I Bought a Domain and It Was Epic

13 65
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
2 years ago

It was unexpected that I can't even imagine that this will happen to me; I will be interested in writing. How many times have I mentioned before that writing is not my passion? It was even my hate activity in school. I hate writing because I am not confident with my grammar, my imagination is limited, and I cannot construct sentences easily. 

However, after more than a year of writing, I realized that writing isn't that boring, it offers a great opportunity in different aspects such as financial, mental, and logical thinking. It has a wide coverage that will benefit writers.

This image is made by the author using Canva

It caught my attention to the point that I decided to buy my domain name and host it so people can access it. At first, I did research to know the available domain registrars and hosting platforms until I found Namecheap. It offers cheap service to have a domain name but a secured and legit platform. It has been in the industry for many years and one of the good things about them is you can fund your account using cryptocurrency instead of a centralized platform like Paypal.

I put $10 on my account to buy a domain worth $9.16. Without analyzing, I confirmed the transaction and paid for my domain. I was happy because I now have my domain, but the problem is I don't know how to host it. I tried to host it on WordPress but they are asking for the hosting fee which is more or less than $100. I can't afford it, I was frustrated because I don't know what is next. 

Nonetheless, I explored Namecheap and found out that I can host it with EasyWP; to be honest, I don't fully understand this but there, I accessed the WordPress cPanel. In cPanel, you can do everything like publishing, designing, and putting plugins on your website. In short, this is the place where you can manage your website. 

I started designing my website by trying to post the logo that I want to use, trying some plugins, and publishing. But as time passes by, I am getting a lot of errors from my website. Until I lost my connection from the site including the cPanel. Hence, I can't do anything with it. It is useless. 

So, I decided to contact the support and they weren't that bad. They replied not for too long and got some response from them. Then they explained that my domain has no SSL certificate which gives no security to my website. Is my site useless? Yes, unless I bought an SSL certificate. But here's the thing, I look at the price and it is a pretty huge price. Honestly, I thought about giving up on it and moving on with my $10. 

Not until I looked for a solution on YouTube. Well, unfortunately, I didn't find any solution because the only solution is to buy the certificate. But I saw a video and one word caught my attention: “REFUND” and it was the Eureka moment for me. 

I decided to talk with the live support agent and they talked nicely to me. My only problem with them is I feel that they are not aware that much of their rules and policy because they usually ask for 5-8 minutes before answering. I think it is because they are searching manually on their policy with regards to my question. It was tough because it was midnight when I was talking to them and I was still awake until 3:00 am. 

Nevertheless, I still got the refund and gave up on my domain. But the problem is, my money will be in my account forever because it is not withdrawable if you use cryptocurrency as a way of depositing it to your account unless you use it to buy their products (domain and other services). Soon, I will buy a domain again when I have enough money to invest so I will gain something from the $10 on my account, I will just add more to get the complete package. 

For now, I am still saving for this and still thinking about it. But probably yes, I will buy one soon. The purpose is it will serve as my brand and place to compile my portfolio. It will be great if you will look for a freelancing job.

Published: April 12, 2022

12
$ 27.18
$ 26.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
+ 6
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
2 years ago

Comments

Sayang naman - ako nung start nung pandemic I bought a domain din + hosting pero di ko nagamit. Currently pinag-aaralan ko ang affiliate marketing and targeting ng audience outside the blockchain para naman wide na ang reach natin.

Will be buying domain siguro mga end of year to start the journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have the same idea. Plano ko din ang paggrow ng audience. I'm also looking a platform na nakabase sa reading views like Medium. Kaso Philippines isn't included on their Partnership Program kaya di makakaearn.

Ako kapag tumaas ang crypto baka bumili ako. Depende sa sitwasyon haha iisa-isahin ko muna ang mga side hustle ko hirap ng sabay-sabay 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Balak ko din Yan kaso diko alam kung pano magbayad .

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I can make a guide if you want😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aralin mo muna ng pag host tapos buy ka ulit. Maganda sana may sariling site ee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanna buy a domain but now I think it's not a perfect time because I also don't have enough money to get the certificate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Free is better just like food, food is more tasty when it's free however we cannot demand and it has limits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Free plans gives limited actions and you will have longer domain names by not paying it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto binabalak ko din. Seryoso, gusto ko magkaroon ng own kaso nag-aalanganin ako sa skills ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same same pero basa-basa lang and adapt ng techniques ng ibang successful writer para matuto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already have my blog site, from wordpress and it's only free account haha not much knowledgeable in domains.. no more time to dig and even open my blog site 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda din sa free plan ng wordpress kaso masiyadong limited ang galaw kapag free. Naexcite lang ako sa pagbili kaya natry ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago