Delegating Work to Someone and Why You Should Also Do It

19 53
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Lead image is from Unsplash

After watching several videos on YouTube about productivity and being successful, there is also one thing that I found similar to that successful people do; work delegation.

What is delegation?

According to Wikipedia, Delegation is the assignment of authority to another person (normally from a manager to a subordinate) to carry out specific activities.

This simply means passing the responsibility to another person and making them work for it.

I was always wondering, “why do you need to delegate work if you can actually do it?” It was my question before I found a video explaining the concept of work delegation and why it is important. Unfortunately, I forgot to save the video and I can’t find it now.

So why do you need to delegate work?

Some realizations came to my mind after watching the video and let me share them with you so it might also help you in the future.

You have a busy schedule

Having a heavy schedule is a pain for everyone and it is what businessmen always feel especially if you are running a startup business. You have to grind and twerk more than 10 hours a day if you are desperate and want to have a successful business.

Not only for businessmen, but it is also applicable for students like me who have several tasks on my plate. In my case, I have a busy schedule and a lot of school activities and homework that I need to prioritize.

In fact, if you will notice, I rarely publish blogs now. I am choosing to rest instead of writing because I always feel exhausted with our math subjects.

Hence, delegating some of my work (not school work) applies to me…actually I did it.

You have more time to grind

This is what opened my mind to work delegation. From that video that I watched, the businessmen said that work delegation is a must because you will have more time to grind with your business and generate more income.

Take a look at this situation; some people will find having a maid in their house is just a waste of money but actually, rich people see the opposite.

For example, if you are a businessman, it is ideal if you will get a maid because you will have more time to spend in your company than doing the household chores that won’t generate money for you.

Instead of cleaning the house, you can find another side hustle and it will generate money for you. Let your maid do the work and delegate it to them. In this case, you are earning money and getting a profit, you spend your time wisely.

I hope you get the idea.

However, you have to evaluate the situation before doing this because you might just have a loss if you are not using your time correctly.

The work is not in your expertise

You are not perfect, that’s the truth. It is why most of us have different expertise in work. You could be good at graphic design and I am not. You have good photography skills but your friend does not, you don’t know how to draw, but your friend  can draw better.

We have different stages of skills and you don’t know everything unless you are perfect. This is why it is important to delegate some of yours to the people who know better than you.

My experience in work delegation

I decided to delegate my work to my sister by creating graphic designs for my blog and pins on my Pinterest account. It is part of my content promotion and digital marketing because I am seeing the potential of gaining traffic to my blog with Pinterest.

On the list above of why you should delegate your work, I have it all. I have a busy schedule because I have a lot of stuff on my plate as a student. I will have more time to grind with my studies and understanding digital marketing and SEO, and creating graphic design is not my expertise.

Therefore, I delegate my work to my sister who somehow knows about creating these pins. I gave her the instructions on how to make pins and what designs I need. But of course, it is not free. You have to take responsibility for the payment because the delegatee made an effort for the work.

Although she is my sister, I am the one who offered the payment to her for her service. I won’t tell you how much it is but I think it is a reasonable price for the task. She also agreed to it.

Although I won’t earn money from it, I looked into its long-term perspective where I could gain traffic to my website that could be turned into sales and clients.

Conclusion

Delegation is not a waste of money if you will use your time productively. It can actually make you more money if you will look into a better perspective.

But you should always evaluate the situation before doing this. Also, don’t be harsh to the delegatee because your image as a client or delegator is what you put as a bet, not only your money. You should build a good relationship with them instead of giving burden.

Want to know how to create good graphic designs? Use Visme to produce outstanding graphics for your business

Click the image to create an account for FREE

Create FREE account here...this is the competitor of Canva.


Hello, everyone! Thank you for reading my content. As a simple appreciation, you can get my 5 FREE Minimalist and Aesthetic Wallpapers

📖 Get my e-book: How to: Write and Earn on Hive (Beginner’s Guide)

☕ Become part of my goal by buying a coffee from my Ko-fi shop

🗒️Help me to reach 100 followers on my newsletter and receive a weekly email from me!

Expected email content(s): Weekly writing prompts + short blogs.


Published: October 4, 2022

14
$ 6.60
$ 6.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Meyzee
+ 10
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

True, delegation will make you reach pa nga e haha kung di mo kaya, ipagawa mo sa iba charizzz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep hahaha kahawig ng motto ni Jack Ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some persons just do not know how to share duties with others. I used to be like that, but I've learnt that delegating somethings to others makes you even better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep as long as you are spending your time wisely after delegating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true...time should be maximized.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With my nature of work, a faculty and also leading a team, delegation is really a must. I really need to delegate work so that the tasks will be distributed to others and the tasks will be done. Sometimes, I have problems on a person I gave a task and would not do the job or very late in doing the job. So, it would be my call to do the job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh you should look for a person that suits the job description. What is that work?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so this is how delegation works, no doubt why rich people used to have maids in their houses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes haha. Instead of cleaning their house, they are grinding and working haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

brilliant

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Knowing that you have a business as a student is impressive. Delegation in team is a good cooperation practice where they work for you and you use your time wisely. They earn as you do so...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have a business but I'm trying to build a good authority on my website.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was good article to know about Delegation. I did many Delegations to my junior especially when I was busy in other assignments. Welcome back after many days, I hope your website is working good now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's working good but my last blog was 2 months ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Delegate your work because if you plan to do all the work, you will get burn out and exhausted. Delegation is a way of learning who are the effective members that will truly help you too. It really matters in productivity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Correct! It increases productivity not only you but also your team. It also builds relationship:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung pwd lang madelegate ko rin work ko sa iba haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha uwi na ng pinas!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natawa ako dito Jane 🤭. Transferable contract lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago