The Difference Between Blogging and Vlogging

22 75
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, Vlogging, Vlog, Writing, Learn, ...

The difference between blogging and vlogging is, that blogging is a text-based piece of information while vlogging is video-based content.

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

The world has been improving each day because of technology. The way how we live today is different from the past.

When I was a kid, our entertainment was playing outside the house with other kids. They were simple physical games.

Today, you will rarely see kids playing outside because they have new entertainment and it is related to technology.

You see, with the help of technology, people can do whatever they want, they can now share their life in different forms. It doesn’t matter if it is through text or videos — or what the so-called, blogging and vlogging.

At this time, there are still people who are confused between the two. Can we earn with blogging? Can we earn by vlogging? They sound the same, what is the difference?

What is Blogging?

According to TheBalances.mb, “it refers to writing, photography, and other media that’s self-published online. The hallmarks of blogging include frequent updates, informal language, and opportunities for readers to engage and start a conversation.”

It is an activity to share your ideas by writing, photography, etc. People who love these activities usually share and publish their thoughts on the internet with the help of social media such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Quora, Medium, etc.

Blogging is not always about professionalism, everyone can write and share what’s on their mind even if it is in a journal, diary, or informative article.

It is not always about the text, it could be your photos and serve as your photo journal. But to make it formal and more presentable, you can put a caption or description of the photo so it will be engaging to your audience.

What is Vlogging?

According to ContentCareer.comit is a video that documents a person’s life. It is a portmanteau of the word ‘video’ and ‘blog’. As the name suggests, a vlog is a video blog that records a person’s thoughts, opinions, and interests typically for publication on the internet.

It is the way how people share their life, information, and persuasion through videos. People use and do this so their audience can relate to their content because it has a video presentation and visualization.

The survey of statista in the fourth quarter of 2021 shows the global usage of sharing information as video content was almost 26%.

What is the difference between blogging and vlogging?

The difference between the two is easy to understand and remembered. Blogging means sharing your thoughts and ideas that are written and text-based. On the other hand, vlogging is sharing your content in a video-based format.

The easiest way to remember is that v-logging is logging your ideas through video.

What are their similarities?

They don’t have many similarities except the content is the same. In blogging and vlogging, you can share your life, story, thoughts, travel, information, reviews, etc.

And since it is published online, everyone can see it, and everyone can read it. This is the reason why companies and other businesses use blogging for the promotion of their products and services.

This is also how the bloggers and vloggers earn from their content. They can start monetizing their content with ads and affiliate marketing. There are times that companies are paying them for sponsored ads.

Which is better between the two?

In my opinion, it really depends on the person. If you love writing, then blogging is for you. Sharing your ideas through writing will improve your creativity and mind.

On the other hand, if you can face the camera and you have full confidence, then start vlogging. People now are so lazy to the point that they prefer watching videos rather than reading — but not everyone.

But the two have different consequences. In my opinion, it is more difficult to edit your videos to make them more creative and have an amazing transition, while writing needs to be more engaging so the readers will continue to read until the end.

Finally, the major difference between the two is their format. It can be shared on the internet to tell people about your story and for engagement.

You can be creative by doing both of them. Identify your passion then do what you want to do.


  1. If you want to support me as a writer, you can buy me a coffee at a Ko-fi shop

  2. If you like shopping online, consider liking and following this Facebook page: Cheap N Sale 🛒

  3. You can find me everywhere using Coin Tree 🌴

  4. Visit my website and learn more about me at marklaurence.net


Originally published on my website: © 2022, Laurence (The Difference Between Blogging and Vlogging)


Published: June 28, 2022

21
$ 6.19
$ 5.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 9
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, Vlogging, Vlog, Writing, Learn, ...

Comments

I tried vlogging before pero hindi siguro para sakin haha kaya I switch to blogging instead by using the read cash platform.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good move for you. Just try and try until you find what you love to do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really like blogging Kasi I can really express myself incognito. I like arts and photography, visuals. Sa vlogging naman feeling ko matrabaho hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! You can work anonymously on writing. However, if you want to pursue it, it will be better to reveal yourself to get clients.

Matrabaho nga vlogging especially in editing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blogging is an idea that is poured into writing that can be read by many people, while Vlogging is content that contains videos of our daily activities. from this article I now know the difference between the two. Laugh out loud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you learned something!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They have differences but one thing is for sure, I wanna try them both hahaha. Pero gusto ko laman ng vlogs ko ay places that I visit or adventures mwehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure! Pwede naman 'yon hahaha feel ko mas mabilis mag-grow sa vlogging.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to do blog, now I am into avenue towards articles. These are more professional ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's kinda hard to produce quality contents, I hope I am doing well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very helpful blig, i got some information and many of us will learn from reading this. Thanks a lot I now understand yhe difference between blog and vlog.
By the way I'm newbie here so I veeu found you article helpful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome to the community, keep writing and interacting with other users.

I am glad that you learned something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some things to learn in blog, I personally thanks to you for this article because the concept of difference between blog and vlog goes more clear in mind after reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Amjad! I hope this helped you to understand them more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love both but better is blogging instead of vlogging. Because by writing you can judge your English vocabulary and grammar mistakes and even you can make your writing skills better way. Vlogging needs extra confidence and is very careful about what we are giving to our audience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Vlogging spent much effort to make it more creative and presentable, salute to those people who are not camera shy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can consider me both 😂. Being MD graduate I interviewed to my channels and also made V-log video on YouTube and Facebook. Now I like to compile my ideas on this platform.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good move for you! You look so productive every day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I am not a fan of facing the camera. Therefore, I prefer to be a blogger , scratch that, I mean, wannabe blogger HAHHA.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same! I'm a wannabe blogger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since I cannot vlog, I do blog. Haha. I am so far from vlogging because I am just irritated watching myself on video. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too! I feel cringe lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago