Rants and Plans for This Coming Face-to-Face Classes

14 55
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
Topics: Filipino, Blogging, Decision, Write, Blog, ...

I rarely post my life on social media and on my blogs but this time, I would like to express my thoughts, worries, and plans for this coming face-to-face class. 

We have been in class virtually for years since the pandemic started but now, our campus announced that there will be face-to-face classes this coming Monday. They announced it last week so we only had less than 1 week to prepare. Fortunately, yesterday they announced that it will be adjusted to October 24, 2022.

Being an engineering student is kind of hard due to the difficult subjects. There are things that I need to do and it needs more time to finish. Hence, I always have a busy schedule to the point that I can’t write blogs anymore. Well, I know that it will be harder when face-to-face classes start.

The announcement last week shocked us because we are not ready financially for it. We are somehow fortunate that there were sudden changes yesterday about the schedule of face-to-face classes.

However, we will be having a problem financially as my parents have monthly expenses and they only earn just enough money for our family. It means we need to understand our financial situation and lessen the expenses, but there will be more expenses because of this setup…

In the coming face-to-face classes, we will rent a house for 1,300 pesos per head. I have a brother, so it will be 2,600 pesos per month. The owner of the house said that there will be 200 pesos additional per laptop. Since we have 1 laptop, and I am planning to have one in the next coming weeks (probably a month) it will be 1,500 per head which is 3,000 for the two of us.

Also, they said that there will have an extra payment if you will have additional appliances which are very expensive. I think the cost of living is expensive but it is hard to find a place to live so we have no choice I guess? Also, the owner of the house lives in our small community so it is like having connections.

I am not sure if the cost is justifiable since it will be my first time renting a house but I see it as expensive and not justified.  Here’s the thing…

The class will be a 2-day face-to-face class per week so we can live there for 8 days per month. If we will commute and did not rent a house, it will be 250 pesos for transportation, back and forth from our house to school, but the wasted time and exhaustion while commuting is stressful as well.

Imagine, my first class is 7:00 am so I have to wake up at 3:00 am to prepare because the boat will leave at 4:30 am. Not to mention that I also have to go to the other barangay which is far enough from our community. Then our last subject is until 4:00 pm.

The estimated transportation time is 2-3 hours so I will arrive at our house between 6:00-7:00 pm. And hey, rest is a must but I don’t have time for it because when I arrived, I have to do my responsibility in our house by doing the household chores. Then after that, I have to do my assignment and activities. The estimated time of doing it is from 11:00 to 12:00 pm if it is not that hard, then I will wake up at 3:00 am again and repeat the routine.

Therefore, we decided to reserve an expensive rental house for our class, I believe that the cost of that house is expensive for a bedspace. The only problem that we will have in the rental house is the food and money. But we compared having a rental house and commuting and the expenses between the two have only small differences where the former is quit e more expensive than the latter. But considering the hassle, we still jumped into it.

Since I know that it will be hard for my parents to provide financial needs, I want to help by spending my money instead of asking for money from them. So, I want to spend it wisely because I have risky plans for myself that I will need for school and blogging stuff.

Now, if you are the one in my position, what do you think is more economical between the two?


Hello, everyone! Thank you for reading my content. As a simple appreciation, you can get my 5 FREE Minimalist and Aesthetic Wallpapers

📖 Get my e-book: How to: Write and Earn on Hive (Beginner’s Guide)

☕ Become part of my goal by buying a coffee from my Ko-fi shop

🗒️Help me to reach 100 followers on my newsletter and receive a weekly email from me!

Expected email content(s): Weekly writing prompts + short blogs.


Published: October 15, 2022



11
$ 8.12
$ 7.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 4
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
Topics: Filipino, Blogging, Decision, Write, Blog, ...

Comments

Napakamahal nung rent. Hindi ko kaya yung ganyang cost. For me, doon ka na lang kaysa naman sa babiyahe ka ng napakatagal. Or if may time ka pa, try to find alternatives. Ako naman ngayon nag-a-aral sa private school, Php. 60 to Php. 80 pesos ang travel expenses ko since hinahatid sundo kami ng pinsan ko sa bayan for free tapos dalawang araw lang pasok namin. Malapit lang naman pero mga 1 hour mahigit ang biyahe kasi nagsstop pa sila sa tapat ng state u. Medyo expensive rin ang tuition per term (less than and higher than 5k), buti na lang tito ko nagbabayad haha. Akala ko talaga hindi na ako mag-a-aral eh. Sana makapasa ako sa UniFast scholarship, nag-apply ako roon para wala na akong babayaran na tuition at hindi mapilitang lumipat ng state u. Ayoko na lumipat roon, andaming insecurities ang pinaramdam nila sa akin lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

1st year college kaba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huh may additional pa for lappy pero 8 days lang ang sumatotal na andoon kayo. Baka pepede pa inego yun. Grabe naman sa mahal yan. Eh yung kuryente kada tao per month 200 pesos na yun. Maghapon at araw araw ka dapat andoon sa bahay para maconsume yon. Eh kung wala ka naman dun ang mahal naman ng babayadan.

Edit;

Ay magstay pala kayo ng matagal 😅

Kung ako, uuwe ako. 😅 I can endure the 8 days exhaustion per month dahil masarap ang lutong bahay. :) Pero its your choice naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal nung 200 ano? Ask ko nga kina mother kung pwede pa makipag negotiate grabe kasi haha. Dalawa pa kami ng kapatid ko bale 400 agad hahaha

Hindi kami totall magstay ng matagal baka umuwi din after ng 2-day f2f. Depende kung may urgent na gawain or wala. Pero ang ending pa din ay mahal talaga haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakaloka talaga mag-F2F in terms of financial aspect. Buti ako is keri lang na mag-uwian kasi nasa 50 pesos lang ang transport fare, back & forth. Talagang need lang sumama sa mga kaibigan na matipid para walang aaya sayo na gumastos ~ 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana all 50 lang. Akin 250 hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hassle nga, Lau. Hmm, for me baka rent na lang kasi nakakapagod talaga yung byahe plus pag uwi is may gagawin pa, then repeat the process. Mas makakapagfocus ka sa studies pag saglit lang yung byahe. Tiis muna hanggang full face to face na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At this point in time sana nga mag full f2f or full offline na lang muna. Dun tayo sa less gastos hahaha but we decided to rent a house na lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rental is better, me too when I was college I do travel 3AM just to be in the campus at 6:30 for 7:30 will be my class uwu, so rental boarding house saves me a lot of time, well just the Monday I choose to travel early as possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hassle 'no hahaha yep kaya mag-rent na kami ng bahay. Feel ko naman malapit na din mag full face-to-face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! we are the same! My school also announced only a week that we are now having face to face class and it will be started on October 24 also. I think, we are school mate?🤣 are you from Bulacan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha too far! Anong year kana?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

4th na po, graduating na hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are on the right track, friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago