In the Eleventh Hour

7 36
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

When I was young, I always heard the phrase "eleventh hour" from my mother whenever she scolded me. I didn't understand it the first time I heard it. But as time went by, I was able to get the point even though no one explained it to me. Now, what does the phrase "eleventh hour" mean?

Photo by Monstera from Pexels

The "eleventh hour" simply means that we are doing our tasks nearly late or should I say we are doing the tasks at the last minute. This kind of habit is never healthy as our minds and bodies will get exhausted after our tasks will be done; there is cramming on finishing everything at the last minute. Doing the tasks in the eleventh hour will also enable mediocrity or just doing the tasks for compliance as what's inside our heads is just to comply and not to make our output as best as possible. We are also abusing our brains if we do things in the eleventh hour as we are forcing our minds to extract ideas as it's almost late to finish it.

Not to mention, doing things in the eleventh hour is the result of procrastination. Procrastination means that we are delaying the tasks that we are about to do. It's either we feel lazy about doing them, or we just want to do them later on as we are distracted from doing stuff. Procrastination is never good in our lives as it will make us unproductive throughout the day especially if we allow the habit to dominate our days. It will also dim the progress that we're supposed to have as we work on our tasks as we are caught up on delaying them.

Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty

Moreover, doing things in the eleventh hour and procrastinate are never good habits to start the year. But I can't deny the fact that I used to do them before or even when I was still a student. Doing things in the eleventh hour was normal to me. It already became a habit that's why I can't correct it in a snap. Even now, I could say that I still have this habit, but I'm gradually trying to fight on this mentality and do things as early as it seems to be more productive.

But don't you know that doing things in the eleventh hour gives a positive effect on me in doing my tasks. I'm not saying that you should follow me as it has yielded something positive to me. The eleventh-hour habit is never fine, but I just want to share the things that happen to me whenever I do things in the eleventh hour.

A Lot of Ideas

Surprisingly, I can think of a lot of ideas when I do things at the last minute. It seems like there's an overflowing or popping of ideas as the deadline is near compared to the time when the deadline was still out of reach. Needless to say, even though it's at the last minute, I could say that the ideas that I have are still in quality and not just mediocrity. I also love how to alert my mind during these times.

Motivation

I also get motivated to do things when it's nearly late. Maybe because I have no choice but to do my tasks as I need to finish them right away. Needless to say, the motivation that I have during my eleventh-hour moments is overflowing. That moment when the deadline is still far, I'm not motivated to do things, but the last-minute hits are different. Maybe because it's cramming time and I need to do them in an instant.

Photo by shutter_speed from Pexels

I may have mentioned two things that I find positive about doing things in the eleventh hour, but they're not an excuse for doing the said habit as it's still bad. Procrastinating will never give positive effects on our lives. It will ruin everything. It's a dream killer as well in a way that we are not doing things that we supposed could do now.

Not to mention, we can still do a lot of stuff if we would never allow procrastination to feed our minds. That's the first habit that we need to eliminate because if there's no procrastination, there's no doing of things in the eleventh hour as well.

Above all, I have a lot of regrets about delaying my tasks as I missed a lot of opportunities because of it. So day by day I'm trying to be as productive as possible. So let's tweak our bad habits to good ones little by little. We should do it gradually as it's never easy, but if we continue to work on correcting them, we will surely gain positive results. Let's do the things the we can do now instead of delaying them. We can do it!

"Time is precious, we should not waste it."

Lead Image Source: Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

8
$ 2.23
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 2
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Comments

it actually doesn't make sense we we rush things. Since we hadn't enough time to prepare,it might not go as planned.things should be done at their right time.. Nice meeting you dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Precious words from you. I was a lazy guy once who put almost everything for the eleventh hour.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We also tend to rush things and make mstakes when we do them at the later hours since we are already anxious and nit in the right frame of mind

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think every mother give some confusion to her kid's like us you are because my mother also give some word to solve puzzle but we are not with the passage of time we able to understand with the meaning of it , A lot of ideas in flowing in last minute we think and our mind works thousand time fast , you are also nice motivator and time is money don't waste that the word

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Procrastination it's good at all because it may hindered our task to do. We might sometimes done this before but with all due the respect we admit it ...this is how we can encounter a lot of situations that may have conflict. Laziness sometimes occur but not in everytime. Thanks to you my friend 😊 for this !

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed my friend, so we should not allow procrastination to lead our day as our day will never end up great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes..that's right my friend ...don't make other forces procrastinate our day or else thats will never end up great days as you said well

$ 0.00
2 years ago