatched the writer.

Closing thoughts.

Indeed technology evolves and it seems we are getting fewer papers . Not only in our works as we are now using G-drives in saving our documents but even in this. It was somehow amazing from renting and buying books we can nor purchase online. No need to bring a book, all you need is just your phone. Though for some book lovers I know they still prefer having an actual book rather than a soft copy. Someone said to me that she loves the scent of the book while reading.

How about you?

Thanks for reading.

5
$ 1.79
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 3
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Naku nabuang talaga ako dati sa pocketbooks. I have lots of them before, like isang buong travelling bag. At feeling ko eh ako un bidang girl kapag nagbabasa, hahha.. Unfortunately, sinunog lahat yun ng Papa ko,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to say no hehe. I used to read novels when I was still working then changed into books then now, blogs :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, I dont read novels becaused I got easily hooked. So I might not stop reading until I was done. Plus, novels are expensive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yon lang. Ako pag inantok, tulog agad, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not into these Sis kasi sobrang tamad ko talaga magbasa dati hahha pero I've seen my friends na mahilig nito, at nakatulong sakanila in terms of creating their own stories and English :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe,.medyo mahaba din kasi sis. Pero kapag magaling kasi ang writer nakaka hook din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer the old-school way, sis. Pocketbook pa din :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

PHR pa din Sis? hehe mga Martha Cecelia dati ano? sila nina Helen Meriz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis both, hahaha! I am a pocketbook reader kaya nga ngayon dami kong nakatabi. Sa wattpad I love jonaxx super ganda ng mga love stories nya:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, alam mo ba pangarap ko lng dati Sis magkaroon ng cabinet na puno ng pocketbooks. Iyong pHR. Pinapaiyak kasi ako minsan ni Jonaxx. Haha. Parang ang dami ko pa iluha bago matapos . Try mo read stories in Cecelib. Ganda din

$ 0.01
2 years ago