Quarantine Anniversary: Positive Result Scare and Negative Mind

22 66
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
1 year ago

Date: May 15, 2022 (Sunday)

Photo Credits to Unsplash

"Hello! Is this Leticia Felize S.?"

"Leticia speaking, who's this please?"

"This is John from the contract tracing team. May I know who you keep in touch with personally for the past 15 days?"

...and the rest was history.

I can't seem to grasp how I was able to surpass all the struggles that I have been through on my quarantine days last year. I mean, it was truly unexpected. Of all the surprises that were available in the world that time, embracing that kind of surprise was something that I don't want to receive. I never dreamt of inviting such thing in my life. Howbeit, so ironic how it visited me freely.

If not because of the party that happened in the company before, we will not be able to experience such thing as quarantine, but then I guess everything happens for a reason. With that, I'll just embrace my struggle before and continue to embrace the lesson that I have learned from that experience.

During that time, I was having a cough and colds. I was so prone to getting sick especially that my period was about to start. Just so you know, whenever my period is around the corner I usually get sick. Needless to say, I'm not always getting my period though due to my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), I used to have absent period or prolonged one, but when I do have one, I know the symptoms before it happens.

Now, my heart was pounding that time when the guy named John texted me on the information of our swab schedule the next day.

Photo Credits to Unsplash

Swab Test Day

During the swab test day, I was not at ease knowing that I kept on coughing and my runny nose was making a scene. It was a tough day for me as I kept on silencing my cough. If only I have a silencer to free me from getting judge by the people around.

You see, whenever they will hear you cough or even sniff, they will suspect you as COVID-19 positive in a snap. Whenever I wanted to cough, I'll go to the comfort room real quick and use peeing as an excuse. I could still recall the struggle of controlling the cough then running to the comfort room and so on.

After we got swabbed, the people in the swab testing area told us to get quarantined for the next 14 days. They said that we need to follow or else we will regret. They also said that some people will monitor us from time to time and check our situation.

By the way, we were given a choice to either get quarantined in our house or in another venue in which the company sets. Now, since I don't want to givenl my family a hard time and for them to keep safe while I was still on quarantined, I decided to go for the venue provided.

Photo credits to Unsplash

Quarantine Days

Guess the most crucial days for me during my quarantine was the days before the result of the swab test to be released. I got a positive result scare. I was so afraid that time since if I will receive a news of being COVID-19 positive, my parents and family members will get affected as well.

That moment when you're so bothered and you tend to overthink everything a lot. It's not easy to keep on embarking another day and still not able to know the result. I don't want to prolong the heaviness that I was feeling inside. With a lot of going on in my life, I then try to develop a negative mind. Like I kept on thinking of negativity while I was staying in the quarantine venue, not knowing the result yet. My mind that time was being surrounded with dark clouds that can't seem to get out from my mind.

Things never never went as what I wanted it to be. My days turned out to be as nervewracking and boring especially when the result was still out of reach.

"Good day! This is to inform you that you result from the swab test was negative."

After reading such message, I instantly jumped out of joy and cried so hard. I felt a big relief. I was so happy knowing that the cough and the colds that I've been feeling was indeed not because of COVID-19 but because I was just having my period. Never in my life have I thought that I will be on that kind of situation. I tried so hard not to fall on being quarantined and being swabbed because of COVID-19, but guess life is just too messed up sometimes and will offer us something we don't want.

After all the things that went through during my quarantine days, I'm still grateful for it. I'm grateful that I was tested negative to COVID-19. I'm grateful that I became a big part of history wherein I have a gem that I could share to the young ones when I get old. I have something to answer when people would ask what I did during the COVID-19 time, and with that, I think it's pretty astounding to have something to share. And from that experience I know that they can come up with a lesson as well.

Perhaps my positive result scare and negative minf became my biggest challenge during the quarantine days, but after all the prayers that I kept on doing at night, I was being guided to the path away from danger. Glory to God!

Happy Quarantineverssary!


How about you? Have you experienced being quarantined or get swabbed for COVID testing?


Disclaimer: The thoughts expressed are based from the author's personal experiences.

Leqd Image Source: Unsplash

Edited from Canva

20
$ 3.76
$ 3.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 12
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
1 year ago

Comments

When i got my swab test I was pregnant and so I only have my quarantine at home as the doctors prescribed for my baby's safety and me as well. However I know that I am also negative as the people around me already had their swab test and all of them are negative. But of course at some point I am still worried, luckily when my results came out I am also negative and so since I am only quarantined at home I don't feel much anything about it. Anyway I am glad that you also had a negative result. That was indeed a big relief. Keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think for everyone, this pandemic is the battle of the MIND 90% of the time. Thank God you are out of that battle. Stay healthy my friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't experience such like that especially spending time for quarantine. But I know how does it feel cause my father once there and I'm the one who give food and remedies for him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These all days were scary even for me. I was also suspected positive and more probably I lost my sense of taste. We should celebrate even our bad day to remind ourselves how protective we should be if these things happen again in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ohhh, I tried losing my sense of smell and taste as well. Iy happened last year around August I guess. But glad it was not covid huhu. Guess we have the same experience my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But I have bad and worst experience because my whole family faced quarantine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That situation when you mentioned they say "you will regret not being quarantine", sinabi nila if magpositive ka? Ang creepy huh. Pero good thing negative ka na. Sabi lang e hindi Spirit of Fear ang kay Christ. Your sound mind keeps you grounded in His love and protection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haven't tried doing the swab test sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Currently the world is healing from the aftermath of COVID 19, we faced different problems but still we are here. The most important things that we need to be proud of is that we surpassed all this challenges and we will all surpass those challenges along the way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, looking at the bright side despite all the struggles that we've been through is something that we must embrace. Thanks for this my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never been to that situation but I'm sure if I would have then I would feel sad and negative too. It's just that the environment for covid patients is made deadly and discriminated by the whole media and news which isn't true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's what often happens in life now, every disease that will be experienced is often associated with the symptoms of covid 19, maybe some people should review every opinion because it can make other people offended.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree, even just an ordinary cough or colds, people would jump directly to conclusions that you have covid already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel very grateful because I live in a small village, so I have never felt quarantined and I think here Covid is not spreading widely.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aweee, I'd love to live in that place my friend. I mean, I'm so tired of living in a place where covid is rampant, I mean, thankful now that it's not that much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tested positive in covid on September 2021. I was so afraid because you know I was the first one in my family. I had horrible experiences and I am self-quarantine in our house.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's that to hear my friend Denn. For sure you had a hard time adjusting especially that you're alone that time. Despite the painful experience, let's just be grateful that God never leave you behind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don’t want to remember those days again. But it taught us some lessons too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree my friend Luci. The lessons that we got from our unpleasant experiences would last until the end of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako kaya ako na tambay ng mataas na panahon dahil sa covid nayan kasi ayaw ko magpa swab kasi before need talaga magpaswab pag pumonta ka ng ibang lugar, kaya ayun di bali ng palamunan basta di ako magpapaswab takot ma positive ehh apektado pa buong pamilya hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ey this reminded me of my own personal quarantine experience too..i will celebrate that on July.

Mine was really positive though but I only had the running nose as a symptom. Still it was bad being talked about and people begin to run away from your presence even after the quarantine period and getting a negative result afterward

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's sad to hear my friend. You see, it's not the thought of being positive in COVID was sad, it's the people's judgement against you are. I mean, how could they be so insensitive with the feelings of those positive people in covid right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago