A Research Journey

8 24
Avatar for Lawrence
3 years ago

I am a researcher from the Philippines. For the last three years, I have been working as a research teacher. Since English is not my native tongue, I found it challenging to facilitate research since the topics of my students were not only in English, but also varied. 

 

At first, I was hesitant to accept my school’s offer to teach research, but took it up nonetheless – I realized that I wouldn't know if I enjoyed it or not if I didn't try. Sleepless nights and really bad headaches became my life due to all the readings and revisions I had to do, but despite these, being a research teacher was one of the most fulfilling jobs of my life—I can attest to that. 

 

I felt that I am one with my students and felt their hardships and pain when they had to revise their papers or start things from scratch. But I was the happiest when they were learning and were able to defend their dissertations, or got to learn more about people and essential communication by conducting qualitative and quantitative research. I knew how they felt when they made an exciting discovery, developed a new perspective, or achieved something new through their researcH. I was such a proud, happy teacher! 

 

So much for my journey as a research teacher. Today, I am pursuing a master’s degree that involves research and I am enrolled at a state university in a town near my home. I am working on my thesis and it feels like the tables have turned. From identifying a problem to the gathering of data and from figuring out the statistics to the final defense and finishing touches, indeed, research is more than a challenging task—it’s a tough and uphill journey.

 

I am specializing in language teaching and my study focuses on challenges in research writing. 

 

With the busy schedule at work and home, I have been progressing at a slow pace. My writing keeps getting delayed. What's funny is that some of my students now coax and encourage me to finish my research. But in spite of the delays and challenges, I am happy that apart from my family and friends, the students whom I always guide and help are also the ones who guide and help me with my study. I thank God for the opportunity to be a researcher and a guide for researchers. I am grateful to be able to share a part of my research journey here.

NOTE: Posting this from my account in the a research website in the internet. Hope it can help people here.
You can Visit https://www.editage.com/insights/i-am-guided-on-my-research-journey-by-my-former-students

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Jim
Sponsors of Lawrence
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lawrence
3 years ago

Comments

Research is not an easy thing to teach students. I indeed appreciate your effort towards that area. I'm a final year chemical engineering student and i know what research does to us. It comes with a lot of critical thinking and sleepless night. Great Job!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! It really is a tedious process in which laziness and procrastination should not be in one's vocabulary. Good luck on your thesis!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much and goodluck to you. I hope to be a lecturer and as well a researcher. I have interest in environmental sustainability actions such as capturing of emissions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Research is a tedious process. It is a task that requires time and effort as you need to write, gather data, and talk to people.

I salute you for doing a great job. You are an inspiration to your students. And you are also an inspiration to teachers like me.

I wish you good luck in your own research writing journey. I am excited to hear from you soon that you have finished already your Masters. God bless and keep moving forward!

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Thank you! There's really no other way than forward. Glad that I have people to help me in this endeavor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Forward and onward. May your dreams come true and may you inspire more people to do their research.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

I think this post belongs to Introduce Yourself https://read.cash/c/introduce-yourself-c32c

You can submit it there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago